April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Project Status: Abandoned

by CrazyNate - Jam Entry

Mostly an attempt to get platformer physics right (sort of)

There was an intended storyline but due to technical difficulties I ran out of time to add any content; the door doesn't even work :/

Here's the story if you're particularly interested in what this game could have turned out to be like:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/26/storytime-2/#respond

The controls are the left, right, and up arrow keys.

If you like you can change the map by editing the basement1.map file located in the data directory with a text editor, though currently only tiles with value 1 are tested for collision with the player.

JRE 6 may be needed to run the jar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#341Graphics(Jam)2.94
#352Theme(Jam)3.07
#551Innovation(Jam)1.60
#553Overall(Jam)2.00
#553Fun(Jam)1.73
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19am

Couldn't get it to run on Linux. Got a black screen. Maybe the code can't find the resources?

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52am

Not able to run on windows 7 as well. Too bad :(.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54am

@pvwradtke: Linux has a case sensitive file system right? I bet he's using a different case to load the resources than what the files are actually named. Maybe you could try running it from a FAT32 partition? (Like a thumb drive?)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

Ran fine for me on windows 7 x64 -- but it ran way too fast -- are you not timing your logic loop? And you can also jump forever (just hold down the up key) -- or maybe that's intentional (flying robots?), can't really tell since the animation happens way too fast on my machine.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57am

Works ok for me! Boy is that gravity strong! :)
You should make your own kind of music, but my advice on platformer physics: keep (x, y) coordinates and (dx, dy) velocity. Every frame update dy += 0.5 or something to simulate gravity. Left and right arrow keys just add or subtract from dx, staying within some max velocity limits. Jumping just sets dy += 10 (or whatever) if on the ground.

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35am

Just opens a black window with openjdk7 on linux. I like the screenshot though.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:601)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:58)
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: input == null!
at javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(ImageIO.java:1388)
at com.crazynatestudios.project.AbandonedGame.<init>(AbandonedGame.java:45)
at com.crazynatestudios.project.AbandonedApp.main(AbandonedApp.java:61)
... 5 more

CrazyNate says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:15am

@pvwradtke and @stqn: Are you running the jar file in the same directory that the data and graphics folders are in? The resources it's trying to load are in those folders.

@BrainSlugs83 When I attempted to add any timing it ran too slow on my computer to test and I'm still trying to learn how to properly configure that. And I ran out of time to implement an actual jumping condition since I was too busy trying to fix collision so the up key really just changes the y velocity for collision testing purposes.

@Tom 7 setting up velocity was actually one of the few things that I did that worked, though since I didn't get jumping fixed I hadn't set a max velocity for the y direction yet since I didn't know how I should tune it.


If it would make it easier for everyone to test, should I/would it be acceptable for me to upload an updated version where you can adjust a thread sleep value so it doesn't run too fast?

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:09am

It ran fine for me on Windows 8. There wasn't much to it unfortunately, but I liked the graphics style. I hope you keep with it and create the game you wrote about (it sounds pretty interesting).

stqn says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:05pm

@CrazyNate: yes, running java -jar LD26.jar from its directory, where graphics and data are located. I just tried again and same error.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]