April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Way Home

by unclejunkie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD entry ever. I can't into programming at all, thus I had to use game editor. I tried to put the simple visual feel into game, but it seems I've failed. That's going to be a good lessons for me anyway.
The creation took approximately 12 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#163Graphics3.75
#215Mood3.34
#494Innovation3.19
#512Fun3.03
#550Audio2.71
#596Overall3.13
#655Humor2.09
#1013Theme3.03

Comments

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

It's off to a good start. It's actually quite good for someone without any programming skills.

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

Great idea and pretty good realisation !

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Chman, Kyatric, thanks for kind words guys! I'd honestly say the major role has been played by Construct 2, a most noob-friendly game development tool in the world!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

Don't be so hard on yourself. This is good! I think there are some issues with control, but the design seems very soun, and the game looks great.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21am

I was entertained all the way through this game. It's a very good game for one who has no programming skills. Very good job!

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

Good concept and impressive result for no programming.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36am

Excellent game! Cool graphics & smooth gameplay. Needs some sounds.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

@zerebruin, the sounds are supposed to present when run game via Chrome. However, for some reason I can't hear them when run the game. I'll try to fix it as soon as possible (if it is possible at all).


Thanks for kind word, guys, I am absolutely happy now!
Yesterday I've been at LD IRC, and wrote not a word but read what other people were writing and telling, it was amazing to see so many of talented and creative people at same place, discussing the game development and art, showing their creations to people. That was incredible and inspirational experience for me.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

Great job man, very impressive. It started off a little slow for me, but when I noticed the button to speed things up, it got pretty intense :)

Sounds didn't work for me either - playing on a Mac in Safari. Same thing with my entry for some reason -the background music plays but none of the effects.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

@rogueNoodle, yes, sounds issue makes me sad, because they could bring the atmosphere. In game, I put the sounds of radiotalks and it is much more interesting to play when something sounds in ears.

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I liked it, very well made. At one point I think the humans destroyed a ship I had selected, and then I couldn't select any other ship anymore and couldn't keep playing.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Like the graphics, and the old-school sound effects were cool!
Excellent work for just 12 hours.

Yann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

@unclejunkie
Hey well done (: it's lacking a bit of feedback to really understand what happens, and the starting screen text is too slow whereas the instruction text in the game fades too fast (should put a button for the player to chose when to close it I'd say)

But overall it's looking pretty nice, I like the ambient sound, a bit less the sfx (maybe too loud or too 8-bit), and the idea is a good starting point.

I would encourage you to continue working on this game. (:

Well done!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Very good visual feeling, good minimal sound, a fresh entry. You can work more on it, sometimes i don't understand what's happening... but it's a good entry.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Enjoyed this one, it was a bit hard though. That might be because I was playing in fast forward mode all the time though. :p

It's definitely a cool concept though. And the graphics are simple but effective.
A thing you might want to add is some kind of tutorial that shows players how to control their ships and all that.

Very nice entry, good job! :D

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

It took me a while to figure out what to do, but afterwards, I very much enjoyed the game. The graphics and sound really created a nice atmosphere. Adding a fast forward button was an excellent idea. My only major complain was the text was a bit small, and hard to read. Making it a bit larger, and giving it some kind of background would help a lot.

Nicely done! You can do some pretty amazing 2D stuff with C2.

wrongcoder says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:21am

Well done! It's not clear to me what the win condition is (it seems I just park harvesters on resources and nuke humans once in a while?) but it looks good and it feels smooth. An excellent first time entry.

yellowlemming says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:00pm

This is a rather nice game with very nice looking visuals, I personally think it would be better if you could maintain the selection of a ship until you click elsewhere on on another ship

onzephyr says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice idea and you pulled it off well. Good visual style and plays very intuitively. Only issue I ran into is if I overlap two harvesters. I can't seem to pick them separate after that point.

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:08pm

One of the best entries I played :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]