April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mobius

by 3beards - Jam Entry

Ever have a dream where you run, run, run, but never seem to go anywhere? After all, where can you go when no matter how much you run you end up in the same place? Come explore this ethereal world, and try to escape through each door.

by C.J. Kimberlin, Greg Fagan, and Ian Wesley-Smith

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#37Fun(Jam)3.69
#39Theme(Jam)4.10
#45Overall(Jam)3.80
#49Innovation(Jam)3.78
#126Mood(Jam)3.43
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#245Graphics(Jam)3.31
#325Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

I'm straight up digging this game! So many possibilities for gameplay and it really never got boring.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

Read nice take / combination on the autorunning / platforming genres. Nicely done!

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31am

Very nice game, the mechanics are great and the level design is awesome, gotta play more to see if I can reach the end! Good Job!

Aevek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

I love games that make me think differently, and this one definitely does. A fine game, good sir. And it follows the theme spectacularly too.

omaha says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

This was a great game. Kept me entertained for many levels.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28am

Very nice one-button puzzle game, and the difficulty ramps up just right.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

cool! nice idea

Pitoum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

Nice mechanics, even if I didn't exactly manage to understand when gravity affect the character or not.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46am

cool! solid idea

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

Great concept! I clearly suck, but I liked every bit of this game. :D

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

Great concept, nice platformer puzzle style.

evoker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

I really like the concept and the one-button mechanic fits the theme perfectly.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

Really enjoyed this game; you took a simple idea and created a lot of various challenges with it.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34am

Interesting concept, although the graphics and audio is a bit sparse. With a bit of polish could become an good one button game.

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35am

Nice clean physics and creative level design, nicely done.

amijlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:38am

Really cool.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:44am

Nice concept for a one-button puzzle platformer. The game has a solid foundation and I can see some really unique level possibilities comes out of it in the future. I would like to see levels that are based more on puzzles rather than timing jumps. Also, a restart button would be nice so we didn't have to wait for the player to fall -- sometimes a rather long fall.

Hope you guys keep developing this!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

Otoris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54am

This is so gooooood. New take on runner genre!

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:04am

I beat it and I'm so excited! That's how good your game is - it's not just a good ludum entry, it's a fun game generally speaking. Awesome ramp up of difficulty, sweet music, great execution of a simple mechanic, and brilliant level design. Well done.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:59am

Not bad. Nice concept =)
But implementation may be better.
Interesting game in any case!

amodo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:41am

That's good thinking there! Really good work!

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:42am

It made me think, it is a good thing :)

May 5, 2013 @ 11:53am

Fun little platformer!

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:08pm

This felt very polished. Some of the later puzzles needed to be tweaked though. There was a jump in skill after the introduction of the red paint.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:52am

Cool game, probably could use a level select and a couple little things in a post-compo version but still very well done

May 6, 2013 @ 8:06am

Nicely presented, good minimalist one-button game

nimblegorilla says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Great concept. I liked the levels where you had to do a lot of jumping across different gravity planes more than some of the other levels where you have to time your jumps to avoid the red spots.

robc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:57am

Great use of a 1-button control scheme.

Very unique little platformer - certainly was a great challenge, and a nice take on the genre.

ataxkt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Oh wow, this is cool. A good ludum dare platformer?! I never thought I'd see the day.

Beldarak says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Great job ! Challenging, fun and very creative ;)

8BitPimp says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:17am

Outstanding, really would have fit in perfectly with all of the classic games from the early 90s. Well done!!

Gremlin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:50pm

The level where the exit is behind you is fiendishly hard.

May 16, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Innovative and moody, but musci is a little bit annoying.

May 20, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Sorta liked the heck out of this :) Clever idea.

hilaia says ...
May 24, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Wow yeah, really clever idea for a minimal game.
And what about the name, I think it sticks perfectly to it. ANd it reminds me my math course :') .

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]