April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BASHLAND - Breakout Mario Mashup

by McFunkypants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BASHLAND - Breakout Mario Mashup

Use the keyboard to move left or right as you bounce chaotically around a hand-painted art universe.

Programmed in HTML5 using Ludus, my platformer starter kit, which itself uses jawsjs (canvas) and howlerjs (sound), Bashland is a mixture of breakout/arkanoid brick-bashing with Mario/Sonic style platformer mechanics.

The layout is responsive (resolution-independent) so feel free to [F11] fullscreen your browser if you want the full experience.

The painted art is inspired by Piet Mondrian's use of squares of colour interspersed with lines, and was created using Corel Paint's simulated oil paint system. I also relied upon my trusty old gamedev toolbox which contains Notepad++, Filezilla FTP, Photoshop and Sony Acid Pro 6 for music.

I had so much fun making this game that I'm seriously considering polishing it over the next few weeks and releasing it on various app stores with tons more levels.

#POTATO challenge: success!
#1GAM April entry: Done!

I love Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#121Graphics3.86
#152Overall3.67
#156Fun3.51
#185Innovation3.63
#210Audio3.29
#234Mood3.31
#444Humor2.40
#505Theme3.58

Comments

Taro Omiya says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

A mesmerizing game, gorgeous and very beautiful.

A lot of times, though, this game felt like a "hold the right key to win." I dunno if that's the fault of the game mechanic, or the level design.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

Very interesting and inspiring game mechanics here. Too easy though, a harder version would make more sense (with less "bricks" to break, so you have to be quick - it's a level design issue). Waaaaay too many particles too, but that's fine :D

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

very nice! most playable game I've seen so far

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

I like the use of colors and the concept, but the camera follows the character a bit too closely making it uncomfortable to play for too long.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

This is awesome! I love it when a clever mechanic is allowed to shine through a good implementation. Everything is tops, good job.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Pretty nice overall :)

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

I liked the nice ambient music. It was a bit amusing how far you could get just by holding right and doing nothing else until the end of the levels though.

It would be interesting to see expanded a bit, perhaps with powerups or enemies (although I guess that would break the minimalism somewhat).

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Really cute! It felt crisp and breaking the blocks was satisfying! I liked the visuals and the sounds - the ambient music was minimal and complemented the the game nicely. Well done, mr. McFunkypants!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Quiet enjoyable

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

It took me ages to finish a level as I was having so much fun bashing in to everything! Well done sir! :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

This fells like a fun reverse version of breakout. Nice work!

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

This engine feels pretty nice and the game concept is pretty cool. The music you gave it doesn't quite get into the whole "I'm bashing everything in my path". Loved those easter eggs!

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Very well done. Really like the particle trail. It has a good platformer feeling to it with strategy need to make sure I can clear the whole screen :)

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Beautiful and quite fun, particles ftw!

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

This game is tons of fun. i really enjoyed this mix of breakout and super mario. well done! sound and graphics are very nice. i especially love that you can play fullscreen in the browser game. one of my favorite LD games this year

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Wow the best game so far. I relay like it! It's so smooth but to easy. I want more levels. I understand the time constraint though ;)

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

very cool! I loved the particles and music. Great job sir!

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

That's... quite a lot of particles you've got there. Would love to see a polished up version with some more complicated/difficult levels.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Lovely colors and overall game, but I didn't have the patience to break all the blocks...

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Ripping through the house on the potato level is one of the most gratifying things I have ever experienced.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Awesome particles! :D

The mechanic is novel, and there's certainly scope to add more depth, but maybe it is a bit too easy currently. A way to rack up insane combos, gaining momentum and getting into a state of flow would be sweet.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

This is the game you wished you were playing all those times you played breakout. I enjoyed gradually realizing what I was looking at, and learning to ride up through objects instead of just bouncing off them.

Interesting emergent mechanic (maybe you intended this): while 1-ups didn't seem to matter much but if you try to go through the level destroying EVERYTHIGN you quickly find that dying means the end.

