April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Platformer '81

by foyosoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game was written by me using XNA 4.0. I started writing it on Saturday morning. I approached the minimalism theme as meaning minimal graphics and restricting movement to a per-cell basis using just left/right and jump.

The game is (sort of) based on the style of the ZX81, if it had sound.

You must install XNA 4.0 from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914 in order to get the game to run. Thanks!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#552Theme3.54
#688Fun2.83
#694Audio2.46
#732Mood2.71
#873Overall2.88
#901Graphics2.60
#1115Innovation2.25
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

richtx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44am

Looks like my kind of game. Unfortunately, it won't run on my Windows 7 64-bit box. I get a waiting cursor for several seconds, then nothing.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

Worked fine for me on 64-bit Windows. I really enjoyed this and thought it had a great aesthetic. I have to admit I haven't finished it yet as it's quite hard. There seems to be a disconnect between the blocky contiguous rendering of the characters and the more continuous physics of it's movement. It's simultaneously frustrating and compelling. I'll definitely be coming back to try again to complete it.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

Nice use of the theme, I got all the gameplay elements without having to look at the instructions. Jump feels a little floaty.

foyosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Thanks for the feedback! I noticed that the jumping was a little 'quirky'. I wrote a bit of a post-mortem on the game and that was one of the things I mentioned. Tried to fix it a few times, but couldn't quite get there. Probably a -1 or a +1 out somewhere.

@richtx I compiled the game using XNA Framework 4.0 on 64-bit Windows 8. iirc, XNA isn't 64-bit, so it should work with all Windows... *should*... The redistributable can be downloaded from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914.

Thanks again for you feedback!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

Fairly simple gameplay, which is to be expected with this theme. I like the Castlevania style jumping.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Isn't that art a blast from the past. Works fine on Windows 7 64-bit.

garygreen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:36am

I couldn't get this to run. I double clicked on the application and it doesn't open anything up.

foyosoft says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:42pm

@garygreen do you have XNA 4.0 installed?

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Simple game... collecting money reveals goals IRL, too. LOL

simvig says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I must say, everything is right about this game. Even the sound kinda fits the mood.

MRvanderPants says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:02pm

This game has a really cool retro feel to it. But the controls were a little buggy sometimes. The player doesn't stop moving on key up, or just won't move. But the overall feel of the game is really nice.

lorancou says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Same as the others: nice retro theme, but the controls are a bit too strange.

Binary Gambit says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:48am

Incredibly hard but fun. I played through the first level several times before realising there is only one correct combination of key presses.

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:00am

This also won't work on my Windows 7 64-bit machine.

May 12, 2013 @ 5:10am

This definitely has a nice retro feel to it, but for the most part the controls were more frustrating than fun. The sound and visuals fit in nicely with the theme.

NateNaterson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:23am

Brutal difficulty! Really neat visual style, too.

64Mega says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:12am

Worked well, and did remind me of many early games on the ZX Spectrum, C64, PET, and Atari systems. Great game.

May 12, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Unfortunately I can't rate the game since it's a Windows entry.

May 12, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Very nice visuals. The game is really unforgiving!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]