April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hadron the Uniter

by Erunaamo - Jam Entry

Finished with 3 minutes on the Jam clock...it fully implements my design, but I didn't have time to tune the playability much at all. So you might find it frustrating or impossibly difficult, I don't know. It's possible to discover Hydrogen and almost certainly Helium.* I'd be interested to hear if anyone gets much farther than that.

(* UPDATE 3: Since first writing that, I've discovered Helium, and Lithium too. I think I might be able to get Beryllium but it's HARD. Can you get it before I do? Post a screenshot of the scoreboard. It's 4 protons, 4 electrons, 5 neutrons.)

Comments of any kind are welcome, of course, especially bug reports, constructive criticism, and lavish praise.

This weekend has been a huge amount of fun! I'm happy with the game I made and I plan to keep tinkering with it post-Jam, tuning the physics for playability.

UPDATE 1:
D'oh! There's something wonky going on in the preloading. Sometimes it loads, sometimes it hangs when the opening-screen diagrams have appeared but not the paragraph of instructions. Don't know why and I'm out of time, so please give it plenty of time to load, or a few tries, or something, and let me know if it works or doesn't work for you.

UPDATE 2: Fixed! I can't believe it took me a whole extra day to get the preloader working, but my game should finally be playable. So please check it out!

UPDATE 4: Jumping cursor bug fixed.

UPDATE 5: Source files posted for your amusement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Innovation(Jam)3.94
#47Theme(Jam)4.03
#174Graphics(Jam)3.63
#255Overall(Jam)3.18
#294Mood(Jam)2.85
#307Fun(Jam)2.81
#356Audio(Jam)2.52
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

sirdorius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29pm

It's a nice idea, but since I have very limited knowledge of physics I would like to get more feedback from the game on what's going on.

Erunaamo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51am

Yeah...that's the minimalism!

jpverkamp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43am

My cursor kept jumping back to the center of the screen, which made holding onto things difficult. Still, it's a fun idea and a pretty good execution. I can't even imagine holding together enough to get some of the heavier elements.

iximeow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:06am

Very neat! Being able to reference a periodic table ingame would probably be really helpful, as aside from Hydrogen and Helium, I don't remember exactly how many protons/neutrons there are for the elements!

I also noticed the detector seems to get really finnicky and jumpy sometimes, if that's intended you might want to explain how that works.

Erunaamo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15am

Yeah, it seems jumpy to me too. Two things to watch out for in that regard:
1. If the mouse cursor gets too near the edge - as in, you're maybe leaving the game to play itself for a while - the cursor jumps back to the center by design (if a bit too fast). So stay away from the edges....
2. If you play with the flash filling your browser window, you might change the rectangle shape, and the mouse code doesn't adapt, so the "leaving" area (see #1) might get extra big. I recommend you reshape your window to the aspect ratio of the screenshot for best results.

But I wonder if there's a #3 I don't know about, because it just recently started seeming perhaps extra jumpy. Sorry.

cadin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

This is a really cool concept. I find it incredibly difficult to get anything besides Hydrogen though. The jumpy control has something to do with that.

I also think it would be helpful to have some kind of a HUD to guide you. Like showing what particles are required to build the next element, or if you have a few particles contained show what you need to grab to make something. I had a hard time remembering which particles were which, and don't really know the periodic table well enough to get much beyond Helium.

This has the potential to be a really cool educational game though of you can work out some of those issues.

Erunaamo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

Thanks!

I really thing there's a bug in the controls now, that wasn't there before the whole fiasco with the preloader. (A bunch of event listeners got mangled in the process...I'm writing up a postmortem.) It really is jumping around for some odd reason. I think I'm going to have to fix that.

As for the hint-HUD...I agree, but I can't add features to this version, since the deadline has passed. I'll definitely continue to work on this game, though, and some such feature is very likely long-term.

Erunaamo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:09am

Sure enough, there was a weird mistake - must have been a copy-paste typo, I guess - making the cursor jump around. It's fixed now.

Dmitrix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13am

WOO! PHYSICS!

dx0ne says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05am

Great idea - 100% theme essence.
As said before it could use some "career mode" like: gather 2 of these and 3 of these to create Theseium.

plash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Notes:

- Definitely fits the theme.
- I am not very charmed by this, though.
- Ah, fullscreen. That's a bit better.
- Appreciating the particles lines.
- This sound gets annoying when there are many particles in my hexagon.
- It is hard to build elements.
- The rotation is a nice touch.

Things I would change:

- The sound. What to do with it would probably be more obvious if there was some music.
- Make it fun.

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:21pm

looks like it is a fairly nice game but I don't really know what's going on

PaulSB says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice idea! I always liked particle physics. I also found it incredibly difficult to make anything other than hydrogen, but I like the minimalistic look of it.

kibertoad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

with a bit more polish this could be in public schools everywhere. sir, you have my respect.

pjchardt says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:33am

Really nice concept and graphics. Very difficult for me to make anything other than Hydrogen. This is a great start to something educational if you developed it further in that direction.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:59am

I learnt today that negatron is also a word for anti-proton. Cool! However, the name of the game bothers me. Hadrons are composite particles made of quarks. The proton and the neutron are hadrons. Hadrons simply don't 'gently hold' other particles.

How come a proton, neutron and electron don't count as hydrogen? No time to support isotopes? :3 What would make this game for me is anti-elements. Like a positron and anti-proton make anti-hydrogen.

Finally, this game is supremely hard... I only did managed H and He. I really liked it though. Great job!

Also, I had no audio while playing. I'm running on Maxthon in Win7 64Bit

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:04am

Oh, oh. Sorry for the double post, but you should add neutrinos coming out of reactions as described by:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Proton_proton_cycle.svg

and other fusion chains.

Erunaamo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Thanks for all the great comments....

Zim: Yeah, I really want anti-elements too! That was part of the original concept, and is very likely to show up in a future version. And maybe isotopes too, though that might overcomplicate things...there are certainly some simplifications at play here.

And yeah, the title doesn't really make sense. (I'm not thrilled with it myself...the phrase "Hadron the Barbarian" got stuck in my brain early in the LD weekend, and wouldn't leave.)

Plash: I appreciate the detailed feedback. "Make it fun" is definitely on the roadmap for this project! :)

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:44pm

This is a great idea. I love the concept of discovering larger and larger elements as progression.

May 20, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Liked the style and visuals a lot. Collided a few things but wasn't really sure what I was doing. Made hydrogen and that's about it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]