Very very nice. 48 hours? You are a hero.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

Nice graphics and particle effects.
The gameplay was quite fun, however the levels become unwinnable if certain blocks are broken, especially when it is right underneath where you start the level.

Husky says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

It's so fun to play Super Mario's level this way lol.
Good job!

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

Cool particles and simple gameplay. The best part was getting wedged between a large stack of blocks and just seeing the particles go everywhere. Good job.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01am

Really minimalistic =) Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:22am

Enjoyed your take on Mario, haha. Great job. Loved the physics of bouncing around.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

Loved the finger-painted backgrounds. Good fun, thanks!

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12am

Very nice combination of sound and visuals .

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12am

The level designs in this game really sell the experience! It would be one thing to just have a game about bashing blocks, but the designs really are clever and unique.

The graphics are a lot of fun, and the sounds give it that extra oomph to top it off. Great job!

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

Looks great and plays well. It also satisfied my need for a bit of destruction this morning, nice work :)

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48am

Original mix of gameplay, it's fun to only jump all over the green pipes but right now I think it lacks of other goals.

Xgor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

Would be nice if there actually was some difference between the different coloured blocks, Would add a lot. Right now it's just press right key to win..

svenardo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Beautiful. Agree that it would add to the game if different colored blocks affected the behaviour, but that's just an option to improve the game. Like it a lot

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Pros: Nice graphics and solid controls. The feel of the physics was spot on!
Cons: Got a bit repetetive

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Brilliant. As others have said, a little too easy, but that wouldn't be a difficult problem to solve.

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Great work from 1GAM's chief awesome!

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

The level graphics, player graphics, music and sound effects, while great on their own don't really mix very elegantly. Also there is hardly any challenge, most of the time all I had to do was keep right pressed.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very fun and a great twist on the classic.

michail says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

+ Nice bricks graphics
- too many particles
- no challenge at all

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Awesome! Mario wishes he was that cool. Finished it, which is nice.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

This was a lot of fun and beautifully done. Love the painted squares. I really liked the particles too, but felt they didn't match the painted squares. I would have liked to see the particles a little less sparkly and more like the painted squares (like paint chips flying off). I would definitely play this again though. Nice job.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

REALLY, REALLY COOL. Good job :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Not too bad, I guess. My major issue with it is the lack of a worthwhile or well defined goal. If you wanted the player's goal to be to get to the end of each level, then that's a pretty weak goal, just hold right. If you wanted it to be to break all the blocks, then there really isn't much motivation to do that.

P.S. Piet Mondrian would never use the color green, muahahaha.

netguy204 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01am

This is a beautiful game... it's been said already by many reviewers but that is my strongest impression. The visual impact and curb appeal of this game is fantastic. Your use of the visual aspect of the theme is really top notch. The paint stroke edges and splotchy background really fit. You are a master of polish.

The level design made me laugh on several occasions. The colors totally fit together... in all, very pretty.

But, there wasn't much emergent fun to the gameplay (though, I definitely did go back and try to bash as much as I could... and ended up stranding myself. There's emergence through environment manipulation!) I think some additional elements from breakout and mario could have really enhanced the spice of the leve progression.

For example: A powerup that gives multiple balls (amplifying my destructive power but ultimately forcing me to choose which one to save.) Variation from the terrain would be interesting (super bouncy blocks... low bounce blocks...) There's really no difficulty progression in the game itself, though the meta-game (bashing blocks) provides no end of self imposed difficulty. It's a good game I think you've found a good place where you are and you may find that the additional weight of would direct in-game variety would ultimately distract from the meta-game.

Well done. I enjoyed this. Also, I greatly appreciate your support of the community. I almost certainly wouldn't be here if it wasn't for your encouragement. Rock on.

cwilloughby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

Cool! Liked the concept and the art. Loved that I could recognize some mario elements. Felt awesome to break through a bunch at once. More variety to this would add a bunch. Good job!

Nsmurf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30am

Gah! The lag!

