April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CLRS

by acatcalledfrank - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CLRS is a mildly-psychedelic draw-em-up where your only weapons are primary colours and a quick finger. Press 1-3 to select colours and click to draw.

Protect your little pulsating blob from the nasty colour things by drawing protective lines of the right colours. Try mixing colours to defeat the evil secondary colour abstract monster-stand-ins.

Cheers!

Tom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#23Innovation4.16
#100Fun3.63
#114Overall3.74
#142Graphics3.81
#235Theme3.89
#409Mood3.08
#477Humor2.34
#670Audio2.51

Comments

Lim3s says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

This was a lot of fun. I didn't realise I could mix colors until it threw an orange circle at me and I freaked out a little. Very clever.

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

ooh, this is really cool. i love the idea. mixing colors quickly can sometimes be a little tough. great job

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Cool idea, great implementation!

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

Great concept. I like the term "draw-em-up" :)

intrudergames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

Great concept and execution!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

Super smooth! Really clever too. I panicked with the complex colors. WHICH COLORS MAKE GREEN I DONT EVEN REMEMBER AAAHHH

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

I was like, pssh, too easy.

Then the colour mixing came.

Then it was awesome :)

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

Wow this is a really cool idea, I had a lot of fun playing this!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Thanks for the nice comments guys! Glad you're enjoying it :) The difficulty's a bit all over the place I'm afraid as I didn't have time to polish - it seems to be mostly ok though?

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Nice idea and well executed mechanic. I enjoyed it.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very nice concept and elegant graphics, it's very hard though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice idea! I think it might have been even more fun if those traces weren't disappearing, as a result it would've been looking like Pollock :)

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very very nicely done :) Difficulty ramps up pretty quick! Or at least, fast for my skill level :P

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nifty! Very cool meachanic. Nice introduction of advanced gameplay with gradual arrival of secondary-coloured dots.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Very nicely done. This fits the theme in a beautiful way.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

When I realised you could mix colours I was like "wwaaaa!". Excellent concept, gets very challenging quite quickly. A lot of fun though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

can't last long once the mixed colours start swarming in, but certainly a good surprise when I discovered you could mix the colours :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

This is pretty awesome. ^_^

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Cool and cute, but soon it was a bit too hard! First thing I tried was mixing colors, so I'm glad it worked hehe.

Volute says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Very cool idea !

The Consul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

The mixing mechanism is very smart. Fun game.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Mixing is best! Why do i need to release mouse button to change color?

gerritg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really nice entry. The mixing part also got me by surprise :)

invi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:22am

Great idea and excellent execution!

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:14am

Cool idea. I couldn't figure out how to do the mixing. It would be nice to make the drawing itself a bit more strategic, somehow...

May 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

@RealyUniqueName Good question! Oversight on my part, probably. It's something I'd add in a more polished version.

@axcho Yeah - I considered making it so if a blog ran over its opposite colour then it'd get bigger or fiercer or mutate or something, so you had to be more careful with your strokes. Then I ran out of time and dropped the idea :)

It might be something I'd add to a real version though - maybe as a different game mode.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Prettynice concept, not really minimalist but very fun.

atraxgames says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Clever idea!

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:24am

It's unrelenting once the secondary colours start coming out but the game was very fun and addictive. Loved the colour mixing mechanic.

heuermh says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Yeah, this is great. But really difficult.

Threef says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:53pm

One thing: GO MOBILE! :D

Zccc says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Simple idea, but really fun to play! Great game!

juaxix says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Love this game, it is so hard but with a lot of color and live!

davidpeter says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Hah, the color mixing destroyed me :) Fun game!

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:52am

I love the tension that builds up when the mixed colors come in. Mistakes just bury me deeper and deeper into trouble. Good job!

May 19, 2013 @ 12:48pm

@threef - yeah, I think a tablet version would work really well! *adds to long to-do list*

@everyone thanks for all the positive comments guys! Glad you're all enjoying it :)

berareu says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:51am

Man, that was awesome! I really didn't expect that I could mix colors...great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]