April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bipolar

by Squared Muffin - Jam Entry

POST-JAM FIX: A lot of people were having difficulty completing the game, so we compiled an easier version, with more help text and easier challenges! If you want the original hardcore version, play the second web link ;)

Bipolar is physics puzzler game about a robot whose arms get into an accident and become wrongly polarized.
Now he must return to the factory where he was created to fix himself.

Ahead lie many challenges that are hard for a robot with swapped magnets.

Left click and Right click to activate each magnet.
Magnets have limited range (If you're in range your sight will change)

WASD to move around.
Fullscreen recommended.
Web version is the optimal version, use windows if web doesn't work properly.

We hope you enjoy it as much as we did making it.

PS. There's a hidden potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#5Innovation(Jam)4.25
#49Overall(Jam)3.78
#68Fun(Jam)3.56
#113Mood(Jam)3.49
#123Audio(Jam)3.43
#154Graphics(Jam)3.67
#234Humor(Jam)2.29
#321Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

Very fun game but couldn't figure out the second puzzle on the second level. GREAT GOB!!!

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Cool concept, a little hard to control though - I felt like I couldn't always successfully use my magnets. Maybe I was doing something wrong.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Im sure you did nothing wrong. The game was made as a puzzle so sometimes attraction is disabled at a certain distance

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Sometimes the magnets did not work...but I understood the concept and it was fun until then!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Great idea. Physics and control could need some refinement. I didn't realized the glass wall in the first room, took me some time. Jumping was pretty difficult.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

Love this game. very nice concept and cool idea. reminds me a bit of portal. this cool be the next portal :)

docix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:38pm

A little hard to control. I think the core concept is good, just needs more time to be developed. And there was a ton of camera work that could be done, as I feel like I spent way too much time looking at the floor and ceiling. LOVE the concept though! Nice work!

iamwhosiam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I couldn't figure the very first part out :( I was holding the mouse button on the blue pad and I was sliding forward then nothing else happened.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:42pm

@iamwhosiam: You have to use your left hand to pull yourself up. The closer you are to the magnet the stronger the force will be

AlanZucconi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:44pm

An interesting concept!
It remembers me of Antichamber! :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Very cool - I'm impressed with what you managed to put together here in 72 hours. The Portal influences are clear, but this feels fresh and new. Nice work!

anjack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:08am

Excellent first-person-puzzler! You came up with a lot of good levels in a short time. Good job!

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37am

Incredible! I played "web ('original entry/hardcore')" for a fair rating. I managed to reach the end. And it's very, very good! They always say first person platforming hard to do right, but the push-pull 'jump' repulsion thing felt good, and works pretty well. With more time I can see it could have been tightened up. Other parts control a bit worse (loosely), like the walking, and wall collisions were a bit soft and loose.
Getting past the swinging bar magnet right after the potato was tough, but kind of good as it made me more familiar with the bar magnet. The holy singing potato voice got annoying after I fell in like 38 times, though. :D
Only a few things I didn't like: I didn't give a very high score for graphics because it was too high contrast - I realise this was to do with theme, etc, but lowering the saturation or lighting it a bit more naturally would really help make it easier to play for longer. My eyes started to hurt (although, maybe because I've been staring at a screen for 5 days with not much sleep ;). Relatedly, the areas where the lights were just turned off: that felt a bit cheap. However the jumping sequence was good there for some reason, despite being a pain to see anything. Lastly, the variable magnet strength is offputting, especially when it's really powerful room-leaping pulls one second, and barely reaching something 2 metres away straight after.
But, still, these things didn't stop me enjoying it, and it's the best game I've seen so far! Great job!

May 2, 2013 @ 12:48am

@acro Thanks for writting such a compreensive post! You wrote a really in-depth review and we really appreciate your criticism! Thanks for playing :)

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:24am

The clang sound effect made my ears bleed (not literally but sheesh.) I found it pretty annoying that the distance the magnets worked out was so random, I ended up frustrated and just stopped. I personally don't think it's very good design to make the player re-learn the mechanic so much, especially without any sort of indicator as to why things are different. But it was a really cool concept, would have been nice to be able to jump at least a little bit though, movement just felt bad for me. But, might just be a personal taste thing.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:37am

EPIC! You did a fantastic job on this!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Epic idea. Just epic. When i realized what i could do i was impressed. Great idea!!!

