April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Too Much Loot!

by CheesyRamen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*UPDATE* Added web, Mac, and Linux builds! I compiled the Max & Linux builds from Windows, hence I haven't tested them. Let me know if they don't work!

This was my first Ludum Dare ever, and I got to say it was fun!

This game is my entry; a game called Too Much Loot!
When thinking of the minimalism theme, I looked into what it consisted of, and I was surprised
that there are many different interpretations of this theme that one can go about making a game on!

I ultimately based my game on the concept of a minimalist lifestyle, or simple living.
This is where one reduces one's possessions or self-sufficiency until they are left with
the things they need instead of the things they want. This can lead to lead to many
different types of benefits; it's really an interesting way to look at things in life!

Anyways, I got inspiration for this game based upon playing many dungeon-crawlers, where
I'd often end up hoarding all the items that ever fell on the ground, thinking that there'd =
be some benefit in doing so. More often than not, had I not hoarded all that loot, I may have
been able to reap other benefits that could have come along.

Too Much Loot sort of simulates that, along with the concept of minimalism. In order to advance
in this game, you'll need to rely on the items you find, but you'll also need to make decisions
about what you really need instead of what you want, and having to get rid of unnecessary items.

That's the spirit of the game at least; I didn't have as much time to game-balance this game as
I wanted, so keep that in mind when playing. Also, I wanted to learn about making randomly-generated
levels, which means that my implementation of it may lead to cases/levels that are just unbeatable.
Unfortunately in those cases, just press the 'R' key to restart. :/

Feel free to send me any comments/suggestions!

------------
HOW TO PLAY:
------------

WSAD or Arrow Keys
- Move

Q/E or </>
- Cycle through enemies to see their stats. Note that attacking an enemy will automatically see their stats.

Keyboard 0-9 keys
- Drops the item equipped in that slot. Essential for progressing in this game!

R: Restarts a new game
ESC: Exits the game.

----------
ATTACKING:
----------

Basically, it goes like this:

- Walk into a monster to attack them. They will attack you back afterwards.
- Every monster you encounter will take damage from one of five elements: (F)ire, (W)ater, (L)ightning, (N)ature, and (D)ark
- Every monster also absorbs damage (heals) from those same elements.

- Every item you pick up will add a certain number of points of those elements; the sum of points in one element is considered your attack strength for that element.

- The amount of damage you do is your attack strength of an element that a monster is vulnerable to minus your attack strength of an element that the monster can absorb.

- This means that you can deal negative damage, which means you can heal monsters!

- You can only advance to the next level once you've beaten all the monsters on the level.

----------
TIPS:
----------

- If your inventory is full, you cannot open new treasure chests, and hence walk past them.
- Is is important to drop unnecessary items in order to collect new items and fight certain monsters.
- Think about what items you'll be dropping! You may inadvertantly drop the item you need to fight later monsters!
- Picking up a treasure chest will heal the player.
- Due to the not-so-awesome procedural generation, if you find yourself unable to pass a level, you'll have to press the 'R' key
to start all over. Sorry! :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#327Humor2.61
#390Innovation3.34
#471Overall3.25
#478Fun3.07
#626Mood2.80
#748Audio2.38
#901Graphics2.60
#976Theme3.07

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I like how you only allow so much.. Very interesting idea..

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

The ultimate inventory management game for LD! Haha!

Nolojen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

wow, nice job. The fighting system is a little confusing at first. But this is well done and fun! Not sure if responses are possible here, but I would like to know if you used any kind of 2d tools for unity?

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

The GUI would be a lot better if the stats actually matched their element in color (like, items that are Fire are written in red color etc). That would help a lot.

Also, it'd be nice if you could see what a chest contains before picking it up, because you might end up dropping an item for a worse one just because you can't progress otherwise. Like, there are a lot of chests blocking your path, and you actually have to drop an item to be able to pass by opening them.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Pretty complex little puzzle mechanic creeping under the surface of this minimalist game :P Still fun, though. Great job!

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

i like the concept. fun to run chase loot. shoudlve had something like "select closest enemy", and maybe expanded the loot system with more adverse items, because looting is half the fun =)

CheesyRamen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

@Nolojen I used 2d toolkit. It's really good for making 2d games in Unity!

@Gama11 I agree with you there. I wanted to color-code the text, but I didn't get a chance to. The GUI was the last thing I worked on before submitting :/

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Neat concept, but I found it too hard, 4 tries and I couldn't get past the first level. It probably doesn't help that I'm somewhat colorblind, so some of the slimes looked too similar and I dropped the wrong items.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I think the learning curve is hard since I have a feeling it is up to trial and error to figure out what works and what not... But the idea is very interesting for a management game of how to progress through level, with the loot also becoming a block for advancement. :)

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Very nice entry. Great job keeping with the theme. You put in a lot of interesting choices.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Loved your interpretation of the theme and the way the player is forced to plan his moves :)

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Once I got a hang of the interface, I really started getting into it. I like the puzzle-focused use of elemental systems.

Couple of thoughts:
I feel that the color of the monsters should indicate both what it absorbs and what it can be damaged by. I get the sense that the color of the sprite currently communicates what it can be damaged by (when I was playing, for example, all red enemies were hurt by fire). Maybe a future iteration could color code the eyes to hint at what it absorbs?

I also wish I could use the mouse to preview the stats of an enemy. Using Q and E works okay, but sometimes it took longer to find the stats of a specific enemy quickly.

Aside from that, I liked it! Good job!

bushmango says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Great entry! I loved it!

Unfortunately it becomes a bit of "spreadsheet" management after a while. What if you started with only three elements for the first level, and added an element on level 2 and three... Also, if there was a way to graphically show the weaknesses/strengths of the monsters (a symbol for each color like Magic the Gathering and a number) that would speed up the game and remove a lot of tedium for me.

Aifryz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very nice concept!

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I really enjoyed this, kind of a hark back to old school dungeon crawlers. Limiting the loot was a nice mechanics, though I found it hard to work out which weapons were good against which monsters on first play through. not sure if the levels were randomly generated or just cycled through a set of premade levels, but either way the variance was very welcome. For your first ludum dare, this is a great entry. Good job.

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Very cool idea! Really liked it!

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Good job, nice game idea to find the balance between powerful items and inventory space

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:32am

I love the concept, and it fits the theme well. Nicely done!

Grouflon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:33am

Very complex game in a good sense but a bit too old-school type for me, especially in the aesthetic & the sound design. But I assume it's a personal taste & nostalgic gamers can truly love it!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:33am

Super fun game, all in all. The randomly generated levels give it replayability, and having to think about which item to drop was quite strategic.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:53am

Really neat idea, but, as others mentioned, the control scheme and low data/ink ratio ultimately made the gameplay tedious. Great job for a first entry!

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38am

so cute! good job!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43am

I like the minimalist inventory management system :) Hard at the begining with all that stats, but it reveals an interesting gameplay after a while. Good job :)

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:00pm

This game won't run for me. It tells me to install Unity Web Player, which I already have installed. When I try to install, it says I can't install because Chrome is using Unity Web Player. Other Unity games have worked for me so far.

CheesyRamen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:21pm

@captainkraft I've had similar issues with that before, where the web player thinks it hasn't been installed. Have you tried restarting chrome, then re-running the game?

I'll try to look more into it to see if it could be something else. Worst case, I've provided downloadable builds you can try playing on.

Alucard J says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:33am

A fun game that makes you think. Well Done =]

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]