April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Dominoes

by Pinkerator - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixel Dominoes is minimalistic dominoes game for one player.

Game developed in 3 hours on Visual Basic .NET (Visual Studio 2012 Express).
ZIP file with that game is less than 64Kb

Downloads and Links




errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I had to play two games to understand how the domino you have to match is determined. At first I thought it was random. I'd suggest you add a label somewhere explaining how that works, otherwise a perfectly good and playable game.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

Easy game, minimal graphics, will keep it around to play if i ever get bored, good job!

attagcatc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

I quite like this. Nice and simple.

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

Same as errorage, After I worked out how it's matched it was pretty fun, I'd recommend putting some instructables in your submission description if you cant get it in your game.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

Hey, I had 2 0 at the ends, and I used a 2-0 domino thinking I'll get 0 0, but I got 2 2.

scheurneus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Couldn't play it. I have Win XP (32 bit) and it says
"Pixel Dominoes.exe is not a valid Win32 program"

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

scheurneus - that's very strange! Maybe it's important to install latest .NET framework to make it working? :)

Van Merwan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice !
This clearly shows that the basis of a good game is a good gameplay.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Was too large for my screen, so I couldn't see TAKE button and sometimes some of the dominoes.
Otherwise nice small game!

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

That was way more decent than I would have expected from a dominoes game!

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Could have used a few simple instructions. Simple and straightforward game in the end.

Snail_Man says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

It's a fun playable game. It kept me entertained for a while.

I too had a bit of trouble figuring out what determined the next domino, but I figured it out fairly quickly.

Overall, good job. My best score was 13

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

I like this. Played through it lots of times. Could use some sort of score counter, although not sure what it would count.

Everything fits the theme very well.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Nice and very minimal game, great job ;)

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:59am

Great little puzzle game!

Kom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Although not entirely related to the game itself, I feel it's worth mentioning that if you're going to color the background of buttons, it may be worth setting the font color as well, because my default font color of white made it impossible to read what was on the buttons.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:43am

Nice and simple - good job!

Proch says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:48am

was surprised that a so simple game could be so fun

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nise simple concept. At first I hated a bit, because i thought it was complete luck to get the right domino to match my dominoes, until I notoced, that the top dominoe represented the endings of the (invisible) chain. It would be nice, if you could decide to which side to attach when there are multiple ways (When the domino at the top is the same, as the one, you want to place).

EggDestroyer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very simple game, elegant. Not bad :)

PixelIndigo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:37am

It fits theme very well.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:12pm

netmute By the way, this game was made on Mac with Windows in WMWare :)

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Woo, didn't play domino since quite some decades :D Nice AND worked well via wine on linux!

Spelchan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Once I figured out what I was suppose to do and how to win the game was simple and fun. Should have spent a few more hours creating an instruction screen or tutorial.

m64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:42pm

A short info about the rules would be nice, but I managed to figure it out easily enough. Overall a well done entry.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:03pm

5 for theme, but nothing much else, except it was interesting to read the Dev Diary. While source code itself isn't exactly a good example of how to code, it's completely easy to understand.

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice and simple :)

mikeware says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I guess the double-dominoes you just get to remove for free? That part confused me a bit, it was a little weird to be just thrown in and have to figure things out, but then that is more minimalist. It's nice to something so simple and compact though. Great entry!

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]