April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Deja Vu

by Celticraft49 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#604Audio2.63
#611Theme3.48
#627Humor2.13
#984Mood2.43
#1040Graphics2.38
#1068Innovation2.34
#1069Overall2.66
#1130Fun2.28
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

This is a simple but enjoyable game.
I have two remarks:
- Sometimes, I had to solve the same level multiple times.
- When you go down or right, you don't see where you are going. I couldn't solve one of the level for that reason.

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

The solving the same level is the whole concept. That is why it is called Deja Vu. Thank you for playing my game.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Solid effort. A well implemented maze game.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I like how minimal the graphics are. The music is also brilliant. I'll admit though, I didn't have the patience to beat it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

Fun with the deja vu, but it's frustrating not to be able to see properly when moving right/down. Music is good in the beginning but soon becomes kinda annoying. But I liked it!

Salamander3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Loving the cheesy music, though repeating levels got quickly tedious after a while. Very minimalist idea though, so strong theme coming through, over all.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Maybe center the player as center of the camera so you dont go to edge of screen. I did not like having to pefectly fit in some of the hallways either bigger halls or smaller player or even automatically fit. Very addicting, for minimalism. I got stuck where it splits into two for some second dimmension and I didnt see the text said because I was holding the arrow key and it skipped right through it.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

Cool little game. I think the visual look would be more effective with different color choices. Green and red go terribly together and are commonly associated with Christmas. Also many people have red/green color blindness. You should try to think of a way to add more progression to gameplay, to keep a player interested something needs to change.

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I like the way you have "hidden" some hallways at the edges of the screens: it's simple but it works. The loop (which is pretty sweet) is too short.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]