April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dragenvoy

by Nolojen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

physics based snake type game, go for a high score

press space to start

winmac build located in the github repo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#281Fun3.30
#515Humor2.27
#565Audio2.69
#619Overall3.11
#758Mood2.68
#775Graphics2.74
#824Innovation2.78
#1231Theme2.63
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice game, My high score was 19. Loved the music, really fit well with the game :)

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

For once a snake game where it is fun to just move around. Interesting take on the classic genre.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49am

Really nice! The chinese dragon is amazing! Eh, eh!

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Great!

theomnis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

Movement is really smooth in this, I like it!

basspenguin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

PANIC!!! lol Cool twist on snake. :)

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

Proving once again that there are endless ways to recreate Snake!
Highscore: 19

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:33am

Cool variation on snakes. My high was 21.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48am

Neat concept. It seemed to take a while before the tail got long enough to get in my way and then all of a sudden it swings around in my face! haha

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39am

I really liked the sneak physics. It was hard but I kept playing for while.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

That was a great experience. Good use of theme. The music and art were awesome!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:05am

Haha the physics snake combination is great! My highscore was 19. Also enjoyed your snacking sound effects. :)

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:16am

At first I was going to call foul that this wasn't a "proper" snake game, since the tail didn't precisely follow your movement...and then I saw the brilliance of this. I honestly don't think I've ever played a snake game with physics before: your tail whips around, sending food flying and ricocheting off walls (making it all the more satisfying when I caught it on the rebound). You've made an old idea new again.

TheFudster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:24am

Nice, I got to 20.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:46am

29, haha, awesome.

Nolojen says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Thanks everyone for the comments! I am considering expanding this idea thanks to your encouragement :)

current highest score I have seen is 52!

omaha says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:11am

Excellent work. I was down in RVA that weekend and saw you working on this. I never realized what exactly what going on until just now. Very cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]