April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TriNiTris (TNT)

by DarioOliGPI - Jam Entry

About the GAME:

This game is *really hard*.

WIN CONDITION:
You reach the bottom of the board with a stack of tiles

LOSS CONDITION:
All the tiles are removed from the board (you DON'T HAVE to match colors)

MALUS:
Every 3 placed tiles a whole line is destroyed
Every 8 placed tiles a RANDOM COLOR is picked to be destroyed (if you misplace tiles, this will cause a chain reaction that will cause Game Over).

CHEATING: not possible as far as I know. Click-spamming "UP arrow" never cause victory.

CONTROLS:
ARROWS: move left/move right/send tile up
Z: rotate left (counter-clock-wise)
X: rotate right (clock-wise)

NOTE: I did the game alone. Unluckily I was busy this weekend so I was not able to submit it before the 48 hours :/. But hey! we are here for having fun:) So enjoy my game because I'm enjoying your games too ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Innovation(Jam)3.16
#260Humor(Jam)2.20
#383Audio(Jam)2.31
#406Fun(Jam)2.53
#408Overall(Jam)2.79
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50
#476Theme(Jam)2.56
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Simple and good entry!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Fun game.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Really cool! Good idea

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Interesting concept, but almost impossible. It's really frustrating how the blocks you're working so hard to build up keep disappearing on their own, even creating combos sometimes.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Simple, but I like it!

DarioOliGPI says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Thanks to all :) It's nice to see so many comments :)

@Martze: mm game is still so hard? Just think that originally the interval for destroyin tiles of same colours was 5 turns instead of 8 :)

deathray says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Hmm. I couldn't tell if what I was doing was good or bad. Everything just vanishes...

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33am

It's a reasonable amount of fun! :D nice.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

Simple and fun, the idea of reversing tetris is really good, nice job!

However, the destroying mechanics are counter-intuitive (one would think they'd be based on how you arrange the colored blocks) and the lack of a feedback when a cell is destroyed makes this worse. Try adding a "pop" animation when they get destroyed and the problem will go away!

Good job once again :)

DarioOliGPI says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

good tip ;) thanks. I start immediatly adding the animation :)

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I was very frustrated to be honest hehe, but good game :D

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Funny idea (we actually had similar to this, so I am glad we afterall chose difefrent). It is simple and entertaining.

Tifu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:39am

Interesting idea, very hard, especially the last row, unless the block actually spawns on top of your column, I don't think you can move it in time, or if you can you'd have to be crazy fast. I like the way the text at the bottom tells you you're doing things wrong :P I think a "in X placements reds will disappear" counter would have helped a lot, or even just "in X placements a random colour will disappear" counter, so you know when it's happening, even reading the rules it was kind of "wait, why did that blow up?" kind of thing while playing.

DarioOliGPI says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:59am

Thanks for costructive comment :). I'd liked to improve that before the end of the compo, but didn't have time :_(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]