April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hukaire

by yellowlemming - Jam Entry

This is a simple text-based, turn-based game where you are trapped in a hostile world filled with Karatoise who want to kill you. This is the first piece of coding I have ever really done and it runs in Command Prompt so don't expect anything particularly amazing. This was intended for the normal 48 hour competition but I had some bugs that still needed to be fixed after the original time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#100Theme(Jam)3.77
#274Humor(Jam)2.13
#373Innovation(Jam)2.63
#384Fun(Jam)2.59
#419Mood(Jam)2.46
#440Overall(Jam)2.69
#510Graphics(Jam)2.22

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

There's a bit of strategy involved, can be weird to predict where the enemies are moving.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I am absolutely terrible at this sort of game, but it seems solid regardless. My only question is, what is a Karatoise???

Jed Mayberry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

It's hard to tell what happened when the game ends in a crash. Ideally your game should be more stable. But it was mildly enjoyable, unlike my game.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

I like the concept but it's annoying to press enter after each command. If done in real time this would be pretty fun.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Can't play, have a mac.

Yoni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:25pm

It's not easy predicting where enemies are going, specifically because it's not graphic but explanatory. I guess that was the point, but to me it felt kind of boring. Good use of the theme though.

Rex Peppers says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Can't play on windows :-(

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Nice game. :) It's a little frustrating that you can only orientate by coordinates. It would be helpful to have a map. Also it would be nice to see the source code.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:47pm

What is a Karatoise?? A Karate fighting tortoise??????
Nice use of the theme.

yellowlemming says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:09pm

In answer to the questions a karatoise is an interesting sounding enemy, much in the same way as Hukaire is an interesting sounding name, although I must say that a karate fighting tortoise would be a good idea, I should probably make that it's sprite when I get round to making it a 2D game

tiffi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:35pm

+1 for text based game, cool entry

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:53am

This is minimalism rpg grinding at its best. I just wish maybe after a certain amout of times without finding anyone it would give me a hint or someting. Great job.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Barely worked for me. Very easy to crash it.

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:01am

Interesting game, I liked the imagination invoked by being text-only. Felt like the arena was a little too large. Didn't understand why I lost - it said I killed a monster and immediately after that I died.

stqn says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I played this under Linux with the help of Wine. It was kinda fun, but as others have said having to press return everytime was a bit tedious, and while I was scanning the map to look for Karatoises, killing weak ones and avoiding dangerous ones, I realized I'd have to do it again because I didn't note the coordinates of the ones I was avoiding on a piece of paper (or in a text editor). This is when I stopped playing because that didn't seem much fun :p.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Very nice text game... it is easy to follow, even without plotting the grid.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:03am

Man I love text adventure games! Good use of theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]