April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

QUEST SPACE

by VictorGrunn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

QUEST SPACE! Press space... to QUEST!

Halfway through the LD time limit I realized, well hell... the idea I had wasn't going to work right. So I decided to switch gears entirely and code up something I always wanted to make - just a simple little automated RPG system. This is very barebones - 4 monsters, 4 stats (only 3 are used, and 2 of them barely), 2 'areas', 2 'towns', and the whole thing is on rails.

One may say it's... minimally a game. Hmm? HMM? ANYONE?

Anyway, it was fun to make, and I plan on doing a lot more with it. Enjoy.

Oh, and I should mention - this makes use of the great FLIXEL Library, and I made use of Monsterdebugger in the whole process. I forgot, have to declare that stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#135Humor3.16
#584Theme3.51
#742Graphics2.79
#946Innovation2.58
#1080Mood2.29
#1197Overall2.45
#1214Fun2.10
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Whereas this fits the theme very well, it sort of removes all the fun from the game. Perhaps you could have introduced a mechanic that was time based? e.g. press space at the right time to do critical damage?

Regardless, a good looking game!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

I like how each quest is totally different! Very Cool...

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

It's cute. It's not a game, but it is cute. Progress quest 3 I shall call thee.

scottychips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

The art style was fun but there didn't seem to be much 'game' to it at all. I just kept hitting spacebar and advancing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

hehe i just pressed space about 10 times then it was over ..i liked the gfx tho :)

larb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

5 stars for humor! This idea is hilarious!

I don't know why, but I also think this it's fun. Even though you just press space.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

It certainly is minimal. Not quite as minimal as "Tactical Spreadsheet", but pretty darned minimal.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Hahaha :D I love it when good code by someone who definitely shows some talent goes basically to waste just for the sake of a joke :D Well done. Could be more "fun" if the game included some sound effects for fighting / resting / etc, but still I liked it, and all the people complaining that "you should have made a real game" are just plain wrong. This is the way to go!

Spelchan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Minimalist yes. Game no. It was interesting though.

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

I really liked this game. Ignore those who say it isn't a game. This is definitely a game. It just lays bare how little importance the player has in an RPG, in the end you are in a designed system and no matter how complex the system seems - you are just clicking buttons to continue a system that has been laid out for you neatly to experience.

Other Judgers, before you proclaim 'this is not a game', you should have written down exactly what your definition of a game is. And then think of all the games you play and see if they meet your definition.
Either your definition will be vague and encompassing or specific and wrong.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

Canyon,

I didn't even think that this wouldn't qualify as a game, actually! But to anyone who's thinking as much, let me say one word in my defense. Well, two words.

Slot machines.

They are games. Universally recognized as such, and for the vast majority of them (let's leave aside modern video slots) there is one aspect to them. You pull a lever, and you wait. That's that, you are done. There is literally nothing to these machines other than strict mechanical luck.

If slot machines are games - and unless wikipedia is lying to me (what are the odds?) they are - then so is Quest Space. Say it's too restricted, say it's too boring, say whatever, but at least grant me that.

Thanks, btw, to all of you who have played and left comments, positive or negative. This was a damn fun thing to make!

0beah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Stays true to the theme.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:08pm

A one-button turn-based RPG... You know, I actually like this better than those games that are pretty much just like this except with the illusion of free choice. At least I don't have to blame myself for dying, haha. Also, this is definitely true to the theme.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

Fun, good use of the theme, good gfx. some audio would have been nice though. other than that, good job!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I really like the idea of this - it'd be cool if you were to randomize the levels as well and then at the end of each quest compile a story of what went down, it'd be fun to read other peoples' stories!

DBRalir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:27pm

It's a bit too minimal for my tastes, but it seems to be well-made. Without the slightest illusion of choice, pressing spacebar repeatedly isn't very fun. Still, it's nice for about 30 seconds.
(Unrelated: I ported my game to Windows if you want to check it out.)

ming_tea says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:19am

Humorous idea and good use of the theme. I kept rolling mage and dying to the second monster.

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Not quite what I was expecting... there are quite a lot of ways you could have made an on-rails, one-button RPG still have some actual gameplay. I laughed though, so I guess if that was the point... yay?!

Alucard J says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:42pm

The text was quite amusing =]

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:40pm

That's really minimal control in the game. I think it would be more fun if there were at least two possible actions instead only one.

Uhfgood says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:04am

Haha! Man that was hard, now my index finger hurts!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]