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice. Found it difficult to control though.

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I liked this a lot, although I did have a bit of an issue with lag. It wasn't my computer (AFAIK), unless there's an issue with Unity Web Player and Macs... any idea why this may not be working?

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Pretty interesting gameplay concept once you get used to it plus the level design was quite clever.

iamorim says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:42am

I remembered Antichamber while playing your game. Maybe the controls are a little hard, I don't know. But the idea, the graphics are great!
And I couldn't play it on Windows. There was message saying that the folder was not found but it was there O.O. Take a look at it.

May 3, 2013 @ 7:45pm

@iamorim Hum... well, hopefully you will read this. Inside your Bipolar1_0_Data folder, there should be an output_log.txt, if you could get me that file it would be great! It should have the error log :)

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:50am

As per the rules I am reviewing you off the jam version and... dang that was really really amazing. It felt like it could use a tiny bit of beta testing, but honestly the difficulty I thought was great. IMO most reviewers of LD are reviewing casually which is fine but it make a challenging game often get marked down undeservingly.

I've got to say this game was really impressive, the only comfort I could take that made me less jealous was to appreciate that you guys had a decent sized team. Which is cool, you guys clearly work very well together.

Anyway if you plan on developing this game further I'm definitely interested to see more. Great work!

Patacorow says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:42am

Very, very good! A small suggestion: make spacebar the detach button instead of mouse.
Very interesting concept, lovely design and great puzzles.

jtzp4 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very nice. I also like the music which is totally adapted to the mood. There are even idle animations for the character! Great job!

May 7, 2013 @ 2:38pm

@Patacorow That's actually a great idea! Thanks! We'l probably steal it if you don't mind :P

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:00pm

It goes to my favorites bookmarks. I played original version and it is hardcore indeed. I spent about 10 minutes just to climb up the stairs. Anyway, concept and realisation just great! Music is beatiful.
I felt a little influence of Mirror's Edge ;)

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:55pm

One of my favorites in this LD. In the original version, it's hard to figure out stuff so I went to the new one and enjoyed it very, very much. It still has glitches which can be worked on. Super cool entry!

goerp says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:47pm

So good it's something to tell my non-ludum friends about.
This has a great Portal feel to it (So I expect to see it in Steam this year :))

Well done!

PS: I do agree that the metal clang sound gets annoying.

May 11, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I loved the game, really great concept.

Two gripes though; the motion blurring killed my framerate, would've been nice to be able to turn it off. And in the original entry the magnets didn't seem to work correctly, for some reason I just stood on the ground and slid towards the center of the room.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Amazing entry! Loved the concept.

rzfmzn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:40am

Kinda Hard, but I like the idea =O)

Parabol says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:22am

Great game. Interesting puzzles.

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:10am

Awesome game. I didn't find it too hard. But it was a lot of fun. And if you don't make this into a full game, then what's wrong with you. This is probably my favorite game (mustache armies was good too :). You did an amazing job :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:56am

Very very very good entry.
Gameplay is crazy awesome.
It's a great experience like Portal.
Very hard also, I've not been able to solve the darkness room.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Madball says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:24pm

It`s surprising to see a so finished game made in 72 hours. The idea is great, puzzles are interesting, execution is perfect. Make sure you take is further.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great concept...but very hard. I'm not sur to understand the link with the theme but the game works. Good job.

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice entry. :)

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:05pm

You will make a full game right?
I mean you have to. When you do, please post a link on this page.

May 16, 2013 @ 3:04pm

@ahm99 Given all the feedback we've been receiving, we're seriously looking into making it happen for sure! The team is super motivated, and we'll have a long talk about the future of Bipolar very soon. Keep an eye on gaming media, and this page for further updates on the project!

Aevek says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:07am

Amazing concept and amazing game. I somehow managed to escape levels a couple of times my repelling against some of the stronger magnets and clipping through the floor, though.

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Please make this into a real game. Very Portal-esque.

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Excellent game, a bit rough but super interesting gameplay that kept me trying until I reached the end (hardcore version ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]