April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Existential Journey Into The Abyss Of Self Actualization And Peace

by MCovert - Jam Entry

Press and hold space to jump (longer hold = longer jump).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Theme(Jam)3.80
#136Humor(Jam)2.78
#212Innovation(Jam)3.17
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#256Overall(Jam)3.17
#291Mood(Jam)2.86
#291Fun(Jam)2.83
#436Graphics(Jam)2.60
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

Solid idea!

Took me some time too figure out what to do though. Also the phasing blocks are decidedly un-fun, and at some points it is impossible to get on top of one.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

Quite nice. Couldn't get past the first "phasing block", though :(

MCovert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

After a lot of playing, the phasing blocks were a lot easier, and the only thing keeping us from going forever, so they were sort of a necessity. I do agree though, I wish we could have come up with something to handle them more elegantly.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

This is a cool idea. Reminds me some java phone games.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

The phasing blocks are basically from the worst part of the heatman stage from megaman 2 and are un-fun. However the game has no challenge without them. They do get easier to deal with the more you play, but its hard not to get frustrated at them.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

Nice game!, you could have done this on a 1px width game and that would have looked very artsy

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

Haha, a 1D game was one of the ideas that crossed my mind as well, though I didn't end up doing one. Definitely minimalistic! Kind of difficult, but a good, simple game. :)

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I LOVE 1-button games and I wish you'd put up a osx version so I can store it in my games collection. I can't see why you wouldn't win at least two categories.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

Sweeet this game is intense :) nice job!

May 3, 2013 @ 3:45am

Yep, that's minimal for sure. Nice work!

I almost made my endless runner entry into a 1D game like this (just blocks), but I decided to make some lousy pixel art instead.

jwolf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:04am

Very clever concept. Sometimes the random generation can screw you over (especially when the phasing and moving blocks are combined), but that seems like something that you can always tweak a bit to change the difficulty.

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:45am

pretty hard level , fresh and different concept, nice music, need more gfx and challenges / progress

robotality says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Nice idea, get's very difficult very fast. Those phasing blocks! ouch

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Nice. Really simple and fun :)

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:05am

Very good use of the theme. About the fading blocks: maybe they would have been nicer if you can clearly see when you can jump through them. Also, making them so that you can (temporarily) jump through them and stand on them as well would have been better. You can also make different types of fading blocks this way.

Make A Game says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:30am

Funny simple idea, with a good mood. Reminds me o old Atari games. My only fairly major complaint would be the phasing blocks, which were a pain in the ass to figure out! Congratulations on your submission!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]