April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A-Void

by kingsman142 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are set in space (a void). Your objective is to avoid the obstacles. Haha, get get the title now? The further you get, the higher your score is.

I enjoy reading all comments, even if they're off topic. I encourage you, the player, to comment below, even if it's just to say "Hello."

May 2, 2013 *UPDATED LINKS*: I updated the links to use Dropbox instead of 4shared. Also, I added a MAC OS/X .app link. I'm not sure how .app files are uses, but I put it there just in case. Please allow 10-15 seconds for download to begin if it hasn't already.

May 5, 2013 *UPDATED LINKS*: I updated the Linux link to include the data folder. It should work now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#271Audio3.17
#752Theme3.34
#782Mood2.66
#1032Humor1.47
#1118Fun2.29
#1203Overall2.44
#1217Graphics2.10
#1296Innovation1.86

Comments

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I enjoy games like this! But the interface is unpleasant, as are the controls (A and D and Space?), and the game doesn't really offer enough visual feedback. It doesn't look like the player is really moving forward and the obstacles are too dark and sudden.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice piano and a nice aesthetic. It was pretty tough so see the blocks until the last second. I guess that's the minimalism theme at work.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Overall, a pretty good game. enjoyed myself quite a bit. I found it hard though, which isn't a bad thing.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Simple but solid, it could progress a bit faster maybe.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

It's nice and simple, but there isn't much more than that to it. It's also quite difficult in a bad way - it's hard to measure your jumps, a common problem in 3d platformers.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Hey there, nice work with the game title... hehe
I'm sure the near spotlight was a game design decision, but it kinda made it a little unfair to the player, because the movement is a little limited.
The lack of texture in the track makes me doubt that it's even moving, so the initial seconds are a little ackward.
I believe that increasing speed, instead of constant would be better also, once you can see the obstacle from a fair distance.
I guess the option to use the directional keys along with A/D would be very appreciated too.
I hope you take this criticism positively. Good luck!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Seems balanced for maximum frustration.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Simple concept! I think a bit of polish could make this really fun!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I like this kind of game... avoiding fast moving stuff. But it is so hard to avoid fast moving blocks that are nearly invisible to me... but i played it a several time...

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

The fog makes it difficult to see the obstacles until you're right about to hit them. Other than that it was good for its type, I personally didn't like it much, but that's just because I don't like this kind of game.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

This can be very good, I think you just need to readjust camera angle because it's near impossible to judge when to jump or not

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

It looks pretty polished at first. Gameplay is really unforgiving, though... I think landing on the boxes should be ok, just hitting them head-on should stop you. I was dying on the 1st and 2nd blocks the first few times I played. Nice music!

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Nice piano track and simple game fits the theme.

I think making the obstacles coming easier to see would improve the game, but its a designers choice and goes along with being minimalistic.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

A fun and solid endless game. Fun to play, however a moving background and improved shading on the obstacles would be nice. Really fits the theme though!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Hmm alright, fun game. I feel like some sort of points should be awarded for jumping blocks.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23pm

A bit more distance on the light would have gone a long way towards making this more fun, but the idea is solid and the art style appropriately minimalist.

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

overall pretty neat, but i do have a few complaints. mainly, i find it very hard to see obstacles from afar, it would be better if you could see at least a bit further ahead. also, i felt like being able to jump made the game a bit too easy. other than that though, this is pretty solid.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Pretty cool. I liked it. Good job :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

The music was very nice, and this game fit the theme very well! Good job! :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Ah, nice! I really liked the music and space visuals. One thing I thought would be cool if the player could "quick restart" (just mash space or something) rather than pressing enter and selecting play with mouse. Well done though :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I liked the piano music and feel, but the gameplay seemed to be lacking some speed.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:01am

Interesting game. It was very hard to see the lighting on the obstacles until it was too late to do anything.

CaseyHardman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I didn't have as much of a problem with knowing when blocks were coming as other players seem to have, but jumping over blocks was made difficult by my inability to tell where I was in relation to them, due to the camera's positioning. I kept jumping too late because it looked like I had time, causing my bottom to bump into the wall shortly before I could get past it.

