April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lookin for Love <3

by Filth and Money - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press your LEFT and RIGHT arrows to move!


Keep jumping on your lover's HEARTS to keep moving!


AVOID the falling potatoes!



**PLEASE** rate and leave a comment if you want me to check out your game! =D



Uses Flash through Stencyl. I'd like to get the game working on some other platforms working if I can. All illustrations made with Photoshop. Music made with Ableton Live and Reason. Sound FX made with BFXR! =) Fun program! Potato bought by Laaph:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=3320

=D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#204Audio3.30
#230Humor2.81
#448Fun3.10
#732Mood2.71
#790Overall2.95
#830Graphics2.68
#895Theme3.18
#1110Innovation2.26

Comments

PixolPalette says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

The game was quiet enjoyable, but nothing i haven't seen before. It's exactly as one of many endless jumpers on mobile phones, but kept me playing.

Graphically it was fitting, except for the potato. Should have been flat shaded.

Well done. 8)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

Pretty fun, though occasionally impossible when a potato (props on including potatoes!) drops on top of a heart.

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11am

Fun!! Potatoes FTW :) Like the retro style, mood is perfect

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

Haha, thanks, ppl. I know the potato is kind of dumb looking, but it was kind of our mascot at our jam gathering place where someone brought some real potatoes! lol

Thanks for playing! And thanks for the feedback! I'm aware that the game is occasionally impossible. I didn't quite get to the point to fix the logic for that, although since potatoes drop at different speeds than the hearts, I generally can swing around the speeding spuds. lol =)

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

nice :) fun music!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

What are ppl's high scores? I had one really good run while making the game where I got a bit over 50,000.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

I keep trying to collect the potatoes but i keep dying.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19am

it has potatoes! instant win! :)

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

I didn't even realize my character was jumping until like 10 games in. The platforms are too close together, so I thought the hearts just made me float upwards. Otherwise nice game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

Yeah, someone else mentioned to me IRL that they didn't realize they were jumping. I was going for a different feel that was more "flow-y," but am not 100% sure how best to implement that idea. This was the best I could do for now! =D

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

I like it, it's got a really sharp look.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Pretty Fun!, Nice Twist on the Doodle jump mechanic :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice game! :)

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice game.

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Fun and lovely :)

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I love the social commentary of the feminine goober dropping her eggs upon the unsuspecting masculine goober. Those are potatoes? Still there's a universal truth here.

Also, I died ten times before I realized it was from not picking up the hearts.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very fun game, spent a lot of time procrastinating, and bookmarked it too. had a lot of fun, love the music

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

lol, @CagedRat: regarding social commentary, I actually wanted the player's character selectable, but I didn't get that far. Way to go me for maintaining patriarchal norms! haha

lol, yes, those are potatoes, but I actually like the egg idea. Something to meditate on.. Hmmm

And yes, in-games instructions would be good.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

BTW, thank you, everyone for your kind words! You guys have also made a lot of cool games! This was definitely the most fun I've had doing Ludum.

On another note, you may have noticed that the music stutters a touch when it loops; and I haven't been able to figure out what's causing it. Maybe Flash / Stencyl doesn't handle the looping process properly? I dunno. Hmmmm

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

It's pretty fun! My only complaint is that the two major mechanics (avoid potatoes and collect hearts) often clash because potatoes spawn at the same place where there is a row of hearts, so whether or not you go for the hearts you end up dying.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Potato! Normal Doodle Jump gameplay, though I did like how the circle created the path of the hearts.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

The catchy loop entertained, and the light sound effects felt warm and cuddly. If you continue to develop this have you considered showing something that is dropping the potatoes and some pattern to their falling. I had trouble anticipating where they would come from. Whereas, the hearts I could just about follow, except when a potato was at the same place.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

This game seemed to have allusions to Kid Icarus for the NES, such as collecting oversized hearts and falling through the bottom of the screen leading to death.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

That's funny that you mentioned Kid Icarus, because I didn't consciously think about it, but now that you mention it, it played a part. When I was deciding on the background color, I was definitely thinking of the original NES version of the game versus the weird version I have on my 3DS with "updated" graphics that are usually/frequently rather tacky; and I'm definitely influenced by the early NES games with very simple title screens on black backgrounds that get to the point immediately, Kid Icarus included.

Great observation!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

Perhaps it's just me, but the speed of the scrolling up made me feel kind of sick after staring at it for even just a few seconds. Also, potatoes would get randomly generated on top of hearts, making guaranteed losses.

Sorry, but I didn't care for it much.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46am

You know, you can go around potatoes, even if they're on top of hearts lol. I know this isn't a masterpiece of gaming or anything, but maybe you suck at video games? lol

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:13pm

The collision detection seemed off to me. I died a lot when I didn't feel like I was anywhere near a potato. The game is way too tall, too; I couldn't fit the whole thing on my 1600x900 screen, and that's taller than most sub-14" laptop screens (especially macs). It would be great if it scaled to fit the screen height.

I think the mechanic is solid and the gameplay was nice 'n' twitchy. Just needed a little more playtesting on a few different PCs.

mildmojo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:17pm

If there were platforms, they didn't render for me. Looked like a black screen with the green guy moving back and forth in the midfield with hearts and potatoes dropping at lightning speed, all on a black background.

I figured out that zooming my browser out on the page let me see everything.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:55am

mildmojo: yeah, you're absolutely right. I was building for iPhone resolution; and it ended up being a bit too big for most computers.

Superdeath says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:02am

Nice! Simple and pretty fun! I didn't realize those were potatoes at first, but now it makes sense. I like that he never actually finds love, haha.

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice. I really liked the music and sound effects. Kudos on spuds :]

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:23am

Nice, but sometimes impossible. Got 57k on my last run. Collisions are a bit messy though =/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]