April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ellipse Madness

by shaircast - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello, this is my first paricipation in Ludam Dare.
I can't believe I made this in 48 hours.
I used Construct2 for algorithm, FL Studio for sounds, Inkscape for images. I made all of it myself.
Capx file have all the contents in it, so it's my source file.

In game, just left-click and you'll know what to do.
This game contains fast-moving scenes, so you may feel dizzy after playing this.
Best experience with Chrome.

Sorry for my english, and thanks for enjoying!

Oh, one more thing. Make red circle to get checked one in the menu screen. You'll find a little story about this game.
I wish you don't miss it. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#70Audio3.69
#100Innovation3.82
#267Overall3.47
#313Theme3.79
#379Fun3.18
#409Mood3.08
#683Graphics2.88
#826Humor1.87

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Adorable control mechanics!

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

A lot of fun, very hectic. I think a visual indicator on which point was going to move next would clear up a lot of confusion. I really enjoyed the music.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

This game got me motion sick after about a minute even though I never get motion sick playing games, but besides that it's a really cool and refreshing game. Love the control mechanics, but I think it'd be nice to have a version where the screen is fixed as well because it's a shame that some people can't experience the game.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

Man the warning at the beginning was not kidding.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

Love the inertia of the balls hitting the sides combined with the sound.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

Great example of indirect control =), and also a great example of how to make people motion sick.. =)

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Wow. This is really cool. I did get motion sick after a short time, though.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

Great mood. I feel like the game could benefit from some more eneimes? also, it's hard to read my score with the camera going nuts.

Love the controls, though. I see potential in this as a learning tool

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

interesting! high marks on the innovation!

Leebo86 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

"In game, just left-click and you'll know what to do."

Um, no, not really. It's possible to figure it out, but it's certainly not obvious.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

OH wow I understand now why that came with a warning! Good job though.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

A nice exercise for the eye muscles :)
Awesome!

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

Wow! It DID make me dizzy. Having a bit of trouble typing this, actually. *blink* So, it's a fun game but a little hard to play. Great job finishing this up in 48 hours!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Definitely interesting gameplay! It does get repetitive after a while however. I like the wall slam effects. I really wanted to get out of the rectangle and explore at first, which just killed me :). I love the easter egg story.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Make red circle to get checked one in the menu screen. You'll find a little story about this game. Good luck!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

My head hurts! However, this is a very fun game.

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

coool mechanics!! but the camera movement is to strong for me.. a version with a fixed camera would be perfect

Spelchan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Interesting game. Fun but it gave me a bit of a headache.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Great! Construct 2 like me... Congratulations, good graphics, sound and game.

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14pm

nice one

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Great game overall (cool music and brilliant idea), but I think it could have worked just as fine by slowing it just a bit. I never get sick playing (so I tried despite the warning), and at times I had to look away.

Also, some variety would have been the icing on the cake. At some point you don't need to care too much about careful clicking.

daniel2357 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:08am

Very nice game =- because of the lack of instructions it made the game even nicer and funnier . Overall- Liked it very much.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I have never been motion sick before in my life, until now.

I did think it was a really interesting game mechanic. I'd play this more if the screen didn't move around so much.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Very cool steering mechanic! The fast moving screen made it a bit hard to control, though. When the ball gaind enormous momentum, it was pure luck, where it would land. The music was really cool. Good job!

May 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

The story was maybe a bad idea... but seriously dude this game is awesome! The screen shaking made the game transcended a normal level of cool into something amazing. The game itself is super simple, but really satisfying. I am totally happy to have stumbled across your entry.

gerritg says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I don't feel that good right now, but congrats on your entry!

Misfit says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Yeah, It's dizzy feeling now.. but... nice.. game..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]