April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Equalizer

by whiteravens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(NOTE: Clay.io plug-in was used, but it's purely OPTIONAL. It's just a way to submit high scores and compete with other players.)

With the power of gravity and charges in your hands, equalize your way to the goal in this puzzle-platformer game. Enjoy 15 levels in the Ludum Dare Competition version, and watch out for new and more exciting levels coming in the future!

Controls:
WASD/Arrow Keys - Move
M - Toggle Sounds

Game is created on Construct 2 v1.19, and is made in HTML5. No additional plugins required!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#156Fun3.51
#171Overall3.63
#243Innovation3.53
#313Theme3.79
#743Mood2.70
#744Audio2.39
#758Graphics2.76
#852Humor1.85

Comments

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

stucked at lvl 2 :) but i really like graphics!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

That was really nice. Good learning curve and mechanics.

fizzics says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

Great puzzler

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40am

quite complex mechanics but i liked it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31am

The game's simple with the graphics, and the gameplay mechanics is somewhat unique :D

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

gravity reversed, aaaah :D that came unexpected! great fun!

gameXcore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Solid platforming, that's one nice, satisfying jump you have there!

ocmu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Clever concept and very well executed.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Interesting, fun and beautiful, good job! You could just smooth a bit the player movement and the gameplay would be perfect

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Nice one! I really like the concept. Hope you'll continue work on it.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Liked the style- and the difficulty curve. You can kinda cheat on level nine jumping over the first black block, unless that's what you're supposed to do. :D

Yann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Nice idea (:
Few little things could be improved to help the player understand what is going on, thus making the game more fun:
- put an indication (arrow) when picking a box will change gravity, and in which direction
- indicate deadly pit with maybe spikes or circular saw.. something deadly. because sometimes, because of scolling you don't know it's a deadly pit.
- being able to zoom out so you can plan your action ahead to solve the puzzle
- when you are in reversed gravity, maybe jumping with down arrow instead of up

Cool puzzler overall (:

whiteravens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Thank you for playing and for your comments/suggestions :). Looking forward to further improving it in the future!

I'm still open to your comments and suggestions, so don't hesitate to post here ^^

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06am

Really unique mechanics, and the platforming felt great. Good job!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Platforming stripped to the basics, and some nice mechanics implemented.

Great job! :)

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Very clever level design. It took me a little while to really understand the mechanics, but that didn't stop me from enjoying the game. Overall, great job!

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I love the slippery game feel.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:50am

Really nice game, very minimalist! :D

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

Very minimalist, very well coded, very complimentary adjective. Good work!

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Very very good. Only gripe is the sound(s) but I feel foolish even mentioning it. Great work!

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Cool idea. The platforming mechanics need a bit of tightening up, but other than that it's solid. Well done!

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice concept, fun to play :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]