April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Double Hydra

by CosmicAdventureSquad - Jam Entry

Description
==========
A simple game in a minimal art style composed of circles and components of circles. You control a two-headed dragon protecting his hoard of treasure from the heroes.

Controls
==========
Up/Down or W/S: move
Left/Right or A/D: directional shooting
Space: flip

Credits
==========
Vu (Stregawolf): Art
Rose (Rosypenguin): Programming
Johan (Tenlki): Music

This is our fourth LD together, and we decided to swap roles a bit as an added learning challenge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#56Graphics(Jam)4.14
#64Overall(Jam)3.71
#102Innovation(Jam)3.51
#105Fun(Jam)3.38
#115Audio(Jam)3.46
#184Theme(Jam)3.52
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#299Humor(Jam)2.03

Comments

cacciatc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

Nicely polished. That is one good looking Hydra!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

I love the art style you chose and the core mechanic seems good. I wish the game could have progressed a bit faster, though.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Very nice looking and professional. My one problem with it is that the difficulty stays the same and that makes it get very boring after a while.

Jacic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Very, VERY polished! Easy contender for best Jam game! :)

My only complaint is that the difficulty doesn't scale (haha, pun) up fast enough.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

Games like these remind me just how simple they can be and still be fun, nice to look at and profound. I tend to make things too complicated all the time. Very polished game. The difficulty or pacing is an issue. One suggestion might be to break up the gameplay into levels. The first levels are getting the player comfortable with the gameplay and the other levels start adding difficulty. It would help to keep the player interest methinks. Overall, a great looking game!

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Lovely art style! As others have said the difficulty doesn't increase fast enough.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Strange game! Those graphics are very nice and quite iconic! Love the sound design.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

Ack, we realized that we screwed up some numbers on the difficulty timing and we just pushed up a quick bugfix. Thanks for the comments!

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30am

Excellent visual design, with a great central mechanic. You even managed multiple enemy types! Top work - and clever reflecting switched dev roles in the game.

Luxorix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

"+" : Interesting and high quality.
"-" : The difficulty is not increased.

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Really addictive and unique idea!

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51am

From a very simple core idea you've managed to make a rather frantic and fun game. I really like the art style, and the music is nice too. After a bit of a slow start the difficulty began to ramp up quickly and I was soon overwhelmed by enemies too great in number to hit accurately. The flipping mechanic really adds to the game and makes it require a lot more skill. The only complaint I have is that the hydra takes two rows worth of space but is only vulnerable on the top one. While this makes sense mechanically, it caused me a bit of confusion in trying to dodge and aim.

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

very cool! I really like the art style and the progression of enemies introduced throughout the game

axcho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

Wow, I love the art style! It's so cool to styles that have formal constraints along the lines of pixel art but aren't actually pixel art - maybe I should try it sometime. :) I also really appreciate the simplicity of the gameplay system - it feels like something I could have programming on my graphing calculator back when I was in middle school (nostalgia!).

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Very nice work! Good variety of enemies and fun gameplay.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Interesting concept. Some sort of tutorial would be nice. Really liked graphics and sound design.

dissonance says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Very clean and polished. Was fun, even though it was confusing the hell out of my hand when switching. Good job!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Cool mechanic, like a minimal medieval Ikaruga. The circle-based vector art is lovely; kudos on the style.

At some point I got down to about four stacks of gold clumped at the bottom of the screen, and at that point it wasn't too difficult to defend them and disregard all the activity at the top of the screen. It feels like maybe you're limiting the total number of enemies on the screen?

The dragon's tail initially made it hard to tell where my hitbox was and where I'd be spitting fireballs. It might be helpful if the tail was shorter or transparent.

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:17am

Very nice game! Simple but effective use of the switching heads mechanic make this game really smooth to play

GFM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice game.

I just think that enemies should also only damage the hydra half with the same color.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Great job !
I like it !

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Awesome concept! Simple yet challenging enough to keep you thinking :D Great art style and I was happy to see different enemy unit types! Great job!

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Nice art & concept :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53am

Unique idea well applied on fun gameplay. Very nice, really liked it.

jwolf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very neat and stylish. It could use a few difficulty tweaks (felt two easy if you get down to two adjacent gold piles) and maybe a later enemy type that switches lanes if it gets to the center. Other than that, well done!

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:12am

I like the graphic style and music!
Great work!:D

aeveis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:49pm

It gets quite hard for me (Maybe I just get confused with controls as there are more people) so I think the difficulty might be where you want it. Very nice art!

sboerwinkle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Neat idea, and the graphics were great. A way to get hearts back would be nice, but other than that I think I just need practice.

Jod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Looks good, love the styling, very cool. Immediatly recognized the knights and wizards and everything.

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:19am

Nice game. Really liked the medieval art style and music. The mechanics were nice too.

brxtr says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:19am

Nice idea and a pretty elegant design with a decent amount of variety for its short development time. The audio is fitting, although the lack of a sound effect for any type of death felt weird and I don't think the audio builds up a suitable amount of tension for when the player is nearing death. I think the visuals (cool graphics style) could be more polished, for example, a more fitting typeface for the score and perhaps more gradual movement for Hydra, rather than moving in noticeable steps.

shawn42 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Very cool. The controls almost have a QWOP feel to them. I could never quite dial in my muscle memory, I think that's what makes the game challenging. Nice work.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:50am

This was a very solid game. I never played a game quite like it so I am giving you full points for innovation.

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Every aspect of this game was great for me. Excellent teamwork.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]