April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Steam-Cube

by M0N0QUARTZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's my first Ludum Dare. I used Scratch to make this game.

In Steam-Cube, you are a cube and you need to complete the 18 levels.
Have fun !
------------------------------------------------------------------
Arrows keys to move.

EDIT: I have deleted the Colored version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#342Fun3.22
#407Audio2.96
#619Overall3.11
#624Theme3.47
#748Humor1.97
#798Graphics2.72
#799Mood2.64
#1177Innovation2.16

Comments

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23am

Good game, very difficult at the end oO

ekuurh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53am

It's pretty nice, but it's such a shame it's on scratch.
You could have done so much more on pretty much any other platform :(

gre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

difficulty is too high.
great game otherwise, remind me VVVVVVVV*.

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Very fun.

reustonium says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I liked the sounds and the particle effects on the player cube. But I would like liked better controls, mainly I couldnt seem to jump while holding down the left or right arrow key. Very nice game though!

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

Quite Hardcore, i like it!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

This was fun. Well done :)

KEFIR says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Simple but addictive! Very cool. IMHO BW version is more interesting :)

yinbar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Love the death counter. I like how quick everything is too - die, respawn instantly. Controls are challenging, requiring learning to improve. Done well!

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

An enjoyable platformer, however, I'm going to be a little harsh here: the level "Impossible!?" is a design nightmare. There are several reasons for that:
- the spikes (or their hitboxes) are too large; it's way too easy to slide onto one while simply trying to move to the edge of a platform
- since bullets aren't erased when losing a life, and the spawn point is in one turret's line of fire, dying sometimes spawns you right on top of a bullet, meaning one or more insta-deaths
- and finally, the player's momentum isn't nullified when respawning, either. That, combined with a spike right above the spawn point, meant 4-5 extra deaths each time I died while jumping.

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:49am

Awesome game with solid gameplay. The graphical style fits well in the theme's context. The game is pretty addictive too.

numpad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nice game. Looks great and really fits into the theme (non-colored). Actually crappy engine and controls.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Classic but fun to play. solid dev work. thx for making this.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Great job - I enjoy these single-screen type platformers quite a bit, and the visuals fit the theme perfectly.

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Very nice and cool game- love the concept.You can see the minimalistic in the game.

Polar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Quite good, but there were issues with spikes and hitboxes - I could die just trying to get to the end of a platform. Also, the text from one level temporarily popped up on the level before (a sort of flash, if you will).

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice game, really hard though. Keeps you engaged though and really impressive for a game made in scratch. Nice one!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

The controls are well done (even if the cube slides a bit), and the game certainly ramps up the challenge. The pixel smoke effects are cool, the music is rocking, and the whole experience, while rather trialing, is still fun to get through. A simple but solid game.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Pretty fun. Hard as balls...I mean cubes

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51am

Great audio. Reminds me a bit of VVVVVV.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:54am

Hard game but fun, fit's in well with the theme.

nilstastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Pros: Very tricky levels that seemed to have some thought put into them =)
Cons: More friction!

Aifryz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice, fun, great sounds,I love the particles!

davidpeter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I very much enjoyed the minimalistic graphic style and gameplay. It controlled well, but the level design got frustrating after a while; I gave up on Agility.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Although I'm not a big fan of Scratch, I think this is a great little platformer with nice simple graphics. I like hard platformers, so this is definitely something I'd play.

There are some things that can be improved in my opinion. I think the player slides too much when moving: it's kind of annoying. I also don't like the collision with spikes, it seems a bit unfair.

Anyway: good job with the entry! :)

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47pm

After 200 deaths I gave up on "Impossible?!". I got close though :P .

Nice game. Fit the theme well.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

If you are stuck at "impossible?!", you can see the walktrough here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0MRxK1hcgQ

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Its an alright game. Simple platformer, very minimalistic. Great job.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice little game. I didn't get past the Agility-Level, but up until then I had a fun time with it.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Great fun! The music is wild and the gameplay is very smooth.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:27pm

We seem to have interpret the theme the same way ;) I like the game and I love that its hard. Sometimes I died multiple times because I instantly respawn and the input I had previously followed through

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Good music and fun gameplay. I don't know why you have to slide every time you land, it makes the game much more frustrating.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:16am

Pretty cool puzzle game if only a tad bit too tough once you get past the 3/4th mark. Still a good job, fellow first-timer! xD

cwilloughby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:00am

Cool. The spikes are brutal. Wish I could touch their sides without dying. Like the art and audio, good work!

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:15pm

A simple and fun formula done masterfully, really enjoy playing this old style hardcore platformers. Good job! Also, the music is rad.

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:46pm

This was fun. I'd make the spikes a bit less deadly (reducing their hit box, mainly), and some early on levels are much harder than later ones - I spent a long time on "mix", then ran through the next few levels without problems. Too bad you didn't name all the levels, or I could tell you at which point I gave up =)

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Damn spikes!!! Loved this game. Hard enough to keep you playing.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Good job.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Good music, very smooth controls. Very well done! The game is just right!

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:02am

Nice! Really fun, I love platformers and this is one of the best ive played so far. good controls and level design :)

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:35am

Cool little game, enjoyed the levels, concept and art. I don't think explanations were necessary, let the player discover them! Nice music!

It actually reminds me of my entry in many ways (just look at one screenshot!)

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I recognize the music - it is the same music that I use for the title screen of my game EARL's Warehouse, "Junk Ship Gold" by Dan-O.

Unfortunately using music not created during the 48 hour compo is a no-no.

Other than that little hitch, this was a good fun game to play.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Sorry I saw that music was free to use. I thought I could use it.

Entity2D says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:11am

Very fun, and sadistic game :D

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:05am

It's impossible to control this damn cube=(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]