April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniCrawl

by Elemnir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist take on dungeon crawling with a hint of puzzling involved and plenty of good, old fashioned loot gathering. Runs entirely in console using the curses library.

Use the numpad or q,w,e,a,d,z,x,c for movement, s or 5 to stop time, and spacebar to heal yourself.

The game is also customizable, you can make and add new levels to it, and add new items to find in-game by editing the games data files.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#356Humor2.55
#371Theme3.73
#786Fun2.73
#816Mood2.62
#905Overall2.84
#982Innovation2.51
#999Graphics2.46

Comments

Erifdex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

I'm getting "invalid zipped folder" errors after trying to extract the Windows game or the source files, so I'm afraid I can't play it. The game looks fun from the image though, so I hope you can fix this!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

I enjoyed it, however it was kind of annoying how the monsters could move diagonally

Erifdex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Ignore my first comment - it seems Dropbox doesn't like it if you try downloading files directly instead of actually visiting the file's download page.

Nice game though! It reminds me of games like Desktop Dungeons, in that you're constantly planning ahead whilst playing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

Very cool: I've often wanted to make a game like this. Classic ASCI play reminds me of Caverns of Kroz from my days on the Apple II.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Cute and fun. Forced me to download Moria again.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Oh man! This is a great return to my old days crawlin' Nice one!

simvig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Quite the nostalgia in this one.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

minimal dungeon game, I like it. The custom thing is very sweet!

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10pm

** for the enemies
*
**

vidarn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Cool game! I do love me some ASCII :)
A note to Arch Linux users (and perhaps users of other distros as well): I had to symlink libncurses.so.5 to libtinfo.so.5 inside the game folder and run it with LD_LIBRARY_PATH=./ ./MiniCrawl to get the game to run.

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Most minimal roguelike i've ever seen, it surely fits the theme!

HELLO23 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice game, in console.
What language did you use (the source code link does not work)?
BTW the idea is kind of similar to my game.
My game is also in console.

Elemnir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Oop. Sorry about that, accidentally moved the folder out of Dropbox. Should be fixed now. I wrote it in C++ using Code::Blocks as my editor and PDCurses for Windows development.

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Cool crawl! Loved loot names and chess-style thinking. Also perfect theme fit .)

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Really great game. I liked the 0ld-sk3wl feel about it ;) The enemys were a bit annoying, but thats part of the whole thing. I enjoyed playing it, although I'm pretty bad at it :D

cakemonitor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:08am

Good work! :) It'd be nice to see a way to outrun or dodge the monsters because if one spawns in the same room as you and the only exit is beyond it you're powerless to do anything.

yellowlemming says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:34am

nice idea, but I really don't like the controls, I keep using up the health potions, I would much prefer wasd

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:19pm

oh, good old rogue like dungeon crawlers - what would a ludum dare be without you

I can't get enough of this games - and this one is a very nice one indeed, loved it

well done sir :)

May 4, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Fun but really annoying at times.

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Pretty difficult to stay alive! (well, it's a roguelike, so that makes sense xD)
It was interesting trying to figure out how to get around the enemies using the least amount of resources. I also like the focus on user generated content. Good job!

triplefox says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:03am

Very challenging, also a lot more tactics-focused than most roguelikes :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I wasn't sure if it ended or it crashed :L if it didn't crash, an end screen would be nice!

I liked what I did play, although the controls took a while to get used to.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]