April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Line Quest

by RandomSpark - Jam Entry

Short and very crazy hack&slash in one text field :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#8Theme(Jam)4.41
#25Innovation(Jam)3.97
#64Humor(Jam)3.24
#109Overall(Jam)3.59
#176Fun(Jam)3.14
#271Mood(Jam)2.95
#357Graphics(Jam)2.89

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Excellent. Took me a moment to notice what you were actually doing here, but this was a brilliant idea. Loved the little opening animation. I love roguelikes in general, but I did not expect anything like this in this jam. Great job.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Haha, took me a moment to figure out how to play, but this "1 dimension" roguelike is pretty neat. You kept the core mechanics and gameplay but simplified it, and that's quiet a good job you did ! Very minimalist, and yet fun, I'll give you a 5 star for the theme.
Cute story and dialogs at the beginning too :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

Wow. Great idea. I love the implementation of the theme.

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

Took a little bit of getting used to, but once i did it was fun!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

I actually really like this one. At first I had no clue what was going on, but after awhile, I started to understand everything pretty well. Excellent job on the theme. I'd love to see a much longer version of this game.

elektron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

This game is just awesome. My favorite so far.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I'm back here to say that, after playing a lot of other entries, yours is one of the smarter so far, I really love it. It kinda reminds me The Linear RPG by Sophie Houlden (http://www.sophiehoulden.com/games/thelinearrpg/) I don't know if you ever played it.

RandomSpark says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Thank you for understanding. Immediately I'm sorry for my English. In Linear RPG I've played for a long time, to me there was not enough inventory and store =) A fun game.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Great concept, well done! ;)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Heads up - if your link says web, I don't like having to download an SWF.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Hahaha, one line roguelike! Neat concept!

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

This is the more Minimalistic game I played so far this LD! Great job, and btw, I killed the dragon! yay! :)

Komradus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

This was a really interesting entry. I'd say it absolutely fits the theme, spot on! Took me a while to figure out what's what but after that it was quite an enjoyable ride.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Wow! Amazing use of theme! I love the Implementation. I hope you go far in the jam. Wish it had some bloopy music though :)

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

It took me a few tries to understand what was going on ^^
Very smart concept, I love it !

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

One of my favourites so far, has a bit of depth to it. Really enjoyed the opening and ending sequences. Well done.

RandomSpark says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:32am

I want to make a graphical version, only this time without competition.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:14pm

There cannot be enough roguelikes in the world. You managed to simplify them even further! nice.

RandomSpark says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03pm

=)

free_napalm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Great intro, decent gameplay. The only thing I missed were stronger weapons.

Diamonde says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Amazing. Loved every part of it. A bit tricky to get into the item/monster representations but it was overall super cool! :D

RandomSpark says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Thank you, it's very important to me. This is my first Ludum Dare =)

N427 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Loved it, perfect interpretation of the theme and VERY fun!

RandomSpark says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:21am

Thank =)

Tifu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:46am

Controls were a little confusing, but once I figured them out this was kind of fun. I really like the way you did the opening and ending cut scenes XP

RandomSpark says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:30pm

( ^_^)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:26am

great use of theme -- nice job

RandomSpark says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I tried :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]