April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Milo's Bridge

by Adjotur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

2D Platform Defender made from scratch in java.

Game will run on any platform running Java.

Unfortunaly, there is no sound, because I'm fairly new to programming, and I have not learned how to make sounds yet / implement them into a game. Maybe if I end up finishing this on my own time, I will add some music. Anyways, enjoy.




--------
P - Pause
B - Shop

(Sorry for these not being included, ran out of time)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#768Humor1.95
#1238Mood1.79
#1259Graphics2.00
#1292Fun1.83
#1298Theme2.40
#1307Innovation1.80
#1329Overall1.97

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

The game seemed to run slowly on my computer, maybe because I had a lower framerate. All in all it was pretty good for an early game made in 48 hours. I think the combat would have been more interesting with some flying or jumping enemies (if there were any, I didn't manage to get to them), since it would give jumping more of a purpose besides getting across the bridge.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Ran fine on my computer, but I couldn't really seem to damage the second enemy type... Bridge got owned :(

Adjotur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

I realized that I had one value off, quickly changed that and now the game should work much better.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Getting an error that there's no main class? I think I have some problems with Java anyway...

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

Pretty cool idea.
The jumping animation could use some improvement... (using acceleration instead of just velocity)
The bridge health never lowered even though bad guys got to it.

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

Cool idea - although it seemed like my bridge was invincible for some reason.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

Either it's slow (mac, shows FPS 30) our your controls are slow, neither is fun. New wave won't appear until I killed the last? That's almost boring ;)

Adjotur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Ugh. Sorry about the invincable bridge. Small error on values :(

mikebolt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

Those dang fire ghosts hurt my bridge! The rest of the enemies are pretty weak though. Good fun.

Adjotur says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

Thanks mike :) Also, yeah, the fireballs are pretty nasty.

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

I had a problem with no main class when I tried to run the jar.

Milo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I unfortunately didn't make it to the final wave (I made it to wave 15, then lost). I was excited for each new wave though, because I wanted to see if new things would arise. It did, by the time I lost, start to feel repetitive, since the game had a slow pace (I didn't have to dodge much of anything or move quickly) and mostly had me hitting enemies with my dagger from behind.

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:41am

The frame rate was really high but it was really hard to see that I was attacking. I wish I had a bigger sword. :) My bridge though was certainly dying, but the "game over" was a little bit abrupt. A "retry" option would be good. I don't think I was taking any damage even though I had a life bar?

Keep it up. BTW I really liked the color scheme for the blocks on the ground.

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:08am

Fun. Definitely look into how to add sound as it'll help keep players engaged.

Adjotur says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:10am

Thanks tankete. On a side note, in the past week since the compo I have done a bit more work on the game. Patched some mechanics and actually learned how to add sound :D. Game plays so much better, and I wish I could share it!

hnjslater says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Good first try!

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Was pretty cool, the attack was a bit slow so I couldn't really kill any enemies in time to save my bridge. Good job anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]