I liked the piano.

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:56pm

No appreciation for lefties with your control scheme... The music was really nice though. I liked gilmore606's comment - seems balanced for maximum frustration! I didn't actually get that frustrated, but it sure was hard for unfair reasons.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Another download hoster would be great. I had to enable a bunch of javascript things, then cookies, to be told I had to wait 20 seconds...

derdragon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Reminds me of a simpler Skyroads.

itsZN says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I like the music and the style, but its hard to see some of the obstetricals coming

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Fun little game, but all the obstacles are very dark so you cannot notice them until it's too late.

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Failed to download it. A poor choice of host.

kingsman142 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I've been looking at comments and decided to switch from 4shared to Dropbox for downloads. I changed no code, so it's the same experience, just different hosts. I hope that fixes the problem.

ThirteenWB says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:04am

When I try to run the Linux version of your game, it immediately terminates with "There is no data folder". :/

May 5, 2013 @ 7:45am

Unable to run on linux:
$ ./A-Void\ \(Linux\ Standalone\)
Set current directory to /home/alex/temp
Found path: /home/alex/temp/A-Void (Linux Standalone)
There is no data folder

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:23am

I thought the controls were fine, but I agree that it was too hard to see the obstacles coming before they were basically upon you.

kingsman142 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I updated the Linux link, it should work now.

May 5, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Obstacles are too hard to see, until it's almost too late.
Perhaps, it's better to increase "light" range. And i think controlling with mouse can be better than keys.
Enjoyed the music.

ThirteenWB says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Confirming Linux version now works.
I liked the audio, but after dying a few times it began to get slightly repetitive. It would have been nice if the player didn't die if they hit the top of the blocks, which I think caused the majority of my deaths.
Fits the theme well though, nice and simple scoring system which is always nice :)

dalbinblue says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:49am

The music is nice but the game is frustrating. I end up getting a game over jumping over obstacles where it looks like I cleared the obstacle, I can't see it below me, but the game registers as a hit.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:20am

Concept is solid, but I'd like to get faster sooner.

simvig says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:42pm

This reminds me of an old game called Skyroad. The music was really good.

May 9, 2013 @ 6:15pm

good game but didn't like how it was hard to see the upcoming block until it was right on top of you, but still fun

May 9, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nice music, not so sure about the game. Did you try it yourself before uploading?

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really nice and simple gameplay concept plus I loved the piano track. The obstacles are quite hard to see though.

kingsman142 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:59pm

@Martin_Monosys

Yes, I did try it before uploading. I thought it was relatively easy. I guess I miscalculated, seeing that a bunch of people think it is difficult. It's not like I can change the code now. That'd be against the rules.

May 10, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I didn't really doubt you tried it, I was just joking! :) What I mean is that it is quite hard, and I thought the same about my own game while making it several times, and always made it easier... You might want to try that, too! :)

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Hmm... the atmosphere is nice.
Did you made blocks hard too see until the last second? If yes, you can still see them when they are out of the plane.
You sometimes fall through floor when jumping. And you can double-jump sometimes. Especially after you lose by falling off the platform.
Controls aren`t very good. You can play just with space bar. You use left hand to play, and to choose to play again / press 'start game' you have to toggle your right hand between the mouse and spacebar. Make the spacebar for playing again, or enter for starting the game.
You seem to save some movement when releasing A/D keys. Try staying at the edge of the platform.
And you might want to make player not stop when landing on top of the obstacle.

kingsman142 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Thank you for the feedback.

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:03am

Hello!

Your game is pretty difficult. I think the main problem is, that the jump is too small and therefore it is difficult to get the right moment in time to jump over a wall. I always ran or jump into it. Additional, the obstacles appear very late, but that's somehow okay. Why not making a post-compo version and link it here?

kingsman142 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:08am

@Jeremias Thanks. I plan on doing that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]