April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

++Pet;

by mushbuh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tamagotchi like game, use the up right and left arrow keys to play. Once you die you cannot respawn- try to figure our how to keep your pet alive as long as you can.

--If for some reason the link doesn't work for you try http://www.mushbuh.com/++pet/Main.swf

FunFact - This was made in-between vomiting and fevers from the flu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#149Audio3.43
#163Graphics3.75
#168Humor3.05
#358Theme3.74
#668Mood2.76
#721Overall3.00
#794Innovation2.81
#817Fun2.70

Comments

caelan.reid says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

near as good as seal petter

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I cleaned the poo! Cool little game there. Nice work.

xstargirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

it's pretty good, very 8 bit :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

A virtual pet!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Love the music. Also the poop :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Almost like in childhood. Except now i keep pressing keys until it dies again and again :)

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Very cute!

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Loved the sound effects and the distortion that happened. I didn't get what the Up and Left did.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I made him die :( just like any other tamagotchi I ever had!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Agh, this is so cute. I kind of fumbled my way through for a while and got to age 12, but I got the impression it would have just gone on forever. I want to find my old tamagotchi now...

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

It does go on forever! Its just a simplified version of a tamagotchi, half the fun is figuring out how to keep it alive (i never bothered to read the directions on mine when I was a kid)

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

i remember the handheld jammies that would beep in your pocket. cool stuff!

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Neat little tamagotchi-like game. :) Was frustrating at first but felt great to figure out how to keep it alive. Nice work!

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I have no idea what I am doing, still having fun \o/

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Nice job! This really took me back to the DigiPet days! If I 'accidentally' mistreated it, the background would flash red. It looked like maybe there was supposed to be some text, but it flashed by so quickly I couldn't read it.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Awesome.

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Nice! Hope someone was taking better care of you during your flu than I did of my ++pet. Also I hope no one kills you just to find out how old you are. (It was 21. :( )

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Nice fun game. Took a little bit to figure out. Was cute too. Nice job!

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

Nice simple game with good looking graphics and audio. Not very playable for more than 30 seconds though :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Good work for going under flu. I liked the touch of it suffering when you weren't treating it right. I am happy cleaning poop was so efficient and easy.

CMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

That certainly manages minimalist.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

wow whoa

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very cute, I'm not sure I entirely figured out what the buttons do, aside from right, but I kept it alive to 13 D:

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

strange, but cool. i got to try this some more :)

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15am

Haha, I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. Very cute game though. :D

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I hope you're feeling better. I think I figured everything out. I eventually just offed my little guy because I didn't feel like literally putting up with it's crap anymore. Overall, I enjoyed the game; I just with it were more fleshed out so I could have enjoyed it even longer.

Kvisle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I have no idea what I was doing, but apparently it got 9 years

May 12, 2013 @ 9:03am

Cuuuuute! :3

May 12, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Played 'till it got around 50+ years and it still didn't get a job, when can I pre-order the DLC with said feature? (bretty cool game btw)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]