April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Bird's Love

by omaromeir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is it, I have finished the game and now it's done. I only had a few hours to work these past couple of days. I hope you like it, it's all one simple mechanic and one short level :).

Click space to start the game. Click space to move, try to collect all the hearts ;).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#331Graphics3.37
#389Humor2.50
#531Mood2.91
#618Fun2.92
#690Overall3.05
#691Innovation2.96
#737Theme3.35
#806Audio2.26

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Nice, simple one button game. I like it!

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

Simple but in the theme !
cool graphics

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

I like the graphics too.
Good work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Fun, and touching story. Nice little birds.

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Interesting, well done!

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Great minimalistic control, quite challenging in the beginning. Really nice graphics!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

D'aww. Cute game. I really liked how the simple one button gameplay was done.

I think the bird could have had some kind of growing and shrinking animation to show he is flying closer to the screen, and the first hazards could be different color than the background and look hazardous too, because it wasn't very clear at first what killed me. They looked too much part of the background.

Great job though. I enjoyed it.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Simple game, but its not too intuitive what elements will kill you. That took a little time to figure out how to play the game. The graphics a really cool though.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

nice game. took a while until I understood that the bird's size is meant as a matter of perspective. 4/5 overall

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Great game. Like others I was a little confused about what did and didn't kill me, but it didn't take long to figure out.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice game, or it managed to keep me enough interested to get the good ending. Cute. The parts that kill you could have been a bit clearer but still a nice little game :)

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Trivia: my cat sat on "space" and beat the game

despite of that very cheerful entry :)

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Lol just a small note, you can beat the game by only holding space but you won't get the good ending. It's done on purpose to punish people who play it passively :).

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

hard to notice the "depth" effect at first, but it's a fun game and I love the graphics!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

Minimalist controls and the story is pretty cute. :3

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

Interesting, minimal to maximal :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Really like how you told a story in such a small space

Lythom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Hi, he's somme feedback.
What I loved :
- so cute !
- 2D art
- complete and pretty polished
what imo could be improved :
- the depth effect (I first thought the bird was just getting bigger)
- Could not find out what the green part of the level was representing
- no variation in gameplay, only visual changes in the level.
- (very subjective) the relation to the theme is not strong (I think some elements should accentuate more the link to the theme)

Overall neat and efficient, thanks for the game !

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Cute :)

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I like the idea. A game to achieve !

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56pm

One-button game, low res art. Very minimalist. I like it, and also the graphics were pretty great.

Sakuyan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:29am

Really cool concept! It was really fun!

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Cute game! So, I of course played by just holding down space(horrible me). But maybe instead of even allowing that, why not add barriers that you only hit when you're big? Then the player has to actually use the mechanics you implemented.

donp3yote says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:16am

Great game, I actually finished it! Like the sound and simple mechanics. only 72 hearts though! Congrats on finishing your game. Can't wait to see more!

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56am

Charming. Perhaps you could add some obstacles to the foreground as well, to make it a more challenging. I love the way it turns into night - great effect. For some reason the background color during nighttime is brighter if I'm in the foreground though... bug?

shard123 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really fun and cute, nice entry!

May 4, 2013 @ 5:30pm

like graphics and color effect on the bird

May 4, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice take on endless runners!

May 4, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I like it!

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Loved this game. Would be great a windows version to play offline. Awesome entry!

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:37am

I liked the simple concept behind the game. Also, very cute graphics and story. Had a lot of fun playing this game.

dector says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:39am

Very nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]