Dmitrix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03am

Looks nice and it's fun to play. :D

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:24am

Really relaxing game, though I had trouble getting into it at first since I wasn't sure if I should destroy everything or keep moving. Once I let go of the "must do perfect run" mentality though it worked quite well.

ananasblau says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:50am

Haha, a Super Mario level. Awesome, even though you could have done so much more sparkly particles. Sound-wise different tones for different blocks is what I missed, but I know HTML5 has some limitations with sound. Great game and almost perfect.
I wouldn't expand it much, maybe just adjust how the player hits objects, with a little bounce here you could create levels that go up or down instead of just sideways.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Great game. LOVE the particles. First two levels felt too easy. Overall great polish and a lot of fun to play.

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Very nice indeed. You should definitely polish this and release it!

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Wowzers, is this game polished! I agree with many others that my fun was the willy-nilly destruction. My dream level would actually be to destroy all the destructible blocks instead, and thus having to plan routes beforehand. 6:< And I found myself longing for the classical Mario soundtracks as I was playing, hehe, as nice as the lazery audio aesthetic for this was--maybe consider a child of the two? (:

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Awesome graphics, very fun!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I can see this as a mobile app, yeah. Just needs a bit more variety, more meaningful uses for the breaking mechanic. I particularly like the audio.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great game! Graphics are awesome and the gameplay is very good. Perhaps it's a bit too easy though.

Good job!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice game, amazing music. Really top entry. Nice job.

chowdy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25am

Very pretty game!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:36am

Ah ! Finally a platform game that fits the theme ! Very well executed and polished. A pro work ;) Congrats

deige101 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:07pm

cool idea, loved it!

S0larCode says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Absolutely stunning! A bit short though...

May 2, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Looks and feels great, has lots of fun potential! Full screen mode worked awesome. Reminds me a bit of the game I made, don't blame me if I put breakable blocks in the next version. ;) I feel like I got stuck after I beat the level a few times so I had to stop playing. It would have been nice to see you explore your idea more, it seems like there's a lot more you could do with it.

Zccc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:00pm

It lacks better physics so the bouncing gets more enjoyable, and diferent level design so you won't win just by pressing right... Still a good ideia.

yokcos700 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Could have used a bit more indication of where incoming platforms are, and upon death, the material of the level doesn't reset. The first time, that resulted in me being dunked into a hole at me spawn location.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very very pretty, and quite fun. Nicely done!

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I like this nice and simple concept and realisation!

May 2, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I love the particles and the look of the game (it was colorful)... Although I got a little lag when I make the player go above the screen then bouncing down. Regardless of the little lag, I've had fun playing game.

hissssssssss says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59am

I think a few different directions to the levels would have been nice. It seemed like even if I hit bricks on the side, I would still move forward, instead of bouncing back like I expected to. If the bouncing mechanic were refined a bit, levels could go vertical as well as horizontal.

ovenchips says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:23am

Lovely - you've conjured a great aesthetic here. I just wish it was longer (but that's a good thing, right?) :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:47am

Nice One! so fun to play and wild idea!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:16am

Nice looking, although there's nothing much to do. No problem, nothing to solve, just press right key to finish the level.

zazery says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:34am

Beautiful game. The levels were very entertaining to play with the low passage ways so you'll rapidly destroy blocks to break up the pacing.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:43am

Really nice game, thanks! ;)
Almost qualifies for a one-button game, since most part of the game can be passed by just holding the forward button. Very minimalistic! ;)
The music/sound/graphics creates a great mood, so you've got a 5 there.

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:31am

Wow, clearly an impressive entry.

The game gets harder each time you die though, since most likely you missed a jump and destroyed either the take off or landing location when you died. Makes me want to restart the game rather then keep trying.

kyyninen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:42am

Fun mechanic! It runs a bit slow but playable on my computer. (Chrome/win7) There's so much particles that sometimes it's pretty hard to figure out where exactly your ball is going!

