April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ShrunkenAdventures

by FuzzyWuzzie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first LD48 entry! I painfully scrapped my first idea Saturday afternoon as it simply wasn't fun. Made a platformer instead.

Ran out of time to add music and a more dramatic ending. It could use more levels too D:

Tools used:
* Unity
* Unity 2D Toolkit (http://www.unikronsoftware.com/2dtoolkit/)
* PyxelEdit
* Sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#137Humor3.14
#170Graphics3.74
#251Overall3.49
#281Fun3.30
#455Mood3.00
#590Theme3.50
#827Audio2.23
#844Innovation2.75

Comments

CTATZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Fun game! The controls are pretty solid.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

Good game, the platforming felt really solid. Also, the amount of content here is really impressive. Like you said in the description, some music would have went a long way, but that's part of jamming.

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Brilliant use of the theme. I didn't even think of it in that way. XD
The game is nice and fun(still playing it =)).
A little punishing though if you mess up but I guess that's the point.
Still, I liked very much.
Good job =)

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

What kind of monstrosity would need all those pixels. Tight controls, reminded me of jazz jackrabbit.

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

<3

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

well done on execution for theme. Good controls (especially wall-jumping as a pixel). I end up grinding on first 2 levels instead of the 3rd level (magma) pretty brutal with the hostile animals and timing. well done for within time constraints! all its missing is music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

Hahah, that was awesome! I really enjoyed it! 143,000 pixels! Wooo! I really liked the wall-jumping mechanic — simple, but effective. The only problem I ran into was that sometimes I would go right through walls, but otherwise very solid. Weeee =D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

Oh yeah @acronaut — yeah, the magma level was pretty brutal! Oi!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

The story was great. I kinda wish you used the pixel size as a mechanic where maybe you got bigger as you got more pixels or you could fit through cracks when you're tiny. I'm really impressed that this was made in Unity. I'm hoping I can make a 2d game in Unity soon.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Bouncing off the walls was a lot of fun. Having the bridge toll collected by an old man in a flying saucer was a refreshing change from the tired old troll gimmick. :)

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

What an amazing game. If anything, music is the only thing I miss. Well done!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Everything is solid in this game. I like it a lot. I beat it!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

I liked it a bunch a lot. I felt it was a metaphor for life.

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

Really good movement! I love being able to jump over pretty much anything!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Needs music!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Very complete entry. Love the touches like a tutorial and a level-select level. Very nicely executed. My obligatory complaint is that I feel like a teeny tiny pixel should be more floaty and less thunky. Like... the wind should blow me around. :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

You just proved to me you dont need a fancy animated main character to make an enjoyable game. Good Work.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Great platformer. Lots of content and fully fledged controls. The pixel-style is great as well. Difficulty seems about right as well.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Cool!
I really love this game!
An adventure of one pixel lol!

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

love the idea, love the graphics, love the humor.

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Really loved the take on the theme. :P The graphics were appealing and the overall feel of the game is excellent. :)

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Very very nice game! Graphics took me back to my childhood :')

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Good game. Very simple, but elegant. A great example where silence works better than background music.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Cute idea, and I really enjoyed the play with size! The controls are solid, I liked the wall climbing aspects and the levels are pretty diverse. Fun!

One question though: How could those huge spikes hurt my 1px grain of dust? =)

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

very fun! Really enjoyed the graphics!

spilth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

This was a fun, complete, great looking game. My only complaint is that some of the messages were hard to read because they were blocked by the Pixel Score.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

What a jerk, that flying saucer bearded guy!

I enjoyed playing this game. Kinda curious, did you do per-pixel collision? It's neat how precise it is and the climbing mechanism worked really well!

Definitely needs music to set the mood! Overall it's great you manage to get all this done given your explanation!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Thanks for all the wonderful comments everybody, they're all much more and nicer than I was expecting :')

I do wish I had focused my time better initially so that I could have polished the game a lot more (and added music.. I really regret that part). As it was, I created an "ending" to the game in about 20 minutes with an hour left, then created the magmatown level in another 20 minutes (its so obvious how rushed that level is now :s), and spent the remaining 20 minutes fixing the odd bug (though I couldn't seem to deal with the one where you sometimes go through tile boundaries).

I didn't do per-pixel collision detection per-say. I created polygonal collision boxes for each tile (in Unity 2D Toolkit this is rather easy), and just did collision detection against those polygons. It's not as perfect as I would have liked, but I learned pretty quickly that in LD48 sometimes you just have to settle.

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Would've been nice to somehow get revenge on that rocket hillbilly guy in the end.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Straight forward platformer, I liked the wall-jump mechanic :)

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:55am

Nice job! Love the retro graphics and the controls & movement feel really good. Glad to see a fellow 2d toolkit user, it sure is great isnt it :D

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Cute game! Nice controls, they felt very solid. The double jump felt very satisfying, as did the wall jump! :D I wish there were some more sound effects and some music as the "land-on-ground" sound quickly became quite annoying. Gutsy move to scrap your first game in the middle of the compo, felt like you managed to accomplish a great deal anyway. Nice work!

bvanschooten says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Cool and enjoyable game. Good graphics and level design. Overall polished feel. A minor gripe is that the score obscures the sign texts.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Great game. I loved the graphics, they looked great considering you used so few colors. The physics of the pixel were spot on and really fun to play with. The signs were very funny and the idea of playing as a pixel fitted the theme perfectly. Well done!

TammiLion says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Great interpretation of the theme! I always like wall jump mechanics ^^

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:29pm

great game -- i love the idea of adding to your pixels -- good job!

Zccc says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Love the graphics :)

_Rilem says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I really enjoyed this game. Great idea, nice graphics and the wall jumping makes the game stand out. I'm curious what lies beyond the bridge and why there is such a high toll :D

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Haha, good story, I like it!

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Good job! I sometimes glitched through the walls, but it never happened in a way that killed me, so that wasn't too bad a problem :P

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:36am

Is that doctor eggman at the beginning? :D
Fun little game! Missing music and sounds as said in the description, but a LOT of content for so few hours... impressive.

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:57am

A solid entry. The controls are very smooth and it was fun to rush through the levels. The graphics are well made, too. Nice!
I think you could make a better animation of the collecting of pixels (they just disappear). And I had a little bug where I could walk through a solid rock. But both things a minor problems. Good work, anyway.

Sebastian says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I like the way you implemented ladder climbing :)

May 21, 2013 @ 10:55am

Very nice

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]