April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

How Long Can You Last

by foxter888 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

this is a game in which you are to hook on to the cart ahead of you and see how long can you last.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Humor3.63
#144Fun3.54
#306Innovation3.44
#350Audio3.04
#471Overall3.25
#611Mood2.81
#638Graphics2.93
#863Theme3.21
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

imagnity says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:20am

Damn! This is coooool...!!!

iossif says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:35am

way more fun than i expected :-D

Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Quite fun, just wish it'd play longer when I failed to watch the explosion of shapes!

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

hahahaha. This was fun! Cool game.

foxter888 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:10pm

this is actually my first time competting here, still getting more experiences from other players about it.

mfitzp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Sexual.

And to answer the question, apparently not very long :/

mfitzp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Is there anything to stop you just 'putting it in' and sitting there? The 'how long did you last' timer appears to be based on time, rather than distance, is that right?

foxter888 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03am

yeah, i was so pressured since it was my first time. i wonder is it to late for changes uh?

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05am

So funny. Love the concept! The scoring system however doesn't make much sense. Also, though part of the charm is the physics, they do feel a bit off..

foxter888 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

at the same time although it was of a sexual nature, the idea behind is that nowadays not many express their emotions or feelings through their product. in some cases is just making what the consumer wants. in which as a matter of fact is great for busisness. in my personal perspective i believe as indie we have the right to express ourselves at will through our at. games are the illusion of our message.

foxter888 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

yes netpro2k you are right the scoring system was vague due to my lack of though processing. for the original idea i had it wasn't enough time to put it in. so i ended having to make it so it starts a timer one you hooked onto the cart.

foxter888 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

i'm glad people find it comical and fun. that is my dream as a indie developer.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Interesting. Reminds me a bit of Snuggle Truck. Very difficult. Also, it seems that you have control in the air, which is odd. Good looking physics though.

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Great fun!

Kimau says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Extremely fun! Burned a good chunk of my lunch playing.

Pity the music didn't loop or you didn't do a quick pass on visuals, just some colour would help. You should def do a polish pass on this and post it up somewhere.

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Lol, I see what you did there. Nice one ;p

foxter888 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:29am

yeah i can try polishing it on my own. i do plan this to be a free game and hopefully put it on mobile too. although i might need to make it more mature if i'm trying to increate my market target.

Kilian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Sexy :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:03am

OK, OK, OK. is this a game with a truck and a phallic symbol pushing into hole with 80s porno music playing in the background? HAHAHAHAHHHAHAHAHAA

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:45am

Only until I read the comments did I realize the sexual reference in this game.

*whoosh*

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:11pm

yes...baby!, omg ...seriously? this cant be true XD

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:44pm

This is pretty hilarious... Nice idea, VERY dodgy movement required to stay hooked! Most amusing. Nice Audio track too.

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:25pm

No Linux build, can't play.

May 19, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Is it just me or is this game somehow perverted?!? :) The music fits the theme, anyway... !!!

Alexander says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:42pm

This is amazing, very cool!

TehSkull says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:47pm

3 stars of humor for the phallic object going into the hole. The music (which I LOVE) doesn't help me not think of the game in the wrong connotation.

The score doesn't seem to reset between runs for me.

Also needs a restart hotkey. I hate having to control using my right hand on the arrow keys then using the mouse with my right hand to click the Restart button.

numpad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Great game. Looks nice and works fine.

foxter888 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:53pm

yeah understandable, i did had lots of issues for rushing my idea. still thinking whether i should take it to a more higher perspective in development of it.

so far it was a good experience starting out. still do i went kind of vague rushing into trying to complete it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]