April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism in art and music as a game

by MikeyPB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Before you play:
This game has audio that cannot be turned off. You should listen to it though - it's minimalist!
There is a puzzle element to this game that you will need to master in order to get a high score, but it can be completed just by clicking quickly. It's a bit of an 'art game', whatever that is.

Now:
This is my first time taking part in Ludum Dare. I'm new to making games and have recently been using Stencyl to test some gameplay ideas. I thought it would be good to take part in LD26 and have used Stencyl to do this.

With the theme being minimalism I took inspiration from minimalist art and minimalist music. I love the cyclic, hypnotic effect of minimalist music and decided to use this as a core part of my game. The art and audio are both cyclic, starting at one point and eventually returning to that point.

The blocks change colour as you click the mouse, they go in the order ROYGBP. The white balls rotating through the blocks trigger musical notes as they change direction. The note triggered depends on the colour of the block it is entering.

Since the balls are travelling at the same speed, but over different distances, the rhythm of the notes being triggered goes out of sync. The rhythm will, inevitably, eventually, repeat. Since you are changing the colours and notes by playing, the whole game is in effect an aleatoric musical composition.

The Rules:
The aim is to mix up the colours by clicking the mouse and then return the colours to their starting positions (by clicking the mouse some more).

On the first click, the vertical lines will change. On the next click, the horizontal lines will change. This alternates between clicks.

The colours will not change if:
1) A white ball is inside the colour.
2) The thin edge of a line matches the colour of the thin edge of an adjacent line AND that colour is the same as it's starting colour. These are then said to be 'locked'.
Pieces can only be locked in pairs, three lines cannot be locked together!

3) The colour changed on the previous click of the mouse (remember that they alternate).

I hope you enjoy! It's minimalism in game form!

Find me on twitter @Mikey_PB if you want to chat. Please be nice though, this is the first time I've made a game and shared it with people.

The game can sometimes be a tad premature about showing your final score. Sorry about that. I'll see if I can fix it up if I have a free evening this week.

EDITED Entry: Moved the score from the top left hand corner to the centre of the screen, because that's clearly where it's supposed to be.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#374Audio3.00
#684Mood2.75
#691Innovation2.96
#901Theme3.17
#1209Overall2.43
#1238Fun2.00
#1259Graphics2.00
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Fun idea and nice music :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

It stuck to the theme but appealed to me as more of a toy than a game.

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Thanks guys! Yeah, I added the "do in as few click as possible" to try to make it more game-like. It's a toy/widget/art/game :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

I liked the originality of this and the attempt to do some generative music :) I can see elements of this being turned in to a more fully-developed music game.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Music games are always fun to play. I like the concept very much, but it's really hard to get into the game. Maybe start slowly with less blocks and increase them with subsequent levels.

Hegemege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:36am

Step 267: The potato monster is still strong. I wonder if this will be my end. I made some potato soup today. It was delicious.

Hegemege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:38am

Woops, wrong comment on wrong game :D

Hegemege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:48am

Here's the real comment though :P

I had hard time understanding how the game works, the visual cue of what happens for each click could've been better. I managed to win the game just by random clicking the first time, and tried to get a better score the second time by following the rules. Fun idea nonetheless, music games are close to my heart. :) (Sorry about the hassle in the two previous comments, I had multiple tabs open and forgot to check which one I was rating after playing the game)

DaveDobson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Really interesting, but the rules were too complicated for me to grasp easily (too many variables at once), and it was more fun just to click and listen. I think if you wanted it to be a successful game, there would have to be more direct control, and fewer rules, if that makes any sense. But it's really cool as is.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Enjoyed watching the colours and tried to predict both sounds and how to get patterns I wanted, unfortunately didn't succeed at that. Fun toy to play with though.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice sound design.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]