April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GUtGD

by Crefossus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#816Theme3.27
#1227Fun2.07
#1231Mood1.83
#1248Innovation2.00
#1318Graphics1.69
#1332Overall1.93
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

Wish there was a reset button. At one point I managed to dodge a block after I'd died. When the camera began moving, it was very frustrating because everything was grey. I think some basic diffuse lighting and a bit of camera work could make it entertaining. Maybe some "whoosh" sound effects.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

agree with reset button. when view changes I can't see well where I am. but I enjoyed it!

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Seems that after I die twice, the game just freezes. I agree with lulzfish_4 about some diffuse lighting, or maybe an orthographic view. Hard to understand shape in perspective with no lighting.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

I didn't find how to reset the game after dying.
It's regrettable that there is no ending screen when we reach the end of the level. I think an infinite level with random patterns would have been better.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

About as minimalist as you can get, good job.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

Nice way of showing that there are collectibles. Too bad it doesn't show a score. An infinite level would also be better. On my second try when I died, I had to refresh the page to restart the game. Could be a nice game if worked more on though.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

Thanks for the feedback so far everyone. Unfortunately I didn't get to fix the respawn properly so refreshing the page will restart totally. You can checkout my timelapse here if you're interested: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3TUi_KQXIw

KoryWazHere says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14am

Occasionally seem to have barriers on both sides at the same time :P

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22am

can we have a light source please? ^^

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I'm not sure if I'm missing something. So, controls are up/down (took me a few deaths before I figured it out). I got all the speed-up objects, avoided all the triangles, but then, I just drift off into space? I go past a giant block, then I see ramps (that I can't get on), and then...nothing?

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

You're not, that's it. I had a lot of other plans but they didn't make it in. The ramps and giant block were both (different) plans to reverse you but thought up too late. In retrospect should have just said win/end/etc at the end there ... in any way possible.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

The mechanic was extremely simple, yet pretty fun. I do think it could have been a bit longer, though.

cwilloughby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25am

Cool start. Liked the speeder uppers. Would love more work on art or hints. Good start.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:03pm

It was tough to play due to the flat colours and the camera angles, pretty stylish though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]