April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

This Is Water

by solons - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a text-based dungeon-crawler I designed about my criticisms of the education system as I've experienced it. It is an unfinished project, but I'm happy with what I have for the large number of systems that are involved in the game.

It is a rogue-like game about corruption and loneliness that uses the minimalist aesthetic to inspire tedium in the player.

It only has three possible weapons (out of an originally devised 54 :P) and three monsters to fight (out of an originally planned... Blugh?) Those are the first places I will be going when I work to expand on this project in the future. Also, it does have an ending. I did get that far!

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Humor3.13
#650Innovation3.00
#788Mood2.65
#954Overall2.79
#962Fun2.54
#976Theme3.07
#1080Graphics2.32
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

Hahaha, very good!

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

Weird is the best way to describe this.

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

I think there's a rather large bug in the game -- no matter how far west I go, I always end up getting the widowmaker. I ended up with three of them!

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Well, title screen is cool. ;)

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I'll be honest it didn't rock my world, but it was pretty funny.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I think you could have gone further with the surrealist theme,
instead of it ending up like some monthy python skit.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

A: That title screen looks distubringly like a picture of a black hole that I used to use as a background.

B: I appreciate the way this game explores the dissection of different forms of reasoning, and then throws them against traditional rock/paper/scissors RPG mechanics. I'm a philosophy major, it's sort of my thing >_>. Good on you.

C: What was going on at the end there? Did my friend kill me? Did I kill him? What? Did I miss something?

escence says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice, I had to smile from time to time - it was a lot of repeating text to read, though. But especially the beginning was quite amusing :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Ahah, fantastic. Best text based adventure ever! This is the first I've enjoyed enough to complete!

solons says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

Wow! Thank you all for your kind words ~ it is so wonderful to see everyone's different interpretations of the materials I put together. (Or at least, what I got to) This is my first LD and so I'm not sure what liberties I have with updating the game during judging-time since most anything you put into a Twine game can be interpreted as a major content change.

@texel thanks for sticking to the West! Unfortunately, I only put together a single weapon for each direction, but the idea is that you will be able to transfigure your entire being with either the tech, nature, or shadow aspect corresponding to North, West, and East respectively. (South represents 'general education' for when you aren't specialized anywhere to be accepted to any other direction.)

@nintendoeats First thing when you Google 'hole', although the 90s pic of Courtney Love's band was tempting as well. Also, thanks for getting to the end! I hadn't tested it and was really worried that enemy health didn't scale up right! The end was going to involve seeing your family and interacting with them the only way you know how, but I changed it to a 'friend' to be less violent and scary. It was my interpretation of coming home from school and trying to reconnect with old friends.

@Rutger Megahertz That is the BEST analysis of 'what I was going for vs. the end product' that I could think of! I'm so glad that the surrealist themes shined through even in a small way. They will as I update and add more color to the game.

@Everyone Else THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I've never had such direct feedback and commentary on any of my games and so this is an absolutely amazing and validating experience just to be here and be able to share my experiences with you!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:34am

Unfortunately, I didn't care for this one too much. Got too repetitive by the time I finished :/

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Fun at first, really liked some of the prose the first time through. Got boring as the same events repeated with no indication of how many times. (Every kind of monster has talons?) Did not know if I was progressing or in an endless loop, except by seeing that comments spoke of an ending.

Really liked how the first scene played with interpretations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]