April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Path

by apenasisso - 48 Hour Compo Entry

That is it!
Path is a game where you need to make your own path to go to the next level.
It is a very simple game, try it! =)

Path was made with Unity 4.1 Pro (trial from Ludum Deals, cool!)
Music "made" with Autotracker-C (Incredible tool!)
SoundFX with Bfxr (Another incredible tool!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#90Innovation3.84
#416Overall3.30
#437Theme3.65
#448Fun3.10
#706Graphics2.84
#724Audio2.42
#824Mood2.61
#858Humor1.84

Comments

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

very cool idea

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Cool idea but the execution with the walls is absolutely horrendous. Everything is the same color so making sure that you don't hit the walls is even harder.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

Best application of the theme I've found so far. Figuring out where exactly to stop to hit the cylinder is a bit tricky though..

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

Nice idea! The perspektive makes aiming impossible, though. This is like an MC-Esher-Painting

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Nice idea! The camera makes the aiming somewhat random, i don't know how close i can get to the wall before dying.

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

The idea is great indeed.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Awesome game! I believe that controls needs some improvements but it's really fun, because is hard and challenging. Good job!

PapaGrimbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very cool game. As some others mentioned, the perspective and lack of tools/reference to show us depth (shadows) made it really difficult to connect to the cylinder.

ttakamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice job guys, your strong point was definitely the Theme. Great way to catch about minimalism.

jhonpi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Nice idea, simple and fun. The perspective didn't help, maybe showing a horizontal plane grid would improve that issue. Well done.

santovirus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

Marble Madness feelings, but not!

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

This mechanic is awesome! At the end I think I spent more than one minute just playing with it, if you take more time with it, you can make a real jewel!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Nice concept! I wish I could have some feedback on the 3D... on the first levels, when there isn't much to compare to while "navigating", i caught myself zigging ans zaggind till I could find the damn pipe... hehe
The loud sound effect of the character bumping in the wall made me jump on the first time... :P

quantumryan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:37pm

This is pretty cool. I agree, its a bit of trial and error for understanding where you're at and how you relate to it. I'd suggest, walls have a stripe that aligns with your trail level. same with Cylinders, just for style.
Maybe also a transparent grid plane that moves with the trail?

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:47am

Excellent minimalism game. Too bad there is no color to make the game more friendly and beautiful. Some sort of shading to help understand the position in the 3D space could be great too. Anyway excellent game !

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:51am

Very fun! I wish there were more levels actually. Fantastic use of theme.

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:51am

Nice game. I get confused by the perspective from time to time though. I never knew if I'm already inside the wall or not. But I played through it anyhow. Great job! Btw. I got approx. -8600 points!

May 5, 2013 @ 8:37am

Great -- perception of cylinders was a problem at first, but I suspect with more levels that could be taken advantage of. Super fun though.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Really interesting and fun, but soooo hard to guage the depth or distance of the obstacles...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]