April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

13 Squares

by aduros - 48 Hour Compo Entry

13 Squares is an explorable platformer. Only 13 squares are used to render the world and HUD. By finding coins, you can reach new areas, but leave less squares to see the world.

Push an arrow key to start.

It was built with Haxe and my game engine, Flambe: https://github.com/aduros/flambe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#38Theme4.27
#176Innovation3.64
#344Overall3.39
#485Fun3.06
#501Mood2.95
#623Graphics2.94

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

Seems responsive enough, and I like to see people using their own graphics engines. However, it's really frustrating not being able to see most of the immediate world. I got maybe 3 coins before I gave up.

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

I know its supposed to be hard to see- but eventually I had nowhere to go and get more coins!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

Easy to understand and fun to play, i like it :) Except one thing: have to run all the way again after coin is collected.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Ingenious.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

I like the concept of only being able to see a few squares. It adds a lot of difficulty to an otherwise simple/easy concept. Great work!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

I really, really like the idea. And might steal it for another project. Again really nice idea.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

Awesome game, pretty tough. Really cool take on the theme. I also quit after 3 coins though. And agree that I wish there was more ofa checkpoint system.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

awsome idea! collected 6 coins :) but it need kind of savepoint. repeating same actions is boring.

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Amazing :)
Lack the audio :(

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25am

Cool idea. I liked how the world appeared around me when moving. A bit difficult at times, but really enjoyed it.

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

Main thing that got to me was restarting at the beginning each time. Otherwise I like the idea.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Really love this idea, and it's the first I play this kind of metroidvania

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I like the exploration.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Awesome concept, I found the game very inspiring! :)

DaveDobson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:08am

Very neat take on the theme; I liked it a lot, the look, feel, and 13-square rule. I also really liked how you could jump higher with each successive coin - made for a puzzle aspect too. It was a little hard to know where you were, and sometimes I found that crucial squares just didn't show, but overall, a very fun, very creative entry.

joekinley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I liked the take on the theme. It was very hard to play though. I was pillaging around searching for coins and dying way too much. Also backtracking was a pain in the ass as I had to try out different routes a number of times. That got pretty frustrating.

Still a nice take, a nice game, good job you did there. I like it. It's like a minimalist metroidvania

glbs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:04pm

It's interesting how this plays with our memory and orientation. The (minimal) visuals work really well. It may just be missing something that could keep the motivation to retry again and again to the end. Maybe some music?

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:29am

Really liked the concept. Couldn't get past three coins, though. Needs sound and possibly a double jump, at least with the prevalence of stairs taller than 1 square. Simplicity was great!

PushmePullyu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Very well done! Nailed the theme down pat!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Smooth graphics. An interesting concept and good for those who like puzzles. However the different hazards makes it hard to explore, to much trial and error. Great game none the less, Im impressed!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]