April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PEW!

by acronaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First!
loads of things to be added..
so far it's a 'toy'
WARNING:(don't fall off the edge.. no killzone reset)!
didn't have time to add sound/music, interactive npc, etc..

Pewter (yes, that's the characters name!) can fire laser, unlimited (pending how good your machine can tolerate Nth of particles)

It's a first, and loads of lessons learned.. Hopefully on next Ludum Dare I'll crunch more 'complete' in a package..

Acronaut

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#264Humor2.72
#320Graphics3.39
#767Mood2.67
#882Fun2.63
#923Innovation2.62
#1132Overall2.56
#1211Theme2.68
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Instructions on how to run would be nice.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

Pew.

+1 point for potato.

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

my bad, there's a readme.txt file on archive.. I'll remember next time to embed instructions on-screen or a mini-level to cover controls. Thanks!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

This was such an unexpected pleasure. I love the character pewter. I can't wait to see what kind of game play you have in mind.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

a tutorial would make a world of difference :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I love how this looks.

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Really love the graphics and the design of the characters, that fluid is so cool too.

yellowlemming says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

It looks really rather nice and if it could be turned into a proper game I think it would be great, it's just a shame there isn't really much to do other than make the framerate drop

MathiO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I really like the idea of having something behave in an unconventional way (the lasers). I feel like there's a lot of potential there.

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Wow! a Blender/Python Game! Pewter is an awesome character and the potato boss rocks! Fun to play with, you should do some post-compo versions

reverso13 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I like the character!

May 2, 2013 @ 2:28am

Sadly I can't even start it because it's not for Win 32 versions. :(

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:35pm

i looked and felt so good)

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:32am

omg, what a trippy game :)
love tha char.
next time potato, next time...heheheh

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:35pm

why are my lazer snakes circling the level? Why do I close my eyes when firing my lazers? Why are the controls so weird? :D nice graphics tough! :)

Mach60KAS says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:24am

Seems like this could have potential! However, this is probably the only game I've seen that's capable of reducing my GTX570 to a smoking pile of silicon - you could maybe try using sprites for the gunfire! Still, this shows promise. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]