April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by iossif - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enjoy the Expander!

Follow the never-ending stream of blocks and expaaaaand! The closer you get to the edge, the higher your multiplier gets!

Created by @iossif in 5 hours.

Watch me create this game in this 9 minute time lapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8rtVLG1HeA

after the gamejam i continued to work on the game. follow this thread to get updates: http://forums.toucharcade.com/showthread.php?t=187987 (the version on this page ofc is the gamejam version)

Downloads and Links




iossif says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:58am

i forgot to add the link to the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8Aaf6jn4bQ

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Original gameplay. Good work.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Pretty nicely done & fits theme well. Could get faster a bit faster (eh eh).

Split82 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm


thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

This music. Makes me want to bust phat poetry.

Fun, simple play! I cannot express how many A's I want to add to "expaaaaand!"

Awennor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

The music was great, the sounds a bit annoying but did their job, the mechanic was really good and felt unique, spot on! I think this could be quite a hit as a mobile game. Best Overall game so far!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Very interesting concept, simple, yet engaging. This was a lot of fun to play.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Great Fun! Would make an excellent iPad game with a little adjustment and polish!

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice execution, difficulty ramps comfortably. I wasn't sure how the concept of fitting to frame affected overall score. Overall fun. Thanks!

Avrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Quite liked it! Definitely nailed the minimalism feel; and the difficulty curve makes it very easy to get in to, yet very satisfying once you've lasted for a while.

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Nice realisation, I like the camera and the graphic design, it pushes me to play.
Then the gameplay is interesting and engaging.
Good work!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Great -- would like more ramping in difficulty or just quick/faster in general.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Simple, yet very effective. Good work.

yokcos700 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:46pm

While the music was repetitive, the unique and simple gameplay had me coming back for more several times. Good job!

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Pretty fun for such simple game play. Good work. :)

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I really liked the quirky 3d camera angle and music.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Really nice coherent game, good risk/reward for the multiplier

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I like the expand mechanics, good idea in this kind of game.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:28pm

really addictive and fun it was really enjoyable and had the nice contracting and expanding thing which really made it a whole lot more enjoyable because you were so busy with that and not dodging the thing ;). really nice game. Although i feel the jump could have been improved.

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:04am

You lucky gun got cached by Google.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Awesome entry! The expanding takes time to get used to... but is really fun. Love the music too.

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:08pm

It's funny and requires skills to go further, well done creating this game,...have you thought in expanding it adding some features like shape morphing, add short term goals with some kind of little puzzles and so on?

iossif says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:55am

i played with morphing in the last days but i ran into problems with the controls.
i also work on it at the moment since i want to ship it to mobile asap. on the toucharcade forums i started a thread to report about my progress.

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Rather unusual gameplay. If you can hold jump to stay in the air I would call the action "fly" it would make the action more unerstandable for the new player. Changing colors for up and down level is a good idea it really make the level more readable. For the expand and shrink part I was a bit confused at first but it's playble. At first I was thinking that I had to fly and expand max then I realise the multiplier was not incrementing.

rezzish says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

That was a really wonderful short little game

kazukishida says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Deceptively simple, yet lots of fun! I didn't expect the gameplay to be addicting. The color based on whether the block was up or down was a really nice touch as well. The expansion and contraction concept is good, but the incentive of a higher multiplier (from what I understood) for expanding isn't too visual -- perhaps change the way it works?

Nonetheless, this got me hooked! Add in some more catchy music, and possibly an online leaderboard, and you've got quite a game. :D

iossif says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:28pm

check this thread of toucharcade if you like it: http://forums.toucharcade.com/showthread.php?t=187987

i post my progress there. worked for 2 weeks on the game now and it soon will be ready for mobile and maybe more platforms later!

ataxkt says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Cool idea! Not seen this one before!

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]