April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Reviewer

by vgcharlienash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Angry Reviewer is a game inspired by 'Mukti Paul's review of Mike Bithells game; "Thomas was alone".
You play as an angry video game reviewer who writes completely negative reviews.

The game was made in Batch therefore it is Windows only.

@MrNashington

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Humor3.56
#217Innovation3.58
#358Theme3.74
#676Fun2.84
#684Mood2.75
#954Overall2.79
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Really cleverly programmed, given that it's all in Batch!

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Certainly very clever but has somewhat limited fun value. Overall 3/5 (if it doesn't tag the rating to the comment...)

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Interesting premise; fun to play around with. It needed WAY more words; all of the "unknown word" errors really hampered my enjoyment of the game. A thesaurus would have really helped this game out.

Also, it would have been nice if it let you write whole sentences and score the sentence.

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

wasted pathetic laughable and forgettable game. It was horrendous and unpleasant to play. Completely worthless.

Score: 700
Just kidding, fun game.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Yay! I'm not the only one who wrote a game in batch!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Very cathartic for anyone who's ever published a game to an app store. Payback time at last!! Needs way more abusive words and would be nice if it added the score at the end. In fact, I've added a load more words to the copy I downloaded so I can use it next time I need to vent some frustration about stupid commenters ;). Well done.

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06am

Fun idea, but really lacking in vocabulary. I could see this concept being applied in some interesting ways in the future.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I can't download the game. :( It redirects me to a pretty long URL at media1.gamefront.com which is not available.

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice idea, sadly pretty much every word I could think of wasn't in your list!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:25pm

This game works in well in my windows 98 vm ^^
Fun little batch game :)

vgcharlienash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:41pm

@MegaBrutal It should be working, no one else has reported any problems.

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:50pm

I have no Windows..

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I couldn't download the game.

Norgg says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Allowing repeats kind of breaks this.

May 8, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Ha, fun idea. Turns out it's really difficult thinking of good bad words to use

Mach60KAS says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:55am

Truly an accurate simulation of kotaku.

May 20, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Innovative idea, and very unlike most games in this compo, but there's not a whole lot of fun here. Programming is solid (it's missing quite a few words, but I guess that's always going to be the case), but adding up the score at the end would help. Also, it's easy to game the system by typing in the same word over and over. A version that only allowed using each word once would be an improvement.

By the way, it's spelled "douchey".

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]