April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MUBIC

by Hadyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MUBIC is a minimalist musical experience with a cube. Turn up the volume and enjoy =]

The game was made in Unity 4 Pro and features a cube, ~350 lines of code, and a bunch of FM8 synths. I worked on it for a total of about 14 hours.

The game is played entirely with a mouse, using only the primary button (left click by default). You can click or you can drag - that's it. There are no other instructions*; figuring out how to play it is part of the fun (hopefully).

It's an infinite game, though I doubt many will make it up to the tenth round - certainly not much further than that. I'd love to see screenshots if anyone can prove me wrong! [my own record is ten - try and beat me!]

Have fun =]

*UPDATE:

I'm adding instructions for those who just want to get into the gameplay without the puzzle-like experience of figuring it out first. If you enjoy figuring things out for yourself, stop reading now. What follows is the closest thing to a spoiler my game might have!

<I'll even add SPOILER tags> Instructions:
The game has two basic states - the computer's turn and the player's turn. When it's the computer's turn, the cube goes a purple-ish colour and a number of sides will automatically "activate" depending on what level you're up to. When the cube returns to normal colour, it's your turn! Rotate the cube by click-dragging, then single-click the same sides that lit up during the computer's turn, in the order they lit up. Do this successfully and you'll level up - failing will reset you to zero. Each side has a unique tone that plays when it activates. You won't be able to see all 6 sides at once when it's the computer's turn, so you'll have to try to memorise where tones are in relation to each other. See how far you can get! </SPOILER>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#7Audio4.20
#101Theme4.10
#136Mood3.53
#201Overall3.57
#238Graphics3.58
#451Innovation3.25
#538Fun3.00
#714Humor2.00

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Awesome! I really enjoyed that!

Hadyn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Thanks man =]

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37am

No idea what was going on for a good five minutes. Beautiful visuals and sounds. Perfectly on theme :D.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

It fits the theme for sure ! Nice visuals and great sound work. The gameplay itself is fine but the game is really hard (after the 4th note you basically have to rotate the cube like crazy and the game lose its fun). A different color code on each face would help I think.

Anyway, nice work !

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Thanks man =]

Yeah, maybe got a bit carried away with the difficulty level! I wasn't going to do the jam at first, but after hearing the theme I got this idea for a super-challenging memory game and decided to give it a shot. Originally there weren't even going to be patterns to show you which side was activated - you had to do it all by ear. I made it a bit easier than that, but maybe it's still a little too tricky!

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

It's a really interesting concept, but in practice, it's terribly hard. I think making the cube semi-transparent would help a lot.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I find it hard and frustrating to find the sides (couldn't figure it out without the hints). But, good mood, audio and hits the theme as well!

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Great work, a nice reinvention of the Simon electronic game. I like the graphics and the mood.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

It take a moment to understand but it's perfect ! Minimalist, clean, good job !

Kitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

very nice take on it. nailed the theme. this would be great on a mobile.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53am

Interesting Simon cube, but if I didn't see a side flash, there's no way I could figure out what side to click on. Color may have made it easier to navigate.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

@CageRat - there are audio clues as well as the flashing. At first you have to experiment to figure out which side makes which sound, but once you get the hang of it you can rely more on that than the flash. It's a game which admittedly asks players to be a little patient at first, and then to focus really, really hard - but in theory it's a better memory workout for it.

My real aim was to make a memory game which tests the player in more ways than usual. Rather than simply memorising a pattern (which is kind of old hat), you have to learn which sounds correspond to which sides so you know which sides to hit even when you can't see them. I made it even harder by choosing relatively similar sounds for each face... Actually, it's probably a little bit easier for those with a musical background, who may have better pitch and are more used to identifying melodies.

Beyond that, you also have to be constantly mindful of which direction you've spun the cube in - constructing a mental map to visualise where you are in relation to each face of the cube. Colour coding would make the game easier, but at the cost of its ability to -really- test your working memory ;)

In short, it's hardcore, but it's intentional. I'm testing both auditory and visuo spatial memory at the same time, and in multiple ways. I've seen a few people make it quite far (level 6-8), but it requires a bit of time and focus, and I understand that a lot of people won't be so willing to dedicate that time in the midst of all these ratings! =]

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10am

By the way - thanks everyone for the feedback so far - it's great =]

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

A very innovative implementation of Simon! I reached level 8 after a couple of tries. Lovely design and sound experience. And minimalistic indeed! One of my favorite ld games so far.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very good game !

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Awesome. Hard to start without hint

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice and simple, great job!

doobdargent says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Bit difficult, but thanks to the spoiler I managed to go up to 3.

Logun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice realisation ! Sound + visual work very greta together.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I really enjoyed playing this. The audio is fortunately good and it is good interpretation of a theme. I particulary liked that I didn't know what to do in the beginning, and had to figure out. Great.

Mousseto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I really loves it, it reminds me of my old simons. Unfortunatly I am not to good to recognise sound. Graphics and audio serve well your purpose. Good job!

Misfit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Cool gfx and music. Good job.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Really cool, and really difficult, but I see where you're coming from. You have to remember the different tones. I just end up confusing myself with spinning the cube. Yeah, it would be easier with different colors, but it would be a different game. Pretty sweet. Love the sounds.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:51pm

A bit hard to play well this game, but nice interpretation of the theme!

Norgg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:34am

I don't find this kind of game very enjoyable in general, but this version if it is really nicely done. The mixing of audio and visual cues with spacial responses is awesome.

Axelhein says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:42am

Very nice! The game was as minimalistic as a game can get. Super fun to discover the mechanic.

Packbat says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I'm going to not quite agree with a lot of the other commenters and say that I <em>didn't</em> really enjoy trying to figure out the mechanic, but the music was good enough that I kept trying long enough that I got it. I think that was the key to this game being awesome, and I think that's what made the whole discovery mechanic work (because yeah, that moment when I finally figured it out was totally boss).

Now to see if I can beat my high score of 6! :D

May 16, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I try it again today: 7 (it's still very pleasant to play! ^^)

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:24am

it would be nice to know which side sounds what before it starts, so that it's easier to play by ear rather than having to look for each face.

The cube color and sounds work really well. And that beat...so satisfying!

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:10am

A really good mood cube :).

Spiridios says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Very nice simon-like game. Since the cube has no visual indicators, even if you know sound X is on face Y, finding face Y is a problem. If you accidentally spin the cube, then finding face Y is impossible. Put some kind of minimal graphic that is always visible, and that lights up when the sound is played (similar to how you show something now). That way a player can associate a sound with an image. An alternative, if you want to preserve the "don't associate sound with an image" aspect, one face needs to be marked with an orientation image, so a player at least has a hope of finding face Y. I liked the basic mechanic though, and you generally pulled it off well.

Xanjos says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Pretty interesting 3D take on Simon and the graphics and audio suit the theme very well although the game itself is quite difficult unless you train yourself to memorise the where the sounds come from.

wine says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Now I know from my own how it feels to not fully understand what to do * it's the most common claim to my game ) But I really enjoyed that! Great work

davidpeter says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:23am

It was super hard to figure out which side of the cube was being selected. I'm deaf so I can't actually hear the audio differences =P Maybe a ripple effect in the future -- just a 3D two-sided plane from that one face. It'd be easier with that, but not much.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]