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:48am

Loved the look and sound. And while it was fun, it seemed "too easy", though I doubt that difficulty was a goal. Fun. Fun. Fun!

wzl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Great entry! I love your mashup, really quite the idea. The abundant use of particles makes it pretty hard to focus your ballthingy when just bouncing up and down, and the physics didn't seem quite right. What i miss in this game is a kind of challenge, since press and hold the right arrow key pretty much wins the game. Different blocks could have different properties, like green is extrabouncy, so you have to use a patch of green to get over an obstacle, if you 'use up' all green blocks you'll have to find a different route or restart. stuff like that to just get a little more variation into gameplay, to keep things fresh.
The art choise is pretty nice, and i loved how you boxed the tiles. And i only now realize on the screenshots that you tried to make actual shapes of it (i did realize the house though xD)
Good stuff!

Muu? says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:39pm

A simple game and a lot of juicyness. You should really consider making it a full game.

I rage quitted at level 3 because I died twice and after the third playthrough there was no way to reach the second platform. This should be improved.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The feeling is great. Controls are good.
Level design deserves a bit more love. I think it should be tad harder or more challenging, otherwise it just feels like I'm on a relaxed-mode kind of experience.

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice entry. Too bad there wasn`t more levels, left me wanting more. :)

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:33pm

This is such a cool idea and really fun to play.
Loved it :D

Jacic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very fun, amazing idea! :)

BenW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:06pm

This game has a really nice look to it and I appreciated the references in the level design. Unfortunately I didn't feel like there was any challenge to the game. I'll keep an eye on it if you do stick with it.

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:09pm

The concept is pretty good, the art style is really nice and I love the particle effects on the player/ball. As for suggestions I would say maybe add some enemies since the brick breaking does get mundane at times.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:16pm

A lot easy but a very fun game.

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I really liked this game, the gameplay touched the right buttons with me. I wish it had MORE PARTICLES when you break a bunch of blocks at once, but then I would just like it more.

I didn't like the background much... maybe something with a similar feel to the foreground would be better. As it stands, I think the background stands out a bit too much.

Also, it seems to be possible to lock yourself out from winning the game, if you destroy certain ledges and die. I got on a situation where I would die automatically whenever I respawned, because I had nothing to bounce on.

A game over screen, or a button/option to reset the level would have been welcome here.

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Nice concept & graphics :)

FREEZX says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:04pm

A very interesting game, innovative and very fun to play. Awesome work on the responsive layout, felt like i was playing a desktop game.

GertJohnny says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:49am

It looked nice, but it felt very easy to play. I just held down the right key and made it to the end with little extra effort. It would be neat with some challenge thrown in.

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:35pm

My thoughts are the same as many others already, great style, lacking gameplay.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The particle trail effect is rather nice too. Very playable, could do with being more challenging, but ultimately rather enjoyable.

YsenGrimm says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Great game, but its way too short :(

GaTechGrad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:35am

I never knew that destroying Mushroom Kingdom with a bouncy supernova could be so fun.

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:30pm

not very challenging but great fun! I really like the particles!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Bouncing off of broken blocks alerted me. If you continue to develop this, it was not clear to me what kind of metaphor expresses this mashup of mechanisms.

May 13, 2013 @ 1:32pm

It looks really cool, but it was actually kind of boring... The repeated sound effects got kind of annoying, and there just wasn't much to do. Don't get me wrong, it was still really cool, maybe just not my cup of tea. I enjoyed the little mario reference toward the end. :)

JohnnySix says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:14am

It'd be cool with a couple of unbreakable blocks - after several deaths the 3rd level becomes impossible to get across.

Liked the combos when the ball/player got stuck inside stuff. :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice graphics effects.

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Interesting mashup idea and good graphics and sound but the levels weren't particularly challenging.

May 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

lol i thought it was fairly simple. I guess that's where the minimal part is. the feel was nice, and the programming was solid. i didn't feel like i glitched anywhere or got lost figuring stuff out. yay!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:06am

This was pretty cool! Although I just accidentally the whole level.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Loved the feeling when the ball got stuck and teared apart the bricks! Great stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]