April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Return Home

by Manuel777 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Backend/Story: After a space exploration mission ended, you must take the ship back to Earth.

Controls:
Arrows to move
P to pause
Esc to quit

On Android you can control the ship either using the on-screen buttons or by swiping with your fingers (the former is recommended to control the vertical axis)

Recommended version is Windows, altrough HTML5 resembles it a lot, it may lag :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#64Graphics4.09
#382Overall3.34
#443Mood3.03
#625Fun2.91
#694Theme3.40
#1015Humor1.55
#1269Innovation1.96

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Wow, i like this game and simple graphics!
Good job!

31eee384 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

Neat game, played it on android. A little hard to control (felt that the vertical movement was a little wild) but a cool, simple game.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

Simple but nice game. Played the HTML5 version because I don't own an Android phone but the game was a bit choppy (Chrome + descent gamer computer). The control inertia felt a bit weird on PC, I guess it works better on touchscreen.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

Ah, takes me back to those long school lunchtimes playing ragdoll avalanche.

Good use of minimalist graphics. They are genuinely minimalist meaning that they look great through simplicity, rather than just being basic. I'm impressed by how entertaining you made the game. I ran the web version and it ran just fine; no lag at all. And the black hole is kind of evil!

nodoxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very nice minimalistic graphics!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42am

Man that was a HUGE asteroid! Nice clean art, but the spaceship feels a bit woobly

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53am

Game looks very nice, could do with a little less drifting though I think.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Cool little game. ^_^

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Awesome graphics! The gameplay was super basic though, just avoiding things, no powerups. I kind of liked the wobbly movement of the rocket.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Nice game and great art! The kind of game that fits better on mobile devices.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

fun! one of the most playable games I've checked so far, really like this one; you should make a full game out of it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Love it. Very beautiful and simple mechanics. Wonderful time playing.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice stuff. I like the graphics, and the little details such as the shooting stars.

domrein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

Very clean graphics, nice and simple idea.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

Well done, very polished graphics. I was doing fairly well until the black holes.

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10am

Really nice. I like the minimal usage of graphics. I can cheat by placing the ship on left/right side of the screen ;) The dark hole is good trick. +1 for continue play after lose.

How do you make the ship's movement, composition of Actions or manual update?

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Whoa thanks guys, super glad you liked it!! :D

Drabiter: I included the .gmz source in the likes above, you need GameMaker studio to open it :)

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

The aesthetics are superb, moves of the ship are really smooth and really nicely done. However, I wish your little universe was a little bit more diverse, but... yeah, well minimalism is the theme after all :)

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I like the movement smoothness, but sensitivity is a bit on higher side.. may be reduce that?.. ... also reminds me of a game I wanted to make in 2010, but only made a poster and abandoned... so kinda clicked on the heart :D

Also, I thought that big circle with whirling in it was a blackhole... I didn't get sucked in though. :D

Awesome job with keeping graphics minimal yet good looking.


Done rating. :D

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I dig the graphics, very stylish. I expected the black hole to draw me in, though, same as above.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I like the game. The simple graphics style fits the theme very well. Some sound effects and music would have been nice.

Cake&Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26am

I was a little frustrated by the wobbly controls. I sort of lost interest in playing on after a while. But I think you established a nice sense of mood through the graphics.

dapierce says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:27am

Great look and smooth physics! I freaked out when I encountered a black hole! That was a great touch.

iamorim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

Beautiful game. Simple but good graphics. It worked perfectly on Chrome :)

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:04am

Really nice looking art. The controls seemed a bit too slippery for me though.

Gungnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Pretty neat. I kind of liked the loose controls.

It lacks some depth though so this could be great with some post-compo love.

Manuel777 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I agree, it would be awesome to expand this further!

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Never mind the loose control complaints, the game thrives on them being loose, in my opinion.

Manuel777 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:49am

I had so many different opinions about that, besides whats here... the thing is, making them less-loose would make the game slightly easier and less fun, since you will master the controls a lot faster, most of the fun is to try to master the ship movements and avoid asteroids for as long as possible, having you, the player master it so quickly will make you play it less and get bored too soon :)

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:44am

Nice graphics. Although the game was fun for the first seconds, since there's no progression it got boring after dying 1 or 2 times.

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very cool! Feels really polished, I felt that while the floatyness was nice, the controls needed tweaking to make them slightly more responsive though.

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:33am

Nice graphics :) Hard to control, but fun. Great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:37am

shame there was no audio -- everything else was awesome -- great theme -- awesome game

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Looks slick, only gameplay is rather limited. The controls make it more challenging, only they feel a bit inconsistent. In particular the vertical controls are so inconsistent I do not like to move vertically. The graphics are nice, only the rock features are hardly visible. Giving them more contrast may make them look more interesting.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:42pm

The gigantic planet was a nice twist when it almost wiped me out hehe.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]