April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Enlightenment

by xploitgames - Jam Entry

Enlightenment is a 2D game where you throw things out of windows. It was written in HTML5 and WebGL using the Turbulenz engine and should work on any HTML5/WebGL browser. For the best experience we recommend Chrome. All code for the game and the hosting site (other than libraries) were written for the Ludum Dare jam.

As a monk, you aspire to the minimalist aesthetic. A house free of clutter is your only desire. You walk the path to enlightenment, free of worldly possessions.

But your housemates, they thwart you. They love to buy stuff online. Defenestrate these worldly shackles and attain enlightenment!

Controls:

A,D - move left and right
S,W - aim
E - traverse stairs
SHIFT - flip held item
SPACE - throw

Xploit Games is a merry band of three coders and one artist. Some of us work at Turbulenz, some of us don't

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Humor(Jam)4.00
#20Theme(Jam)4.21
#94Fun(Jam)3.44
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#189Graphics(Jam)3.56
#195Innovation(Jam)3.22
#281Audio(Jam)2.89
#287Mood(Jam)2.87
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

I really liked the graphics and audio of the game. It was also quite fun to play and the idea is pretty funny. Keep it up

evilDan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36am

There's an typo on the web address of your game - take off the last / after the url!

Loved this game - very funny to be tossing stuff out the window. Had a tough time with the bigger items.

xploitgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Top tip #1: The more enlightenment you have, the easier it is to throw objects. Start small and grow!

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Couldn't run it. Using Chrome on Linux just renders a blank white page. I guess that's pretty minimalist, though. ;)

Dr3Daemon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

We had some problems with DNS for our domain that meant that Firefox would not work. As with all things DNS related it took about a day for our fix to work its way through the system, and during this process the site didn't work for some people. It should all be up and running now!

Jesse Freeman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Love the concept. Found the controls a bit hard since you have to move with your left keys and aim with the right keys. I think if it auto aimed out the window or you could use the mouse to find the angle it would be easier. Great job!

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:46am

I was expecting the controls to be more confusing, but they were actually quite comfortable once the game actually started. Fun and enjoyable.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Nice one. Hahaha, how do those trucks drive up and down those mountains?! Good work!

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:18pm

It's a good idea. Definitely hits the theme

Per says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:30pm

It took me a while to understand the controls but then it was very fun!

TurboDindon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:51pm

The idea is funny.
At the beginning, I had difficulties to throw pianos.
This is possible only with the upstairs right window.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

ethankennerly says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:08am

The premise of a monk throwing out furniture amused me. If you continue to develop this, I got frustrated when the piano didn't fit through the window.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:07am

This game is deep, yo. Not really, but it's quite fun to play.

HELLO23 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:56am

I took me a while to understand what I have to do, the game is nice, took me 282 seconds to win.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]