April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MeenoMinal

by niun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WHOOP, My first LD submission.
This also marks my first solo game, first game in Unity and first time round with C#. Basically the first time I've done something more than paint pixels.

This is a very basic, up against the clock puzzler with hidden bits etc..

It's all about exploring and stuff! I think.

Very minimal look and feel. I'm afraid I only managed to crank out 4 levels, poor show but it's been one of those weekends. Guess this makes this a teaser!

Anyhoo, it's been a blast. Time for that shower!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#224Theme3.90
#494Innovation3.19
#555Mood2.88
#730Audio2.41
#872Graphics2.63
#948Overall2.80
#1015Fun2.45
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

The fact you can't see the ground at the beginning is kinda weird. But... when you get it, it's becoming really challenging to go through the end of levels.

The point that really annoys me, was those little blue platforms. They sometimes didn't show up, because I tried to jump BEFORE discovering them. I guess, that means they already were going up, so I couldn't run on them to make them appear :p (I was trying to jump, I like jumping).

You see what I mean ? You should not allowed the player to interact with the blue platform, till it get shows up. Otherwise, it's really hard to step on it to make it pop.

niun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51am

Hmmm.. Good pont. I was trying to get the blue platforms to become a puzzle element but it never came together and I got dragged into work.
Thanks for the input :)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54am

I like the the minimalism. Is it a bug that some things won't ever be visible? (Like teleporters and some walls). I experienced a bug on my first try in level 2 where the lift wouldn't appear.

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

I like the idea but the game mechanism are a little weird (or a little bugged, it's hard to tell). Anyway, congratulations for your first entry !

niun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

Heh, they could be buggered.
The lifts are tied to the UP and Down Arrows. So if you move them, you move the lift.
Unfortunately I wanted the lifts as more of a puzzle mechanic but never got the chance to put it in play. :(
What I should have done was suggested above. Not have those Lifts activate until the player has tripped them.
It's not a bug that Walls and teleporters are not visible. I wanted to add some sounds that build up in intensity when you get close to those elements but it was beyond me this time round.
Ahh well, next time.

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:02am

Nice concept. Mayby time shoud be a counter, not a coundown, to give the taste of discovering the level

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:28am

Very cool concept and slick controls.

niun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Thanks for all the feedback folks :)
@Tanius: TBH, I really didn't put a lot of thought into the countdown. It was thrown in as a last minute thing.
Counter makes sense though. I think the weekend rush to create a simple puzzle game is beginning to transform into something with a lot more depth.
Can't wait to start working on V2.

Khaldrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I like the look and feel of this one. The idea to explore the level is nice. The concet of the increasing sound seems interesting, looking forward to V2 :).

SmilingCat says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:35pm

It took me a moment to figure out that the lifts can be controlled even when not on them.

Overall, good job, and congrats on your first LD entry.

f7f5 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Very nice concept. The teleport(?) on level 3 was a bit strange.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]