April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Steel Guy!

by lukedirago - Jam Entry

This is my very first game ever. Hope you like this :D
Making it on Construct 2, trying to keep it as simple (and minimal ;]) as possible. The basic idea is that you are running out of energy, and you need to get cores to stay alive. Get to the end of the level with the maximum energy possible to get Higher Score.

The character reminds me of someone who I can't figure out yet...


Thanks to Yann and Kyat for the C2 Classes. I basically built this game from scratch using what I learned from there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#275Fun(Jam)2.88
#302Graphics(Jam)3.06
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#394Innovation(Jam)2.56
#453Theme(Jam)2.69
#1864Coolness20%

Comments

lukedirago says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:03am

Well, I gave all the time that I could for today. Maybe tomorrow I'll have time to fix some things. If not, well, I'm quite happy for being my first project with C2 :) That's what the Jam is all about right?

Yann says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

Well done (:

dvdking says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

wow, very good result for the first game!

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Great work for your first entry ! Gratz !

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

Good work. As a construct2 user, i find it really well done :D

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Well done on your first game, this is really good.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

Nice challenging game.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26pm

nice one, maybe it could be adjusted in some aspects (graphics, smoothness, gameplay) but still a good entry for the compo

OrangeeZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:16pm

The game's somewhat reminiscent of SMB - nice, precise controls and need for accuracy and timing. I like that.

And there's really nice tribute to Black Sabbat :)

jijaweb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Cool game. I had trouble with the controls. A little bit too slippery.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:06am

Fun game. Great for you first! It was my first too! :)

Tater_hater says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Not bad at all for a first game! nice job. I really liked the level design, it was hard but balanced

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:06am

Gratz on completing your first game. Its entertaining and fun!

May 20, 2013 @ 8:24am

Jumping-physics are quite fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]