Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Unseen - Lamprabbit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My First Ludum Dare entry :) and my first ever (personal) released game to the public.

*EDIT* updated the builds with locked cursor and an esc button to quit the game. (Game remains the same)

CONTROLS
w - forward movement
s - backward movement
a - left movement
d - right movement
left mouse - pulse (used to see the world for a brief moment
right mouse - explosion (uncovers a portion of the world)
r - restart level
esc - exit game (will add this as a fix)

Instructions at the start of the game! Enjoy.
Don't forget to use the pulse and explosions otherwise it's extremely challenging!
Tips
Save an explosion til the end (you will need it to find yourself!

View Lamprabbit's journal. | View all entries by Lamprabbit

Ratings

Coolness57%
#29Mood3.98
#38Innovation4.06
#75Graphics4.04
#110Overall3.75
#443Audio2.88
#807Fun2.71
#899Humor1.79
#954Theme3.10

Comments

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

The link goes to a Bigpond page "The URL does not exist"

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Strange, works for me and everyone else who has played it. Maybe try again?!

William Bundy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

Could you possibly cross compile to linux? I can't run unity otherwise.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Same here, I have only Linux and I cannot play this, unfortunately.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46am

Beautiful game, cool idea. The pulse effect was a bit hard to read (maybe too fast ?) and some collisions were a bit off, but good work !

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

Really interesting aesthetic. It took me a bit to figure out what was going on though.

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

I played it for about 7 minutes and I like the idea, it is fascinating, like the film Constantine, you can see the other world or just feel it, it would be nice to see those demons fighting with a simple animation and a swords sound :D

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

This game is just awesome. Probably it would have been perfect for the Afterlife theme, but honestyl it's really good. Good job (but maybe it could be useful having a key for exiting while in fullscreen mode)

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

Very cool. The character design and environment is very interesting. The level design really sells the world. I'd love to see more! Kudos!

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

It was sometimes a little hard to tell what you were running into. Great concept!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

I think the collision for the main character is a little too big, I was exploring exploded/revealed sections of the map and had no idea why I was dying over and over again. Are there other things besides the red and white characters that can kill you?

Interesting idea and the mood is killer but I hate to say overall it's pretty frustrating to play. I think with some tuning and tweaking this could be really cool :)

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Cool idea, a little tough to play still often got clipped by something and died instantly. It would help if the tank traps were red to make it clearer they kill you instantly.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Excellent game. I liked when you had to use the explosions and then scenes from the battle appeared before your eyes, that was very cool.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

Really cool game I must say! The battlefield speaks for itself, really good mood. I'm not sure whether there was some reward for finding your body without dieing, but I missed it the first time because I didn't explode the final square. Nice work, especially for your first LD ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

Really outstanding game; well done! I was so shocked when I did the first explosion and found out where I was! I think I was happier when it was all just blank squares ;). Excellent graphics and the sounds developed the mood wonderfully.

Like other people, I had a few issues with collisions and the graphics sometimes had problems when I didn't play in the default res and fullscreen. My biggest complaint is probably frustration. I've played for about 45 minutes and I still can't find my body. I'm not sure if it's actually there or whether you are making a profound point about the fruitlessness of seeking to undo the past or something!

Anyhow overall an outstanding entry. Really, really impressed.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Great idea, but I found the battlefield too dense and the pulse effect wasn't clear and didn't linger long enough, could be my laptop. I came close to finishing, but gave up since I ran out of powers.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I just played again your game after some other LD entries. Just saying: awesome, awesome game, man.

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

Just added a Linux and MacOSX version for those who wanted it.
Thanks for all the crits and comments! this feels awesome!

Collision - defiantly makes my game very frustrating at time (I swear every time I hit something) I will cotinue to work on this game and post updates on @escpodgames & @LampRabbit

Finding your body - for some reason (changing background color at random) the glow isn't always obvious and on top of that you NEED to have an explosion to uncover him. Also he is always dead .. after all you are a spirit (stupid spirit)

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07am

Fantastic game, idea, gameplay and art! Nice job, dude!
Can't find my body yet, but I come back with this game later =)

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20am

Very innovative and great atmosphere.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice concept. I think you should have had a free to use pulse though

flyingrobot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

Wonderful concept. Looking forward to see this as a complete game.

shiprib says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02am

Great idea and mood! It is a little frustrating to navigate through though. I agree with Korda on the free pulse. Could be a very cool game!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02am

Very good game. Yes, there are some flaws but great overall (and a little disturbing in a good sense).

YM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40am

This is beautiful.

As everyone else says the collisions are _very_ unclear.

I must have been wandering around for half an hour, I can't find my body. I used up all my explosions, barely any of it is left still hidden and no sign of my body. I realised once I got to the opposite end that I didn't even know what I was looking for! What does MY body look like? How is it distinguished from the 50 or so I've left lying around the battlefield from stubbing my toe and falling to my death?

Anyway, this is really good and with a teeny bit more polish it could be great. :D

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Moody, very original and interesting. Pulse does not seem incredibly effective, perhaps needs to persist longer. Hit detection can also seem very unfair.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:51am

Really nice idea with some clean and wonderful graphics. Found the pulse to be very hard to use, but I guess that's the point :)

May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

Amazing work for 48 hours.

jwolf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:19am

Really neat idea, theme, and presentation, but rather frustrating as well. Like some of the others, I found the pulse too fast/difficult to see to be useful.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:39am

The atmosphere of this game is so good, especially the shock after the first explosion reveals where you are.

However, the collision detection make the game a lot more frustrating and trial-and-error prone than it should be. Most of the time I had an easier time finding my way when I didn't use the pulse or explosion, and just walked around my old dead bodies. Even after having beaten it a few times I'm still not sure what specifically kills you (Red things? Everything? Hitting things at high speed?).

After the first time I tried doing it faster, and then without dying a few times to see if the ending changed, but I guess it doesn't. Which is appropriate. Also, given that I tried for a solid half-hour on this game (longer than any other) suggests you're definitely doing something very right.

Lamprabbit says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:50am

@ I honestly can't see how anyone could play this for more than 5 mins .. and then quit. It frustrates me so much that I can just change one small value on the players collision :S would half the frustration level. But that's what you get for a very rushed game.
I have so many ideas for the full game and think the game mechanics lend itself to tell an interesting story ... where you might even miss parts of it and interrupt it as something it's not.
Hitting any living being kills you but the collision needed to be smarter OR even have health so you could hit three of the red or white guys.
Glad it can still be enjoyed :)

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:13am

The art is fantastic! I am sad to say I had a lot of trouble figuring out exactly why I was dying; so perhaps some feedback from the body that killed me would be good. I also think the pulse should have been free; it was frustrating being stuck somewhere with no visible solution. The mood and tone were excellent, and definitely built an environment I wanted to explore. Very cool!

nicso says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:19pm

cool concept but controls aren't really good enougth :(
The mood of the game is really great!

nuprahtor says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Yes

reverso13 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Fantastic work.

Husky says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:56pm

It's really really a impressive one.
The concept is amazing, and the expression is good.
I love the mood, it's the best I ever played this time.
I press R for several times, but I still can't save myself...
Not sure where goes wrong...
Anyway, great work!:D

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:08am

I am pretty confident that none of the bodies were mine. I uncovered the whole battlefield other than about 4 tiles. Can you win by touching your body even if the body isn't 'discovered'? Otherwise, great game, and I ended up playing for way too long.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]