April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Touch Blocks, Avoid Spikes

by ecbambrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple puzzle game. You must touch each of the coloured blocks within the allotted number of turns without touching any spikes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#28Audio3.97
#47Graphics4.16
#60Overall3.89
#95Theme4.11
#158Mood3.47
#211Innovation3.59
#253Fun3.35
#1015Humor1.55

Comments

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38am

I can't start it. It crashes at startup :( (got the zip from github)

ecbambrick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

@whitetigle I've updated the zip to display the error message when running. Could you try redownloading it and telling me what the error says? Thanks.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

This is the error I have when trying the .exe: http://i.imgur.com/72Jyykf.png

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

I really like the graphical style.

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

This was a lot of fun to play. Very cool controls.

ecbambrick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

@adnzzzzZ Thanks. I'm not sure what is causing the problem as it should be runnable on either 64 or 32 bit systems. I'll have to look into further.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

I love the aesthetic. Pretty cool mix of puzzle and timing.
Also sup from AGDG.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

This was reaaally really good. I couldn't pass level 11 I think, but up to that point the game was really impressive and fit the theme pretty well. One expansion of this would be to have make levels such that the final (and only) sequence that can beat the level creates an actual small song. Although then the game would be much more about timed execution without any time to stop in between moves... Anyway, good job!

Also, your piano reminded me of this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNxqwEqu7rg

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

That was nice, The music and graphics were excellent.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Love the graphics and the gameplay! Very unique and fun, and the musical notes really add a bow on top!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Very inovative. I loved the piano sounds. It was very calming at first, but the later levels really raise the curve. Not impossible, but hard.

ALSO you should make it more apparent that you have the .love file. That way mac/linux people can play it too if they have love. Nice work!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Nice entry, good seeing an AGDG'er going into LD48!

gregdevice says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55am

Really like it, simple and elegant. Nice work on the sound!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

The music and art were fantastic, I love the tone sequence paired with moves; it greatly enhances the feeling of accomplishment. A very relaxing play, great job.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

I only made it as far as level 8 before rage quitting, but it's a great little game with awesome sound design and visuals that sit really well with the theme.

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

I at times I felt like I was playing a rhythm game. Awesome sounds.
The art works really well and everything seems polished up.
Well done.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

I can't download it somehow... The .zip file is corrupted o.O

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Very elegant and aesthetically pleasing little puzzle. Got difficult very fast, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. :)

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Nice game, pretty graphics, cool particles.

Nice to watch your progress in AGDG

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Really nice game, looks sweet and sounds great. Nice mechanics too. Great work!

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

This is so pleasing to both ears and eyes. Fantastic!

McBeef says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

beautiful graphics and sound. I liked the concept, but I feel the skill and reflexes bit don't fit the overall mood and puzzly genre of the game.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Interesting combination of puzzle-game and reflex-platformer. The 3D effect confused me at first as to which square I was actually on, though. But very nice aesthetics!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

The only problem I had was with the controls. I would sometimes move a space too many because I would hold down a key for a half second too long. Besides that, the graphics and sound were calming and beautiful and the levels thoughtfully designed.

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19am

Really nice job man!

I think I might've appreciated it more if it were purely a puzzle game, but that may just be because I'm bad at dodging spikes. Got to level 8 before I gave up.

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Great puzzle game idea, and I love the idea of piano notes associated with keys, it's like sound and gameplay mix each other, you "play" the game in both ways

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Cool idea, but I gave up in the third round :P

paulopn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

That's great! I really liked the use of piano notes!
One thing though: sometimes I accidentally moved twice in quick sucession, because the game apparently doesn't wait for a "key up" between moves. Just a minor nitpick, great game overall!

oatsbarley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:15pm

This is great! Lovely graphics and audio, and a really clever mechanic.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Interesting music game, quite challenging. It's fun to play.

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:52am

Stage 8 beat me. Unique gameplay, feels very polished, and great graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]