April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ethical Spud

by wrongcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's all about the minimalism. And the potato. It's ALL about the potato.

This is a humourous lemonade stand game in a single self-contained HTML file. The game ends after 30 days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#15Humor4.02
#512Mood2.94
#581Fun2.96
#608Innovation3.06
#634Overall3.10
#713Theme3.38
#1080Audio1.25
#1287Graphics1.91

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

I think with a few graphics, it would be easier to track the number of people in line and sales, rather than trying to look at the numbers as they flash by. I'm not really sure what parameters to pick for each day.

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

"You cut up these poor innocent potatoes just to make fries?"

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

I agree that some minimal graphics would aid the gameplay, but the game is good comedy as-is, however unethical as it may be to cook a potato. Well done :)

ignifluous says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

Heh. Some amusing numbers come up if you specify decimals for fry batches: 1.5lb batches led to having -0.5 fries on hand!

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Thanks ignifluous. Yeah, please avoid having fractional servings on hand. It obviously triggers an off-by-one bug when deciding whether to make more fries. It also confuses checks on staleness and possibly other things. Easily fixed, just not within the 48 hours.

One of my testers asked to allow less than one pound per batch and I told him no, that'll trigger this bug, and it's too late to make sure there aren't any more, so only integer servings allowed! I guess I conveniently forgot that there are fractional numbers higher than 1.

Milktoast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

"No graffiti permitted after 5pm." =)

basspenguin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

Legitimately got some chuckles out of me!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

I was not able to balance a budget...

May 1, 2013 @ 9:20am

Made me want to play more Cart Life. Full marks for theme.

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:25am

Good premise, and I like the protestor quotes :)

May 2, 2013 @ 3:20am

"That looks like potato flesh! Someone should shut you down!" Too funny!

hnjslater says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:14am

When I opened the page I though oh no, it's one of them there boring games. However it turned out I was wrong. True Story.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:14am

"I can't believe you're killing potatoes!" - I'm not I swear.

Komradus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:42am

Haha that was pretty good, quite difficult to make a profit with so many potato lovers thought :P

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:57am

Surprisingly addictive. I did pretty well for the first few days, but then I simply couldn't make enough sales to recoup my daily costs - there just wasn't any business, and no amount of adjusting my daily budget would stop the bleeding. :(

May 4, 2013 @ 7:43pm

A business simulator, eh? I lost on Day 8; might come back later to see if I can make it further.

Not massively interactive, as games go, but I like this sort of thing. The humour is top notch.

GameNacho says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:03am

Good simulation game, I like it! :)

May 6, 2013 @ 4:34am

Clearly the world is not ready for Tofu Spuds. I wish there'd been a way to specify a set of menu options such that you could charge a different price for Spuds vs Tofu Spuds, which would be a logical way to approach the problem.

Great game regardless!

TheSheep says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:31pm

16:05 You throw out 2.7755575615628914e-14 servings of stale fries.

citizenlion says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:46am

The best that I and a friend who is a financial analyst could get to is day 21, after many many tries. This game operates in some sort of frightening stagflation economy. haha. But it was very entertaining.

citizenlion says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:59am

Tofu Spuds is a scary idea indeed :D But who knows, in real life I imagine it might do very well. "High protein, low-carb, very low glycemic index fries! Come and get some! Only $4.99 per serving!"

Misael.K says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:28am

I am killing potatoes with stale oil, I am literally Hitler.
Kept losing almost instantly until I became a potato asshole and stopped caring about complaints and good service, and since people complained all the time, nobody cared if it was potato or PotaTofu. Yay economy and society!
In all seriousness, some speed control would've been great. After playing for a while it can get a bit slow. Couldn't get past day 24.
Nice job!

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:46am

It was fun the first time but I got bored after day 4 :P

anyways, the idea was very original

Floko says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

Lol, gave me some good laughs =]
quite nice game. Some graphics (even if were those letter ones, as candy box) would increase the fun of it.

nice job so far. Don't stop developing it.

alts says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:12am

Made it to day 19. Amusing game, and I was surprisingly engrossed in it. It seems that Papatofu is never a good business plan though.

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:55am

I'm hating these kind of games..

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:34pm

And it is possible to get to day 30?
I cannot manage it.

More options such as Marketing/Advertising to bring more customers (and protesters) would have helped to keep my interest piqued.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:56am

This game brought back memories for me. All the cool games I play which were make with BASIC. Bravo! excellent execution!

dek says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:52pm

The game has no graphics but you managed to keep me playing longer than most games. Somehow nice to watch, calming and interesting. I now know I cant make a living from fries though. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]