April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PaperFlick!

by DdlyHeadshot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created in Microsoft QuickBASIC. Not as efficient as I'd like but I didn't have time to streamline the code and it's a bit complicated to do a game like this entirely in assembly.

Please note that this is a DOS game. As such, it should play fine in 16 and 32 bit versions of Windows, however for best results on modern platforms (and for 64 bit users) I recommend running it through DosBox.

Taken directly from the README:
With the release of Paper Toss 2 being publicised all over the Android world, I felt it befitting to commemorate this event with a take of my own on the game's concept. Therefore, I present PaperFlick - A version of the Paper Toss concept created in the style of a text adventure! Given the scope of the game, I feel it fits fully within the minimalism theme - what could be more minimal than a text-adventure without an adventure that takes place in one room without you moving and has only one puzzle! :P . So please, enjoy PaperFlick and perhaps check out some of my other work at http://www.warpath.741.com/creations.htm assuming it's not gone down for the nth time this week - I should probably move it to another webhost), or follow me on Twitter @DHeadshot. -- Deadly Headshot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#155Humor3.08
#559Theme3.53
#691Innovation2.96
#743Mood2.70
#1015Fun2.45
#1037Overall2.69

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Oh, neat, text. Adding this to my "must mentally play" later list...

vgcharlienash says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Thanks for the comment :) Yours is cool too :)

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I like this game. I'm so happy it works on my OS. Most of the games don't. :-(

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

I know what you mean, Branch, I've hit the same problem with a lot of the games. Go check out PurpleMoustache's entry "Solitary" - I know that works and it's fantastic!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

waited for some text based games, well done!

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

What format is your source code in? I can't read it. This game is so hard I can't even cheat :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Very clever.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

What is the puzzle? I'm not sure what to do. I flicked some paper balls into the basket.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

I didn't quite understand what I was supposed to do so I just flicked around :)

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Dietrich Epp, Morgawr: The "Puzzle" is literally just flicking balls of paper into the bin and trying to build up combos.

tompudding: The source code is in QuickBASIC/QBasic format. You can load it up in either (and QBasic is free so you don't even need to find a pirate copy of QuickBASIC :P ). If you have a full copy of MS-DOS 5, 6.0,6.1,6.2,6.21 or 6.22, you should have QBasic already installed. If not, just Google it...

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

YES! I (the coder) wanted to make a text based games but we are a team of two participating in the jam and I was outvoted. I am glad you fulfilled my dream.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16pm

not compatible with my Win 7

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Tainted_Code: As stated in the description, users of 64 bit versions of Windows will have to run it using DosBox. Most 32 bit Windows 7 users should be fine but some have problems; those people should use DosBox.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10am

Hehe, nice to see a QBASIC game! That was the very first programming language I learned. :D Took some time to figure out what commands I'm supposed to issue. :)

Adipson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Wow
good
it reminds me the era games on Commodore 64 in 80's and Amiga 500 in 90'... good text and great adventures in minimalism theme about this fact ...

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:39pm

You certainly nailed minimalism!

bentog says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Hooray, I hit the bin! :) So, what rating should this get on graphics?

Misael.K says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:40am

Haha, great idea! It's very strange to find a text adventure without any exploration, yet here is one! I don't think this was particularly fun, but I kept playing (and losing) for a while. Good job.

dick_claus says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:02am

My high score is 2. If I work at such office I will quit after 2 point. But the game has so much fun. And I love that it is written for DOS. Remember old good times.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:02am

I looked at the source and was like "huh?" Then I remembered QuickBasic, which is the predecessor of Visual Basic, didn't use line numbers :)

This totally brought me back to the mid-80's, playing those text adventures from Infocom. Very nice! A+

May 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I really liked this game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]