April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boom Box

by WhatTheTeam - Jam Entry

So the game is all about rhythm and reflexes, for one or two players, but it really is meant to be played by two players. We'll mainly explain the two players mode here. The main objective is to become the "BoomBox" (top right of the third screenshot) and reach the top score before the other player. In order to become the BoomBox, you first need to reach it, racing with your oponent. Switch the color of your avatar (graphics not acurate on the screenshot) with the A,B,Y,X buttons (matching the colors on screen and on the controller) to get through the waves of color moving towards you. You must also mind the platforms coming along with the waves and dodge them if you don't want to be pushed back.

When a player reaches the BoomBox, he becomes it. And he gets to launch the wave of colors (following the beats "guitar hero like") and choose the directions of the platforms launched. When the "challenger" reaches the BoomBox the two players then switch roles, and again, and again. The fact is: you only score when you are the BoomBox. There will be blood.
There is also an arcade mode for two players VS the computer, a training mode to practice your skill, and the same thing in singleplayer.

Pump up the volume, and get ready to rock!

The game is quite heavy, please be patient you won't regret it!

Have fun and tell us what you think!

PS: The game is really MEANT to be played with an Xbox 360 pad, try to get one to have a better game experience ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Audio(Jam)4.13
#111Graphics(Jam)3.83
#130Mood(Jam)3.42
#158Innovation(Jam)3.32
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#227Overall(Jam)3.27
#345Theme(Jam)3.09
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

kill0u says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Really nice but painful to play without a [xbox?] controller =/

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16pm

This is totally unplayable without an xbox controller :(. Which is not a bad thing of course, I'm just sad I can't really play it. Only rating graphics and music, and both are great! :)

Griffablanc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Awesome ! I think I will just sit here and waiting for an XBLA version ... :)

WhatTheTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

We're Ok with you. This game is clearly not convenient to use without Xbox controller(s).

We hope for an Xbox version to come out soon :D.

alcazar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

Nice One :)

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22am

This has some wicked cool graphics and audio, but like the others, I'll probably refrain from playing it without Xbox controller. :(

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:35am

I really want to try this game, I cant even install it (a lot of files are missing, and I have XNA installed)...
where is the source code?

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:49am

cant play( application unexpectedly closes...

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:50am

Very hard, even with a XBOX controller :(

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:11am

Great game! Had chance to play it on my controller, good job! :D

vapgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:20am

This is cool, i keep forgetting which button corresponds to which color (even with xbox controller), i need more practice. It can be really trippy when i manage to match colors for some time.

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31am

Man, I feel for you reading all these comments, because this is the best entry I've played so far. Really enjoyed it. I couldn't play it with a 360 controller or keyboard, so I went downstairs and grabbed a Guitar Hero controller and rigged it up with Joy2Key, recorded it here:

http://www.twitch.tv/vorpalgames/b/398054675

The GUI is slick, the graphics are beautiful and the premise is great. The music could be better suited to a rhythm game and it's a bit annoying when a white wall appears and fills the whole area so it's impossible to get through, but those are minor things. If you ever make a longer version of this, tweet me, because I will totally play it.

Giving you a sea of 5*s.

Hatscat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:34am

Very good idea. Awesome job with the menu and the different game options: single, multi, tutorial. However, there is still work on game design. You should try to make the progressive game and put a score. Currently we do not fully realize if we lose or if we win.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:40am

The idea is nice, but the game is very hard and quite frustrating. Sometimes, I felt like walls were randomly appearing and breaking any possibility for me to continue. Also, some variety in the circles patterns would make the game less "mechanic", along with some feedbacks on score. I don't get what's the difference between the tutorial and the arcade mode. Last thing, the controls felt super awkward for me, I always wanted to use "left & right" instead of "up & down", but that's more personnal.

Apart from that, as I said I enjoyed the idea :) and the game is working and visually appealing. Good job !

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:37am

I dont understand how to play with keyboard and mouse...

May 13, 2013 @ 8:22pm

i couldn't fully play this game... couldn't get the keyboard changing colors to work for some reason.. don't have an xbox controller, unfortunately. ..

i get it though... i like the game. good work.

wilbefast says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice one :D a game I think I'll actually try playing again later when I have a friend to spare.
You might turn a few people off with the need for an XBox controller the fact that XNA needs to be installed though (not to mention the fact that it doesn't run on Linux... automatic -100 points!)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]