April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Atom That Matters

by Babek - Jam Entry

How to play:

Atom That Matters is about controling a physic body in a 3D space,
with a continuous velocity added by the forward direction of the camera.
The only control you have in the game, is mouse motion input,
that will orbit the camera around the ball.
The rest, is just physic computation.

Take off all the garbage attached to you by hitting planets
and go to the black hole.


About the Team:

Adrien Albertini, Developer
Aurelia Binetti, 2D Artist
Hannes Delbeke, 2D, 3D Artist and 'codeling' (hannesdelbeke.blogspot.com)
Leon Denise, Developer, 3D Artist (poly.gonum.free.fr/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Graphics(Jam)4.26
#89Innovation(Jam)3.55
#100Mood(Jam)3.54
#149Overall(Jam)3.46
#171Audio(Jam)3.26
#226Fun(Jam)3.04
#253Humor(Jam)2.24
#350Theme(Jam)3.08

Comments

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Can you put this on Dropbox or a more reliable download host? Would love to try your game but when site has 5 links on a page of download now, can be confusing.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I love the art style and general graphics. It just looks really nice! Good job there.

A few things:

1) You aren't locking the mouse cursor to the center of the screen. This means that I can't run it in windowed mode, since my mouse will eventually move off the screen. I even had this problem in full-screen mode since I have 2 monitors. It let my mouse move over to my 2nd monitor, and then would move focus away from the game.

2) I still wasn't really sure what I was doing. I headed towards the black hole, but nothing happened?

DevWouter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Strange game, but frankly it is not that different from jeu de boules. I was actually expecting the blackhole to destroy me and not some kind of finish line.

A small hint: You might want to add explanation of the game controls and mechanics in game. Not everybody reads the page ;)

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Brilliant concept. The only thing I didn't like is that it could become tedious to get all the rubble after a while. Other than that, I loved it.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Very good use of Theme. Loved the scenery, the music and the overall game mechanics. Good Job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I don't have windows :(

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

really cool visuals and concept. The controls are way too difficult imho. Because you usually fly past the tiny things you want to pick up at very high speed making it very difficult to pick up stuff. Nice work tough :)

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

HOOOOLY CRAP it's so pretty! Katamari Damacy in space. That skybox alone should win you some kind of award.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Really nice! I enjoyed playing this a lot, and it's been put in my play later folder :)

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

This is probably my favourite so far. Lovely aesthetic, lovely ambiance, interesting gameplay. Floating space toilets :D

I did the first go trying to shed all the junk and had quite a bit of difficulty, then the second time I tried to collect as much junk as possible instead and had far more fun!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I really liked the idea of an anti-katamari game. Triggering things breaking off was a bit iffy, sometimes a collision would do nothing. Aside from that the game was pretty good. It looked quite nice, especially with all of the debris floating around.

Babek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Hi guys, thanks for these comments ! We'are actually polishing the game, this is a pre-release. The final version is coming out with mouse lock (more confortable). The explanations aren't implemented and we're realy sorry about that ! We're thinking to continue the game in post mortem and change a lot of things so stay awake for more informations !

Babek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

New and final version updated!
It's been a long week end! But so much fun to make one the most exciting activity of this 21st century, gaAaaAAAame jammmMmMMIIiIiinnN' !

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

Great looking game, pretty amusing game!

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

The ambiance was very pleasant even if the game is really hard to play.
Nice job overall :3

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

AWESOME! The lighting and models are nearly perfect. This thing is gorgeous! Needs some sfx to tie the action together for satisfying impacts. That would be my only complaint. Great interpretation of the theme!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14pm

OH, and the effect when you win is really well done.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Beautiful graphics and presentation. I'm assuming the game can be 'won'? (i.e., I'm just crap at playing it!) :D

Babek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Yes you can won the game, it can seems hard but when you play a little and understand some mechanics (gravity between planets and sun to get more speed and avoiding garbage) it's easier. You can restart the game if you're stuck, some stuffs are totally random.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Wish there was a bit more to it/more levels but great idea and execution.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I enjoyed doing the opposite to game objective. Collecting space rubbish just felt so right. Katamari in space!

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Looks so pretty both in visuals and animation. The ending was beautiful. At first I was trying to collect as much junk as possible. Reverse Katamari, neat!

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34am

Wow, I love this game planetary mechanics, I would like to have more levels to play with more destruction! hahaha :'D
explosions ,sounds, particles, add those please!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:28am

With a lot more junk it could be more fun !

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Interesting entry, but learning curve very steep :)

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Till the end of the game i had no idea how controls work, but they worked somehow and it was fun XD
And the graphics are cool!

GFM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:57pm

I liked the controls, though it made changing directions while maintaining velocity quite difficult. (at least, when I wanted to ram into planets xD)

Nice job. :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:23pm

WOW, you blew the doors off this Jam! The physics and graphics were fantastic! I like how you can hit the planets, slowing you down and knocking some junk off!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice work on the orbital physics!

DavidErosa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice game! I found it easy to control the "planet" but couldn't get rid of all the garbage...

Reminds me of my own game, but with 100x better graphics and one more dimension :)

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:40am

Really enjoyed the look and idea of this game, though found it very hard to get a sense of trajectory and control the collisions. Music was great, very 'Hawkwind'. If the controls and manouverability are tweaked this could be an enjoyable game. Graphics were good, was amused (trying to) drive a cluster of toilets and satellites around. Well Done =]

Hayawi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:38pm

It was a pretty cool game, but the fact that its only one level is a huge turn off

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Was nice to play, was a bit awkward to get rid of the garbage around me at points but it was pretty straight forward. Nice one.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:41am

pretty neat game -- little hard to figure out the control tho -- great job!

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:52am

Woah I did not expect that! Pretty cool game though very unique!

_Rilem says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Really loved swinging myself around to gain a lot of speed and then crashing into the planets :D
It is quite easy to finish, but definitely also very enjoyable.

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I found this rather difficult to play I'm afraid to say :-S the camera is behind the katamari so you can't actually see where you're going. This makes aiming at planets very difficult. Maybe make it slightly transparent? Nice looking and nice ambient music though :)

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:05am

Graphics are phenomenal, although the gameplay is a little weird. The black hole I thought would kill me for sure, but... it didn't.

mortus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Very nice looking game, couldn't finish it though. I had a form, I guess, stuck with me and no matter what I did it just won't go. Music reminded me of EVE Online, I think there was a similar track, nice space music.

davidpeter says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Beautiful graphics.

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Funny idea :)
The way garbage were or not thrown away was a bit strange. High velocity collisions didn't do much, while repeated small collisions did the job.
Also, the "hero" is in front of the camera which was annoying while aiming.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Hehe, it's like Katamari but in the space.
Good atmosphere!
Playing with gravity is a good idea however, it's not easy to control.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]