April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PaintIt

by gamesaucer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Download includes the source in the "src" folder.

GameMaker:Studio is needed to open the project file, and can be found at YoYogames.com.

I am using the free version of GM:S, so anyone willing to take a look at the source can download the free version and open my project.

Cheers,
-Gamesaucer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#759Theme3.33
#1274Overall2.27
#1864Coolness20%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Why doesn't the timer stop when I'm done? But nice idea.

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Doesn't the timer stop? That's pretty odd, I remember testing that. I'll look into it again. Thanks for commenting.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Paint but with a shaky screen for no reason

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

This is neat!
This is often more like weaving than painting and I really like that.
The rotating screen definitely feels gratuitous though.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

It's a little boring in my opinion, sorry. You should polish that mechanics to make it less repetitive and tedious. Maybe if you could rotate the frame and then painted whole rows instead of pixels...

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Again, thanks for all your replies. I'm a fan of constructive feedback so you can be sure I'll work this thing into something more fun outside of Ludum Dare.

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Shaky screen is VERY annoying. Also, it is not really fun. It's always the same

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

Could have made a nice speed-puzzler if choosing color hadn't been so tedious (cycle through color -button would have been nice), but dear god why does the screen have to wobble so?? I got nauseated and quit after 1 minute mark.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

I made this: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1930433/PaintIt.png

I expected something to happen when I finished it tho..
But it was kinda interesting to paint something with that restriction.

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:14am

Very cool idea! The shaking screen was a bit annoying. I think the timer deosn't serve any purpose... Maybe try providing 2 gamemodes: "Relaxing", with your nicely random generated paintings, but with no timer and "challenge" with prebuild paintings and a timer, so users can compare their times an a fair basis. All in all nice game :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:38pm

It was a bit repetitive to be honest, and the screen shaking makes me kind of dizzy :P. Not sure what you were trying to get with the shaking.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Wobble wobble

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Simple, but nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]