April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You Don't Belong Here

by Kinzata - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In "You Don't Belong Here" you take on the role of a little green sphere who has somehow managed to wander into the wrong place at the wrong time. Find your way home before you're captured by the Bloks that inhabit the area.

I am very proud of the end result of this weekend. This is the very first game I have ever actually completed as well.

Enjoy!

NOTE: There is an issue with the web version. The majority of it is still playable but for some reason the physics are ever so different than the windows or mac builds. For the best experience, download a standalone version! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#416Fun3.14
#458Theme3.63
#471Overall3.25
#633Humor2.12
#651Mood2.78
#728Innovation2.91
#760Audio2.36
#883Graphics2.62

Comments

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

How do I run this on Linux?

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Nice work, definitely a lot of fun to play. The graphics and sound are effective too and match the theme well.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

Susan, tbh I don't know, I can't test it on Linux, but Unity builds for it so I figured I would upload it just in case. Sorry if you can't get it to work.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

I like that there are a variety of enemies whose attacks you learn. I never got very far, though. My best time after 20 tries was 72 seconds. I think if the ball had a little less inertia I would have been able to handle it better.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

Yeah, I played and tweaked that specific part for so long I decided to stop because I couldn't figure it out. Too little momentum and it doesn't feel like a ball, too much, you just hit things.

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Figured it out. You need to make the file executable. run it The screen was too big for my netbook, so I'll try on a different computer.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Gah! Sorry you're having so many issues. Hope you like it after all the effort you're putting into getting it to run X_X

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Very nice game.

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Linux version had issues, but Windows worked fine. Nice work!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Nice job, is very fun. Physics has this issue about the inertia, sometimes I lost for this reason. Anyway, the main thing is that is very fun

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

Very fun to play and a very neat concept.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

Enjoyed it =D Not got too far yet though...

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

Nice Cubes

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

This was very fun for me to play. There is a lot of subtle strategies that you can use to survive longer.

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

Ran on linux. It was fun :) Others might note they need to allow execution on the shell scripts. If you want to change this from terminal do `chmod +x <script name>`

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

As an avowed hater of blocks I support this game.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Fun little game. Smiled when I discovered the homing cubes couldn't get past the black wallbuilders.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Very very nice. I really love how you took the feel of that iconic painting and just made it into a game. This is probably my favorite entry so far. Also the audio of the squares movement was really good too,

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

For the linux folk, the file next to the data folder is the binary. chmod a+x that, and then run it.

When distributing stuff for linux, use tar.gz, or something that saves *nix permissions.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Addictive! Congratulations on your first game :)

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Hard to play but another great concept
I like the rolling red ones :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

nice idea :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Very nice! It gets really interesting when the red ones start charging you. I like playing matador with them.

Good take on minimalist art and all of its brightly-colored squares.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Nice and simple game! The pacing could be a little faster though. Congrats!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I was disappointed that by the third stage there weren't any new enemies yet. Once you learn to block the only threatening enemies (the red ones), you just have to wait out each stage then make a dash for the finish.

Good use of the theme.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Very excellent.. PLayed on web browser (only thing I can do) and it was not a problem. Chrome on W7 on Alienware if that helps debug anything. Very interesting mechanic, great using the aliens/whatever-they-are to block and protect you from other types... Red meanies ! ugh... First of 15 games tried which I've bookmarked to play properly at a later date. GJ!

HeiShun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice one !
I just have a little complaint, it is about the random difficulty at the beginning. One time the first 45 sec were very, very easy (like, I didn't even have to move, thank you blue blocks and black boxes imprisoning red ones)
Other times it was really difficult to survive even 30 seconds !
87 seconds at my sixth try ! (Didn't find how to move on at first lol)

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Yeah that is one thing I would have liked to spend more time on. There isn't much that changes as time goes on. The level structure was actually something I added about 2 hours before 'my' deadline so I didn't get a chance to do a lot with it.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Good fun, but I found the controls a bit slugish! Also, didn't expect the black walls to kill me, but oh well.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

Very fun actually, the tweaking part is the most important in my opinion, and I can tell there was a lot of tweaking in this one.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24am

I got lucky with some blue blocks the first time, and then the difficulty really ramped when I started with some red blocks the second time. I totally love the blue blocks, their sound and square particles are awesome. But the red ones have a lot of character :)

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

I really enjoyed playing this game.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I like the little square smokepuffs, and that's a great font choice too. Really good first game, nice work!

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:09am

Loved the intro text, giving a deep context to such a simple game is a great idea

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very fun! Really liked the black walls mechanic and the red square's movements, nice work :)

robcozzens says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:09am

That was pretty cool.
The controls felt a little sluggish, but that did make it challenging.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Except for the red ones the enemies are no problem.

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Fun!

mortus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I think it really fits the theme, so simple and yet so complex. I loved different enemies and how you handle the sound.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]